Oh, please.

No rain… not a 75% chance drop… anywhere near us Friday night for the 2nd Annual Hayride at TexasNorth. Oh, friends… it was fantastic. Cars (*ahem* minivans) began arriving at 6:29pm and by 6:32pm the first hayriders were on their way around the neighborhood. There were a total of 60 folks… most of which were children who immediately made friends with other short people and ran off into the tall grass never to be seen again until their parents/aunts/grandparents had to round them up around 11pm to go home pleasegetinthtecarweHave.To.Leave. I have few pictures, as we were having too much fun. Grand prize goes to the Ernsbergers, who showed up at 7pm with their 6-week old twins and their 5 year-old and were among the very last folks to leave. You are officially the Coolest Parents Ever. Pumpkins were hidden and found and re-hidden and found, hayforts were made, chickens were harrassed, and much mac and cheese was consumed. There were 3 hayrides, all announced by the magical pop-popping of the red tractor which would send all the kiddos scrambling for their glowsticks and new best friend to the front of the Shoebox for another jaunt through the pasture. It was so so much fun. Wasn’t it? I thought it was fun. I mostly just watched. I’m very good at watching.

Abe protecting his loot, Rylie not buying whatever Mike is selling (with Josie smiling away back there), and Ian Sydney Marli and Hailey in the hayfort. Ian is now known for being the child who sought me out that night to ask if there was any laundry he could do and what brand of washing machine did I own? He quickly changed his mind when I told him it was a GE. He informed me ‘it should be a Whirlpool.’ Right. Got it.
:::

Exactly one year ago Friday night, we moved into the Shoebox to stay. I was very pregnant. I wondered if we would like it… after all this planning and dreaming and building… if it would really be ok. I wondered if I was seriously testing the boundaries of our few friendships… would they break under the distance? I wondered if Curt would panic on the 30 minute drive to work and if I would become a soap opera junkie and wear sweat pants all day and start using hairspray. And I look around on nights like Friday and I say, we are going to be fine. Our house is small and dusty and far far away, but our friends- our real friends- are still here. It is a bit overwhelming to me and difficult to explain. But, thank you for coming. Thank you so much for coming.

There were some questions about the porch… or lack thereof. Yes. Next year there will be a front porch AND a back porch! They are currently being constructed by hand in the pole barn. My husband, who is amazing btw, is making them sans nails and screws. The pieces fit together a bit like a jigsaw puzzle in the old-fashioned method of mortise and tenon. It will be reinforced with oak pins from the red barn we de-constructed in February of 2006 and will have a metal roof. AND, the front piece is finished! I think this coming Saturday is “front porch assembly” day. So, next year for the hayride, we’ll have lots more covered space in case the weatherman is closer to accurate. I’m picturing candles in old canning jars and wreaths and someone playing a harmonica.

Can you play the harmonica?

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

17 responses to “Oh, please.

  • CortneyTree

    I, sadly, cannot play the harmonica, but my dear Katie, one year I will absolutely HAVE to attend. I’ll make a wreath or something.

  • Jessica, Myron and Rylie

    Awww cort beat me!!! te he he

    I can play the harmonica but i wouldnt say its pretty…..

    Rylie soooooooo wishes she could have been on that hayride.

    now to go check on cortney’s move!!!

    xoxoxo

  • sunday

    that front porch sounds awesome. i can’t wait to see many pictures of that. it sounds like you have more then a few friends, 60 people in attendance. sounds like a blast.

  • KatieKate

    We are blessed with people who love us… though about 40 of those ‘people’ were kiddos and many were family. It sounds weird, but Curt and I really have a very very small circle of seriously close friends/family… mostly because people’s lives change with kids and space and church and such… it’s something we’ve been thinking a lot about lately.

  • Shanna, Adam and Gracen

    i can’t respond because i’m overwhelmed with jealousy.

    however, i am glad you had a wonderful time.

    still jealous.

  • Mandi

    Everything sounds amazing–the hayride, the mac and cheese, the porch! So glad the weatherman was wrong and your party got to go on as planned.

  • thekooiet

    Thank-you…It was a blast!! Abbi loves her flat pumpkin…she was actually begging me to bring it to school this morning, so she could show her teacher. Silly, silly girl.

    I can play 2 songs…”She’ll be Come’n ‘Round the Mountain” and “Silent Night”….oh, wait! I can play “Oh Susanna” too!

  • KatieKate

    Seriously, Jami? You can really play those songs on the harmonica? I mean, how cool can one person be?

  • Becky and Jeremiah Swann

    I have a harmonica does that count?!
    Sounds like perfect fall activities.

  • thekooiet

    My dad taught me a many strange things…his strongest instrument of choice is the duck call.

    I wish everyone could here him play the “Star Spangled Banner” on his Duck call….it’s quite something…it would bring a tear to your eye…so patriotic, and it makes me hungry. 🙂

  • KatieKate

    Well, that’s it then. I’ve heard everything. Your father will obviously have to come to the hayride next year and start off the festivities with his special rendition of The Star Spangled Banner. Oh My Lanta.

  • OurMrsMikrut

    This post was almost better than the hayride itself! Oh word. It was so great. Josh is still talking about how upset he is that he didn’t go. And no worries about the porch, as Preston was quite geeked about the “bridge” at the bottom of the front steps.

    Love, The Aunt

  • thad

    oh my oh my, the van van triplets and their parents can’t wait until next year and many years to come, as we look for any excuse to escape the city.

    love,

    thad, michelle, keegan, samantha, maggie & moby

  • Mandi

    Weston found a harmonica in the toy box today and has begun practicing in earnest, so by next year he may just be ready to perform at your shin-dig!

  • The Bruces (but most likely the Mrs.)

    Hmm…hi stranger – I should talk to you more often because I stalk you on this here blog of yours that I LOVE. I need you to know that you need to make these in your store:
    http://www.tendercargo.com/catalog/Baby-Legs.html
    because they make me think of you and I think they are fabulous. ALSO…in regards to the store, things left after December 31 should be removed for fresh 200EIGHT (as in not 9) listings this year 🙂
    In other news I recently sent Bec an email stating that Riley is officially the cutest child ever. I will make an award for her.

  • KatieKate

    Oh, goodnight, Ellen… leave it to you to catch my number blunder! Thank you- I am now straight. I. Love. BabyLegs. I’ve been making them out of knee socks and will have a couple pair in the shop for the holidays. I’ve knit up a gorgeous pair- but they were snatched up by another North Carolina graduate… I figure you approve 🙂

    My child is adorable. She is currently covering her bed, hair, and face with snot as she fights her 1st cold of Fall. She is looking forward to her award.

  • Chelsey Meek

    You’re who I want to be.

talk to me

