Dear Mom,
I am sick. Sick. Don’t I look sick? The kind of sick where you don’t have a fever but your hair hurts? I brushed my teeth, but it doesn’t matter. I still have dragon breath. *sniff* Rylie is sick and sad, too…. and maybe a little manic. After some thorough internet research, I have narrowed our illness down to Bird Flu or Scarlet Fever or maybe possibly a cold. Rylie makes snot bubbles when she laughs… and when she cries. She has a dried trail -o- yuck from her nose to back behind her right ear and into her mullet curls. There is a porcupine in my fwoat. I am wearing Curt’s ski pants and Calvin sweatshirt but my hair is in my face and I can’t find the remote. There is also no ginger ale in this house anywhere. I have looked. I think Rylie ate part of the camera.

Please come now. Curt made me a fire, but I can’t pick up the logs to make it keep going. And also I need the yellow speckled popcorn bowl and a milkshake. And also, we do not have the right movies. They are at your house. Our couch is not working as the ‘sick’ couch because I can’t find the green afghan. Please bring the movies, my old hairbrush, the blue couch, and the popcorn bowl. And can you please make me schnitzel with noodles for dinner with gravy.

I think I might die. Please come soon.
Don’t forget the movies or the milkshake.
And also, Abe chased a buck into the woods and rolled in turkey poop, so bring Dad too.
Love,
Katie

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

17 responses to “

  • sunday

    just what is about moms when we have our bout with scarlet fever? my mom will come rub your head for you. it is the best head rub ever.

  • OurMrsMikrut

    Ohhhh I could so ALMOST come because I am going to be in Lowell, but sadly I have to get from there to Kent City in 45 minutes and I’m not sure how I’m going to make that happen! We need more freeways, I think. Strictly for my sake.

    I even have a good movie for you. I will drop it off after work, as I will have cycled back over to Lincoln Lake Rd again by then.

    Is it the kind of sick where you think that you might actually feel better after beating your head against the wall? Because I hate that kind of sick.

  • Mandi

    I’m so sorry you feel yucky! Feel better soon!

  • CortneyTree

    Everyone has they’re sick routine, and man, it’s just too much to handle if you can’t get it right. I require ginger ale too, and the yellow fuzzy blanket (or the blue comforter in a pinch), and popsicles (is that how you spell popsicles? Blogger doesn’t think so…), and the Price is Right, and when I’m feeling better and can taste again, the only meal I want is my mother’s friedchickenriceandgravy. Matt says that’s all one word because that’s how I use and pronounce it in a sentence.

  • CortneyTree

    OF COURSE I meant “THEIR” sick routine, not THEY’RE. Maybe *I’m* sick?

  • thekooiet

    Awww, I’m sorry you and Riley are sickies. Snot bubbles and babies are a icky combination. AND Mommy being sick…that’s just no good. Mommy’s don’t get enough breaks to properly wallow in the pains of sickliness. We can’t just curl up and die and moan in our beds like the other gender (do they all do it? Or is it just my husband, dad, neighbor, and grandpa?)

    I hope you can find good rest…I hope you find the green afghan….and please someone, bring this girl some ginger ale. (Or how ’bout some Sprite and Orange Juice?)

  • anna0099

    First, I’m sorry you’re not feeling well.

    I wanted to get that out of the way so my next comment wouldn’t be so insensitive.

    Man, I needed a laugh this morning. Thanks Katie!

  • KatieKate

    Laura the wonder aunt just showed up on my door step with Jersey Girl and Dr. Pepper. She is the best county worker I know. And also, she is nice. And also, Anna is not.

  • diane

    katie, can my broken heart come over and heal with your broken head? i also require a cozy blanket, OJ mixed with Sprite and my favorite pajamas. Oh and toast with sugar on top.

    and Ever After. bah, bad movie to watch when one has a broken heart.

    and yes, Laura IS nice. i like her. i like you too. even with snot.

  • Jessica, Myron and Rylie

    isnt it amazing how moms work!

  • Jessica, Myron and Rylie

    I forgot to mention…Myron is AMAZED by Curts talent of deck building….we used almost 1000 nails for ours. He thinks Curt is quite talented maybe we will come when the barn needs to be resurrected!

  • Wendelynn

    Oh, that stinks! Get well, sweetie. I have ONE more big thing to handle with the Thrifty Goodness ad, and then I’m off to craft sock puppets. I say that in plural, because i know it’s going to take more than one shot at it. 😀

  • OurMrsMikrut

    Good thing you’re in the county. If you were on the other side of the street – totally different story. “County worker”…I like it.

    We can thank my Lowell people for being too sick themselves for them to meet with me today, I guess! I’m getting my box of kleenex and waiting for my turn…

    PS – I rescheduled the rest of my appointments today because I’m just not feeling up to it, as previously discussed…thanks for the support and insight and “No, Laura, you’re not a hypochondriac, you might actually be on to something!”

  • Becky and Jeremiah Swann

    I’m sorry you are feeling sick, No one can take care of you like a mom can! I called my mom three times today to discuss random things wrong with me.

  • OurMrsMikrut

    Oh geez. I look at that photo and it makes me laugh, because it is an obvious self-pic ploy for getting pity, in the vein of, “No, Mom, I’m serious, I’m way too sick to go to school…SEE?”

    You’re not fooling me.

  • Chelsey Meek

    …member yesterday when I said I want to be you…well, not today…

  • Shanna, Adam and Gracen

    you can come over and live on my other couch. we’d both have good views of the tv for movies. and gracen’s already dumped all the toys out of her basket, so those are ready to go for the girls. i’m not much into food preparation right now but i’ve got take-out .’
    \menus and people will deliver to us. and i have good blankets.

talk to me

