someone please explain the whole ‘time change’ thing to peanut

too. early.
bah.
Thug Rylie says, ‘Hi.’

Aw, shucks, folks… you’re so sweet about my anniversary! Curt came home yesterday and yelled, “Kate! You like me!” Yes, Boy. Yes, I do.

I’ve been diggin’ through the yellow recipe box lately… moving all the yummy winter comfort recipes to the front and such. My recipe box is a sad little thing… filled with scraps of notes and folded over sheets from the internet of good stuff I’ve found. Keepers. Winners. Old favorites and new favorites. I was thinkin’ that I needed some new things to add to the rotation- good things. Tried and True things. Things that I could eat all week things. Mmmmm. I love me some winter cookin’. So, here’s what I think. You’re gonna help me.

Doot-do-do-dooooooooooooooo!!! (tha’s a trumpet, people)
announcing the Keepers Swap hosted by yours truly
[insert much clapping and cheering]

Now, I dunno how to DO a swap, really… so, I’m gonna wing it. Pros, bear with me.


Participants of said swap shall agree to:

  1. email me [katiemulderATgmailDOTcom] or comment below on their burning desire to be included
  2. search the depths of their personal favorites for the 5 best recipes they have… the ones they make all the time… the ones that always work and always please.
  3. be paired with a swap partner (who also sent me recipes) for whom they will be responsible for sending a magnet to by way of the Post Office. A magnet. That’s it. It can be a handmade magnet. It can be a tacky home-pride airport magnet. It can be a quote magnet in a foreign language… it’s up to you. It’s Holiday time, and I doubt anyone has the time or sanity to add a serious care package to their to-do list. Though if you’d like to include some cookies or other lovlies, that’s just fine. I like oatmeal, personally.
  4. mail the magnet to your swap partner before December 15.
  5. receive a pdf of wonderfully formatted and edited (oh, how I love margins and tabs!) compilation of swap recipes from moi that you can then load into your own binder-o-goodness.

Sound fun? You don’t have to be a regular reader or commentor to participate- if you’ve got a friend you want to include, just have them email me. I shall give folks until this coming Monday (November 12) to ponder, decide, and comment/email. After Monday, I’m gonna start randomly pairing folks up for their magnets and editing the food goodness. I’ll send you a document of all the recipes I receive so you can print them out at home. (So far, we’re all getting 40 recipes [’cause 8 people are in]. 40 RECIPES!!! And, a fun magnet. happyhappyjoyjoy)

Say you’re in. Email me 5 recipes. Receive the name and address of a fellow swapper. Mail them a magnet. Recieve a document full of recipes. Giddyup!

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

24 responses to “someone please explain the whole ‘time change’ thing to peanut

  • sunday

    okay i get it. at first i did not, with the magnet and all. i am in. i want to play. i like recipes, i like cooking. so do i scan in a recipe for my buddy?

  • KatieKate

    Nope… you don’t have to scan anything.

    Your 5 recipes are your admission fee to receive a swap partner who you will send a magnet to/receive a magnet from.

    I’ll collect all the recipes and make them look all pretty and then I’ll send them out to everyone ove rthe Al Gore Internet.

  • CortneyTree

    Yay! Fun! I’m in I’m in I’m IN!!

  • Mandi

    What a great idea! I’m definitely in!

  • diane

    i’m in…but i have a request…can you swap me with someone who is ALSO a vegetarian? otherwise it’s kinda pointless, ya know?

  • KatieKate

    Everyone will get a copy of ALL the recipes. You just have to send ME the recipes to get a partner.

    The only thing your swapping with your partner is a magnet.

  • diane

    i’m just a simple high school teacher…who gets easily confused with so many directions.
    -and machines.
    -and the in.ter.net by Al Gore.
    -and boys.

    okay?

    but my point still remains…i dunno if i can be in a recipe swat if i’m allergic to all the recipes, ya know?

    bah.

  • KatieKate

    uh…
    I dunno how to help you and your wacky allergies.

    1. Send me some recipes, mail a magnet to your partner, chuck the recipes that you receive.
    2. Opt out this round… though I’m sure we’d all love some vegetarian goodness in our Keeper recipes.

    I’ll still be your friend if you can’t/do the swap.

  • thekooiet

    I L-O-V-E your idea! This is making me hungry. I like magnets too. 🙂 I think we all need to freshen up our recipe boxes. Most of my recipes will be crockpot one’s…I am a self-proclaimed crockpot queen.

    Have you ever done a cookie exchange for the holidays?

    I’m thinking to do one at my house…with lunch and a bunch of friends.

    BTW…yesterday was fun…really really wonderfully fun…thank-you Friend.

  • the bantam menace

    ooooh….oooooh…..(stretching arm up really high and waving it around while gripping the table I’m sitting at with my other hand) I want to play, too!

  • the dicocco gang

    I love cookie swaps. We used to do one every year – Jamie – do one this year and invite me! :O)

    And miss Kate – I’m all about your Keeper Swap – my cheering and clapping is definately inserted here.

    You’ll get my contributions shortly.
    Thya – are you here? Now would be a great time to say howdy to our friend Katie!

  • KatieKate

    I actually stopped and grabbed the side of my desk to imitate Marie. I did. Marie! Do you know what this means? It means we get to go to the school supply aisle and buy a new binder and some sheet protectors for our recipe books! I LOVE going to the school supply aisle.

    Jami. Friend. I started clearing away brush for where I think y’all should build your driveway this morning. Think Seth could feed the longhorns before school? I haven’t dont a cookie swap! I wanna do a cookie swap! I wanna go to Jami’s house! [raising my hand and flapping it around]

    And secret agent ninja Thya… oooohhhh, you KNOW you want some recipes and a MAGNET! REVEAL.

  • Shanna, Adam and Gracen

    ME TOO, ME TOO!! And we’re predominantly vegitarian around here, so I can provide all veggie recipes. Diane needs to play too! And I like high school teachers. (I used to be one in a former life)

  • the bantam menace

    heheheheheh
    YESSSSS! notebooks and pencils and folders, oh my! *contented sigh*

    and by the way…in case you need something to add to your blog next week….

    TAG…you’re it (the details are on my blog for today!)

  • CortneyTree

    At least 3 of my recipes are veggie (2 sides and a dessert). One’s got meat that can be omitted, and one, well, *is* a meat, so all my veggie friends will just skip that one, but still, that’s a good enough percentage to be enticing! SO yes, everyone can and should play along!

  • OurMrsMikrut

    Oooh, I do have a penchant for souvenir refrigerator magnets with built-in thermometers. Also really wacky/crazy/ugly dollar store magnets. It’s a fun challenge to find the ugliest one.

    Anyway…I’m SO in. And Diane, I promise to include at least two vegetarian recipes!

  • mr. chris

    katie mulder i need to send you something, can you email me so i can get your email address. mine is mr.spideyfan@gmail.com

  • thekooiet

    Can I please have an extension? Until Tuesday? I’m leaving early in the morning for shopping by Detroit (bah, I’m really not excited.) And I don’t have much time today.

    Please…please. 🙂

  • KatieKate

    Oh, for sure, Doll…
    I just need people signed up by Monday. Take your time. All of you.

    But by the end of November would be nice.

  • jimmy

    Need more men maybe we can help get your friends sig others to cook if they don’t now. I’ll join in the AM, if you don’t mind a guy from the side. Love to cook and have too many good recipes can’t decide which to send….and LOVE to have more you have my bread which is my fav.

    Jim

  • Kayce

    Too funny, this post popped up in my google reader almost 3 years after you wrote it.

  • kateohkatie

    I came to tell ya the same thing…random 3-year-old post? 😛

  • Kim Aguilar

    Me three! I read the whole thing and was totally onboard for the recipe swap, and then I realized I was 3 years too late. Major bummer.

  • Amy B.

    Count me in the “Ooo – I’m going to do the swap this time” group, until I realized it was 3 years old! No wonder there’s a baby picture of Riley!

talk to me

