I think there’s a problem.

I’d like to introduce you to my husband, Curtis James. He’s feeling kinda under the weather today, which is a bummer because it’s a huge week out here at TexasNorth! We’ve got a special birthday on Wednesday (I can’t even talk about it- it’s ridiculous that she’s turning 1.), Thanksgiving on Thursday, and a getaway to downtown Chicago just for Friday night (with baby). Feel better, Curty. I need you to drive. I hate driving.

[clearing throat and stepping up on her Soap Box] Ya know, I’ve been thinkin’. It seems like everywhere you look or listen these days, we are making a mockery of our men. I see this especially on TV…where they are the inferior, the dumb, the insensitive, the ridiculous ones. Berating them and covering them in sarcasm is way cool. Now, I’m all for independence and space and equal pay (I mean, have you met me?), but I do love my husband and I think he deserves more than a sideways glance and an exasperated sigh. I don’t buy it. That man you see above pays my heating bill and makes me laugh like no other. And, while he continues to beat me at Scrabble with words like ‘hike’ and ‘can’, I still find myself wanting to build him up as best I possibly can.

I have preferably taken a back seat (publicly) in this marriage- I stay at home, I feed the chickens, I’m mostly in charge of meals, and I get up in the middle of the night with Ry. This was my dream…seriously. It really was. I also sew and read and watch movies and go out with the girls to my heart’s content. I have not sacrificed anything I regret… and Curt works hard in the ‘real world’ so that I can be at home making a safe place for us to rest and play and be with all of you. It’s a good deal all around. This works for us. And I haven’t said it enough: Thanks, Babe. You rock my face off. I am your biggest fan.

Curt and the boys (read: Mulder boys as well as neighbor Doug in the ‘Wild Ass’ logging jeans) hiked up the front porch frame a couple Saturdays ago. The boy researched and bought special tools and played in the pole barn for months to make this thing happen. What started out as a load of rough wood from Tustin, Michigan in August has now been transformed into a beautiful, old fashioned, mortise and tenon place for us to watch the world go by. It’s as done as it’s gonna get for now…a deck and tin roof will be added in the Spring. All the oak pins are recycled from the Red Barn and fully function holding the splits together at the top. It’s amazing, Curt. You did a fantastic job. The back porch will look exactly the same but with a small portion that will be screened in (for Summer sleeping and guests like Chels and Renae). It’s 8 feet wide…plenty of room for lots of kids and pillows and plants and people sittin’ on the steps playing Yahtzee. So, come on over. We’ll make room.

Love your family this week. Try really really hard to be the person you want to be. I have some things that may help: on Tuesday, download Steve Carter’s message from this past Sunday (search: Mars Hill Bible Church at the iTunes store…it’s free. And while you’re there, grab Donald Miller’s sermon ‘Story’ from last Sunday. They’ll both rock your world.) and gear up for the next few weeks of ‘extended family overload.’

I’ll talk to you on Monday after I’ve recovered the icing coating our house Wednesday, the excessive small talk Thursday, the A&M/tu game Friday, the Chicago traffic Saturday, and the all-day singing on Sunday.

Blessings to you all…
We love you here at TexasNorth!

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

10 responses to “I think there’s a problem.

  • Mandi

    Jeff and I have talked many times of this down-playing of men in the media and the gerneral mockery being made of them. We think it’s absolutely ridiculous. I, like you, am very proud of my man and the life he works so hard to build for us.

    I love your porch!

    I hope you have a fabulous birthday/Thanksgiving/family week! We will be celebrating all those things as well.

  • Jessica, Myron and Rylie

    I heart your red house!!!

    Seriously!

    And rylie joy’s present is going to be a tad late but no worries rylie jayne insisted on picking it out herself!

    yer a fabulous wife!

  • sunday

    love the porch. that is awesome. curt is a good man.
    i cannot believe that rylie is going to be one! what in the world.

  • Chelsey Meek

    Sunday’s comment meant that Rylie is going to be one (year’s old) not a good man. Ha! 🙂

    Nice job Curty…don’t ferget ’bout finding me one of you!

  • Shanna, Adam and Gracen

    yay for the boys in our lives! would you mind sending curt down to chapel hill for a weekend to build us one of those? you and your ONE YEAR OLD CHILD should come too.

    hope you have a wonderful holiday week!

  • OurMrsMikrut

    OH yes. In the past, before I had great holy knowledge of such things, imagined myself making the snide remarks about my man that the smart, attractive girls on the sitcoms were. I’ve since realized that that isn’t helpful for ANYBODY and get quite ashamed of myself when I slip into it. While my husband isn’t currently bringing home the bread, he is working strenuously, working against the least productive fibers of his being at times to build something for us…so that in a few years I can be the one at home, doing all the amazing things that you do now (and how I envy you some days!)

    And amen, amen, amen to Steve Carter’s message. I always wish we didn’t have to wait until Tuesday to download stuff…

    Happy Birthday to Miss Rylie!

  • Miss Christine

    Oh my Katie Kate. This is one of my favourite posts of yours ever, because of those couple paragraphs about Curt. How’d you get so wise? 🙂

    P.S. I’m saving them… I like saving little bits of wisdom for later on… for what, I have no idea… but maybe later I’ll have my own husband and I’ll understand even more. Or less, and I can use it to remind myself.

    I miss you! I hope you’re well.

  • KatieKate

    How’d I get so WISE?
    Lord.

    Once upon a time, Katie had a bunc hof YoungLife kids who were smarter than she was…

  • mr. chris

    hey kt. not sure if you got my voicemail, but i can get you a copy of the It’s a wonderful life cd. i got it at a gas station or a walmart almost 6 years ago so i’m not sure where to find it, maybe amazon? let me know if you want it.

  • thekooiet

    Your porch looks AWESOME! And I so love what you wrote about men…it’s so VERY true.

    BTW…your harmonies sounded beautiful today! I love it so much when I can hear each vocal part! How Great Thou Art was amazing.

    I can’t wait to read (I hope!) about your Thanksgiving weekend!

talk to me

