great

So, apparently most of you already knew that I was two people (or 17, as Erica-get-a-blog-already-Skoglund pointed out) and are completely fine with it. Fantastic. This made me feel good… until I panicked about you all knowing something I didn’t… but then I reminded myself it was good thing in this case… and then I minor-ly panicked… and then I was ok. Really. Taste of Texas home, anyone? Biscuit in the shape of the Mother Country? I have some for all you lovely people… come an’ get it.

Rylie is upset because I took the camera away from her. There are tears, but I am sure they are fake… the emotion in the wailing sounds forced AND darn it all if she didn’t just SQUEEZE HER LEFT EYE to make a single tear eek out. Oh. My. Lanta.

I took a walk the other day (Fall, the other day)…
tired and contemplative and exhausted from a teething child…
not to mention all the voices and stories and ideas and panics in my brain.

Curt walked in the door and I passed off Rylie saying, “I have to go.” As this is not my normal M.O., Curt took the whiny child without question and I think fed her cereal and kool-aid for dinner. I didn’t ask. She’s well. Abe and I walked the property line to the back of TexasNorth and I found myself talking (inside voice) to the Man Above… where are you? I’m tired. It seems like you’ve been quiet lately. A little help here? What’s my deal? Answer me. [march march march, stomp stomp stomp]

You know… the normal kind of questions from a
selfish, provided-for, safe but very tired person .

And then I stopped walking, thinking this would make Him have to answer me… because I’m strong-willed if nothing else. But… nothing. He said nothing. So I turned around, defeated.

And then, out of everywhere, there He was.
“Kate. I am so loud when you are quiet.
Just breathe for awhile, ok? Just be quiet and breathe.”
Ok.
Point taken.
I’ll be quiet now.
About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

21 responses to “great

  • thekooiet

    Wow. That brought much needed tears to my eyes.

    “Kate. I am so loud when you are quiet. Just breathe for awhile, ok? Just be quiet and breathe.”

    Thank-you for writing. It’s perfect today.

  • sunday

    thank you so much! i needed that reminder as well. God is awesome just sitting there working through you to get to all of us! awesome.
    what in the world just happened with your comments. are people being mean? who do we need to beat up?

  • KatieKate

    Nope… no mean-ness as of late. I just changed the comments back to allow anyone to comment again, even anonymous people. (Although, it’s never anonymous. I always know who you or WHERE you are.) mwah-ha-haaaa.

    Simmer down, Sunday. You’re gonna get Cort all worked up and then I’ll have a posse ready to hang someone! The TexasNorth Posse. That’s what you are.

  • CortneyTree

    I promise not to get the posse going here in this season of forgiveness, truly. And I love your Texas Biscuits. You’re the cutest.

  • Meg

    MO has so many meanings I didn’t know before. If one didn’t know how to use it in a sentance it could cause a lot of confusion. Some of the best are MO-Myst obsession, or morbidly obese(which we all know you are not)

  • sunday

    i always wanted to be in a gang!

  • KatieKate

    Yes- my favorites are Medium Offense (gaming) and Mostly Orthogonal. What??? Of course, we all knew the Musa-Okumoto (logarithmic Poisson method) one. Please. That is SO 1989 lingo.

  • jimmy

    You are a Michagander, at least sort of, so please at least one palm cookie. And does Texas have such beautful sights, I have only been to El Paso and Ft. Hood and airports. Just makes you quiet in a loud way doesn’t it. Sort of like the Duck Lake sunsets.

  • KatieKate

    Them’s biscuits, Jim! Bisquick biscuits- the best and only kind. But I had to see if they’d work with a cookie cutter. They do. And Rylie digs them. I do need to find a mitten shaped cutter- you are so right. That’s my favorite thing about this state… at my wedding we gave out of town guests an oven mitt. Tee-he. Well, I should say *I* gave them a mitt. I think Curt thought it was a little strange.

  • thekooiet

    Oh my goodness gracious! You seriously gave your OOT guests an oven mitt!

    Oh, that laughed me…that laughed me hard.

  • jimmy

    You’ll just have to teach him the rewards of good cooks accessories. One of my good friends, who lives in the Greenville SC area (Not all that far from from Black Mt. by the way small world) has at least 3 Mich mitts that we have sent. He keeps burning them….his wife TJ thinks it is just an excuse. We went to his son’s wedding and that was one of the gifts we give.

  • OurMrsMikrut

    I read the first sentence and wondered if you were making a big announcement. I see now that you are not. Hmph. (Rest of the blog was lovely, tho.)

    Will you be at Jami’s on Sunday? I have something for you…well, for Rylie, rather…

  • sunday

    jimmy a lot of my family lives in greenville, sc. it is indeed a very small world. katie i think that is awesome that you gave out oven mitts. awesome! i gave out cookbooks of our favorite recipes and worth thought that was strange, but turned out to be a big hit!

  • Jessica, Myron and Rylie

    Does Rylie Joy hunch down on the ground and scream? Rylie jayne does when I take the camera (or the cell phone or the computer) away from her!Myron says we have a drama queen on our hands….I might agree

  • http://www.evidently.org

    Hey sweetie… I’m just surfacing and not really reading too far. I’m glad you’re finding center–silence has a way of bringing us around. 😀

    I have a box for you and Miss Rylie. Of course, up until now, I’ve had no way of getting it to you. But rumor has it the PO will now start taking packages as they have power to process postage again. So, it will be off to you shortly.

    Thinking about you. There are all kinds of storms in our world. Some don’t involve weather of any kind.

  • jimmy

    Sunday, love your blog as well and when you named your daughter, wow as my granddaughter is Rose after my grandmother. Do you by chance know the Ponders, their actual address is Easley but they live in Dacusville and work in Pickens. Bill is the public affairs officer for the school system, TJ retired from teaching middle school last year. Their sons wedding and wife were from some place up 26 from Spartenburg. We talk often and visit about yearly. We lived in Columbia for several years in the late 70s and did spend time in the mts. But it is a small world, for sure.

  • Bev@camproger

    Kate. I read your blog weekly and just had a chance to read your last three blogs. All I can say is I am so blessed by your writings and WOW did God give you a gift of words. Beautiful. Thank you for using that gift.

  • OurMrsMikrut

    Everyone seems to have cookie cutters in the shape of the things they love most. This means that I need to find a cookie cutter in the shape of…a cookie.

  • diane

    Laura, I have one at my house. You can have it. 🙂

  • OurMrsMikrut

    Diane is so good to me.

talk to me

