deck the farm, and all that jazz

So, the tree is UP, people, and if my camera were in working order I’d SHOW. YOU. a thing or two about decoratin’ a tree lemme tell you… but I can’t so I won’t so just live with the fear and awe that feat of grammar just laid on you.

Hi.

There are cranberries, though. I’ve never made a cranberry strand before… but it looks like we were successful, no? Are there rules to these things? I used florist wire instead of string… that’s perhaps a bird faux-pas and I’m sure I’ll have their representative on my porch in an hour or two with an ordinance about wire and beaks and blah blah blah. That blue jay is a monster- the mayor of TexasNorth BirdTown, I call him. He runs the show. I don’t know what we’re feeding him in those little black sunflower seeds, but he grows about 2 inches every day. Hey… can you see my little iron pipe Sheriff man by the tree? He’s so darn cute.
I do, however, have some Rylie-cuteness for you. I have no new pictures of HER, per se, but we know all things surrounding her are adorable and right.

First: her baptism invitations

December 23rd we shall be dunking the child in the presence of family and Torah study in a very simple ceremony meant to literally clean her up and present her to God. I’m debating whether or not to bring along her shampoo and just wash two birds with one tub. Look at me all crazy with the crafty photography! I could be on Flickr or something! It was an accident.

Second: her Christmas present

Mama (that’s me… I gave birth to that child.. she’s mine) really wanted to give her a baby doll… which turned in to TWO baby dolls which turned into ‘Well, they have to have something cool to live in.’ Thus, a little doll from the Q’ewar Project (shown here) and then another from Paula Gibbs… and then a large tin lunch box to wrap them in. Oh, LOVE. I can just see her headed off the Grammy’s house with her little suitcase filled with pjs and a book for night time. Break my heart, would ya? She prolly won’t look at any of it… wanting only the wrapping paper and such… but I just love these one-of-a-kind soft dolls (which surprised even me) and find myself scouring etsy for future ‘needs.’

No, I have not shopped for anyone else yet. Please. I’m still on load number 4 of 6 of laundry.

We hope you have a great weekend…
We have numbers 4 and 5 and 6 of about 14 Holiday gatherings… so pray for me and my bluntness. I’ll either be really funny or really please-go-sit-in-the-corner-until-you-can-be-nice. I can’t promise who will get what. It doesn’t work that way. But I love you.

Blessings!

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

10 responses to “deck the farm, and all that jazz

  • Megan

    Can I bring my shampoo also?????

  • Leigh

    Beautiful Waldorf doll!! My daughter attends the Waldorf School here in Chapel Hill, where these dolls are abundant, but that is a really gorgeous one. She’ll love it!

  • KatieKate

    Meg- I think there’s only room in the tub for one 🙂

    And Leigh- I KNOW! I love it. Their doll sare so amazing… all the little clothes are so well made and removeable… even her little shoes! It’s so ridiculous. Thank you for being excited with me!

  • thekooiet

    Oh! That doll is beautiful! And that material behind it…it looks so familiar. I swear the curtains in my first house were made from that same material…now I’ll have to go look. And I think I had some oil cloth with the same pattern. Hummm.

    I HATE laundry. Really HATE it…and for some reason, I’ve hated it more lately. When are they going to invent a machine that sorts, washes, dries, and folds…AND puts it all away. Oh, wait…it’s called “Jeff.”

  • thekooiet

    I am a dumb, dumb girl. That’s not material at all…lunch box. But…I have the material. Yes, I looked and it is very much the same. Strange.

  • KatieKate

    You’re not dumb, silly! It’s called “Apron Strings” and it’s from Moda… though Apron String sis a pretty popular print from the 30s. I don’t doubt at all you have fabric very similar to it.

  • OurMrsMikrut

    I am hoping that we are perhaps #4,5, or 6? I have not heard from you! Tell me…for chicken-purchasing purposes. (You too, Tracy!)

    How/where are you pulling off this baptism? Last I knew, The Hill doesn’t dunk the wee ones (one of my few laments about the place), pray tell.

  • Becky Swann

    I will now comment on something I try to be better at in my blog and you did a really good job with it in this blog…statements like “wash two birds with one tub”
    I figured from one blogwordsmith to another, it’s good to hear it’s written well:)very entertaining I love our blogship(friendship in blog-world)

  • Becky Swann

    I will now comment on something I try to be better at in my blog and you did a really good job with it in this blog…statements like “wash two birds with one tub”
    I figured from one blogwordsmith to another, it’s good to hear it’s written well:)very entertaining I love our blogship(friendship in blog-world)

  • sunday

    you are the most creative person EVER!

talk to me

