smorgasboard

And now, the news.

My parents come on Saturday.
I wish it were Saturday.

We got over a foot of beautiful, sun shiny snow this weekend. I think if it’s gonna be cold, it might as well snow. I love it. The wood stove is in full-force, making it a balmy 75 degrees in our little Shoebox of a home. I feel for the chickens outside but have recently come to terms with the fact that they are animals and are fine outside in their coop and do not hate me. It was a major break-through.

All our local schools are closed…the entire county…because the road commission (due to budget cuts) cannot afford to plow. Now, I admittedly know nothing about this sort of politic/budget/contract thing… but where in tarnation are all these new game shows coming up with millions of dollars to give away to people who know a decent amount of trivia? I know schools that have no books! I know local people who have no health care! I know countries that have no water! Eh? It may be the fever talking.

Said (24-hour) fever knocked me out for the count Saturday night into Sunday, legitimately releasing me from Sunday church and Holiday Party Number 472. Thank you? Today I’ve been upgraded to ‘functional enough to do laundry’ status and continue my quest to summit Mount Laundry.

Whilst recovering, I watched Swing Kids for the 854th time and cried my eyes out.

Then I watched Amazing Grace… another (based on a) true story about John Newton (who penned the hymn) and William Wilberforce (the man who ended the English slave trade). It’s a remarkable story and, sadly, largely unknown. If you’ve not seen it, your homework this weekend is to rent it. You’ll love the costumes, the powdered wigs, the all-English cast with authentic accents. Albert Finney’s monologue while writing his ‘account’ is just absolutely stunning. Stunning. I, of course, cried my eyes out. Sobbed. Like a CHILD.

The Lions lost. I cried my eyes out expected this.

Wende sent some lovlies my way… they are happily at home here on the farm. Thank you so very very much. Everything was absolutely perfect.

I put fresh sheets on the bed along with someone else’s pillowcases (bought, not stolen). They are also happily at home on the farm.

The Read-Along Gang is in full swing… Chelsey has a reading calendar posted on her blog. What’s more Holiday Season than Dickens? Come do a little homework with us… or simply read along. Exercise your brain. Cozy up to the fire and flip a few pages. You may borrow my fire (and old teapot filled with cloves and cinnamon) if you wish.

The Keeper’s Swap Recipe book is finished except for *ahem* my recipes (I realize the irony here.) and Shanna’s… but her computer hates her at the moment and she has been granted an extension because 1. She’s pregnant and 2. She’s pregnant. Expect a very large email by Wednesday. Have you mailed your Swap Buddy’s magnet? Of course you have. You rock.

The mountain (of stupid &^#@& laundry) is calling.
I believe I shall win today.
I shall CONQUER!
I am not afraid.

There may be some residual fever floating around inside me.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

13 responses to “smorgasboard

  • diane

    Um. When I was in College (the first time) we watched Swing Kids all the time. Then we danced. I Love that movie.

    I would LOVE to sit by your fire but you have animals in your home. Bah.

    And finally, please don’t yell at me, but I haven’t mailed the magnet yet. I don’t rock.

    When are we going sledding already?

  • Shanna, Adam and Gracen

    computer continues to hate. think i’m gonna have to retype on another puter since i can’t seem to attach. i’ve also been out of town. i have many excuses, but i realize i’m still a slacker.

    thoughts on laundry…i’ve developed a new system that makes me much less overwhelmed by the multitude of piles in my home. i have implemented lanudry days:
    monday: linens (1-2 loads)
    tuesday: diapers (1)
    wedensday: gracen (2)
    thursday: adam and shanna (2)
    friday: diapers (1)
    weekends are free or for catching up. it’s really helped my ego in that if our laundry is flowing over in the closet, i have no guilt because it’s TUESDAY and it’s just not it’s day to be clean. it’s helped me find some holiday peace.

    i would type out my recipes again right now, but alas, i have to go to the hospital for an ultrasound to find out if we’re having a boy or girlie!!

  • CortneyTree

    I am abnormally exuberant this week.

    I can’t wait for recipes!
    I’m baking cookies all week long!
    I want to remake beds now even though no one’s coming to visit until Christmas day!
    I’m almost caught up on laundry, you can do it, too!
    It’s Christmas time!

    Please excuse the outburst.
    Continue.

  • KatieKate

    Shanna, you ARE NOT a slacker. Thank you for you laundry schedule. I am on the verge of simply throwing everything in all together.

    If a boy, I vote for “Snow.” If a girl, “I vote for “Snow White.” Marli votes for “Harold.” Rylie: “Buh.”

    Cort: all exuberance accepted all the time.

  • sunday

    oh shanna!!!! i can’t wait to find out what you are having. oh please tell us all! i LOVE swing kids. i might just have to rent that along with amazing grace. i have been seeing that at netflix and the video store but never heard anything about it. i might have to rent whilst worth hunt’s today/night! okay so i may try the book out. i never really got into dickens in high school and that is the last time i tried. i will go to the library to see! a laundry schedule, how amazing. i hate laundry. i save it until saturday and then to between 5-6 loads. i think i am all done with 3 and then the clothes keep coming out of nowhere but never with the missing sock. so weird!

  • thekooiet

    Lions lost-boo -but the Packers won, and I am happy about that. 🙂

    I cannot WAIT for this day to be over (final exam) and then I AM DONE…I can read — in my best Nacho Libre voice….”It’s just for fun.” I borrowed David Copperfield from the library…it’s a rickety old book…I hope the pages don’t fall out.

    I’m glad you’re feeling a little better…at least well enough to do laundry. Yuck.

  • Jessica, Myron and Rylie

    it is time…I am waiting for my phone call from Shanna….waiting waiting…..hmmm

    I am sorry for yer fever nd glad yer not afraid, and KNOW ye shall conquer…you have till Sat. right?

  • sunday

    okay i just went and got the book from the library. my copy is in rough shape too. i am excited about reading this book.

  • wende@evidently.org

    Excuse me darlin’ but your birthday isn’t until the 28th–opening birthday gifts early! PFFT.

    Glad you liked everything. 😀

  • OurMrsMikrut

    I was just today wondering when your birthday is, Katie-Loo. Thanks, Wende, for helping me out with that!

    P.S. Got fabulous magnets today! Thanks Janna!

  • Shanna, Adam and Gracen

    GIRL, GIRL, GIRL, GIRL, GIRL!!!!!

    yippy for sisters!!!

  • diane

    I just read the Best Recipe Book Ever Created! You All Rock! 🙂 Thanks for doing this Katie Darling.

  • Mandi

    The recipe book is awesome! Thank, Katie, for putting all that together for us! And thanks everyone else for contributing, what sound like, some fantastic recipes!

talk to me

