and another thing…

Daniel Charles… quit playing with My. Toys.

Today’s Blast From the Past is the classic made in the USA wooden but prolly painted with lead paint Giraffe PlaySkool Scooter… complete with my brother’s sticker. All the ‘Katie’ stickers were always spelled with a ‘y’ instead of an ‘ie’ so I never had any. This is just another example of how the world favored my brother from the very beginning.

Monday night during the LSU game, Rylie woke up with a bang. What followed was 6 hours of restless puking and crying and sleeping on the couch with Mamma. The poor child must have thought aliens were coming out of her body. She did very well, though, despite being so tired she often hurled with her eyes closed and head drooping. The first time (and 2nd and 80th) throwing up is no fun. Personally, I’d rather be dragged by the lips by a chicken.

The sad sad sad irony of this tale is that I had- at YOUR ENCOURAGEMENT/BERATING– unpacked my bag from the trip and washed everything (as some things were growing extra legs) AND folded it but not put it away. It was resting on the back of the couch. By the end of our ordeal, I had grabbed nearly everything to avoid the ‘splash’. You know how it is- you just grab whatever’s closest to shield yourself and the couch and your Grandmother’s quilt that she handmade whilst going blind. So now, dear friends, I have another load of laundry to do. One that I wouldn’t have to re-do if I hadn’t listened to you…OR…if I’d unpacked when I got home like normal responsible overachiever people do.

She has recovered from the weird puking bug and is doing better with her new fleet of incoming teeth. I have seen 2 new front teeth and 4 new molars. Look look at this girl- is she not hysterical? At least once a day I find her studying books. Any book. Front cover, back cover, upside down, inside- especially the last page. She loves books. Here, she’s found some of our historical reading and is no doubt shocked to learn that Jesus was a Jew. It took her a good 10 minutes to realize I was standing there. She is so expressive and so so wonderful.

Next week will be dedicated to the Farm… as in the Sebeck farm… as in Pennsylvania Sebecks… as in my cousins and the cows and why we love to pay high prices for milk and how I had to drag my husband home from the barn and back to his real world of construction. I almost lost him to the tractors and the repetition and the labor and especially the company. But, that’s all for next week…

Many blessings to you! I hope you enjoy a little time to yourself this weekend… and maybe a little apple crisp and a rented movie as well. Mmmm. Sounds right up my alley.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

17 responses to “and another thing…

  • Mandi

    Ruth used to do (and still does) the same thing with any and all books. And Weston has recently started to be very interested in the printed word as well. It’s so neat to see them develop a love of reading so early! Sorry Rylie was sick…and that you have more laundry to do. We had a somewhat similar episode yesterday, so I completely understand and you definitely have my sympathy.

  • sunday

    i wonder if it was that crazy freaky bunny that did this to rylie! get it out of the house.

  • diane

    My niece was turning pages in books at 9 months. Knew her entire alphabet (upper AND lower case) at one year. I’m not making this up. The girl is addicted to the written word.

    This is the same niece whose favorite Christmas present was her Princess-shaped Vitamins (and her only gift from her parents!). So I guess that balances out her brilliance.

    I love how Riley is sitting.

    Can’t wait to hear about the farm, as a former Farm Girl myself.

  • The VanderPloeg's

    i never had any stickers with my name either, kate. nor any cool key chains that were carved in wood that you’d always see at souvenir shops. no not one Joanna. not one jo.

    poor poor Rylie. i am so sorry such an awful bug hit your sweet little book addicted daughter. i agree with sunday – i think it was the bunny. rid yourself of that german boogieman at once!

  • The VanderPloeg's

    i never had any stickers with my name either, kate. nor any cool key chains that were carved in wood that you’d always see at souvenir shops. no not one Joanna. not one jo.

    poor poor Rylie. i am so sorry such an awful bug hit your sweet little book addicted daughter. i agree with sunday – i think it was the bunny. rid yourself of that german boogieman at once!

  • The VanderPloeg's

    i never had any stickers with my name either, kate. nor any cool key chains that were carved in wood that you’d always see at souvenir shops. no not one Joanna. not one jo.

    poor poor Rylie. i am so sorry such an awful bug hit your sweet little book addicted daughter. i agree with sunday – i think it was the bunny. rid yourself of that german boogieman at once!

  • CortneyTree

    Couldn’t find a “Cortney with no U” sticker/stamp/pen/keychain/etc as a kid either. Matt and I saw one at a craft fair in November, and it found it’s way into my stocking come Christmas.

    Lucky for Riley her momma’s crafty…

  • sunday

    okay i don’t want to hear any of you normal named people with different spellings talk. try finding anything that says Domenica or Sunday that is not a newspaper. just try. i dare you!

  • CortneyTree

    Good point, Sunday. You’ve got the trump card, for sure šŸ™‚

  • thekooiet

    Yes, I’m with you people…Jami stickers everywhere are spelled with “e’s.” And my poor Abbigail…is spelled with just one “b.”

    Get with it sticker making people!

    I’m really glad Rylie is feeling better! I hate puke sickness.

    I LOVE her face in that first picture! She does have that look of shock and amazement….although I would like to believe that babies are born with intimate knowledge about God…they just forget as they get older. So the look on her face is not shock, it’s just “oh yeah, I remember that!” šŸ˜‰

  • the dicocco gang

    Whoot! I’m totally with you on that Jami. The kids and God thing. I’ve thought that often, especially after listening to my kids and toddlers and preschoolers.

    Katie, you are unpacking. I am packing. It is hard.
    If you are in town and craving a cherry italian soda, I would love to Kava with you. Bring your new camera and we’ll have us some fun!

  • jimmy

    I love the classic toys, wait till you see the cottage and the old engine show. Rose reads just like that, so give Rylie and hug and tell her to read on….Apple Crisp reminds me I must make it this weekend (mac apples) as well as grits and shrimp a meal I finally found the recipe for and first had near Ashville (Sunday). And what’s wrong with laundry all over the house, so what if we have not unpacked from Mexico it as sign of….at least we fit with others. Say hello to Curt
    Jim

  • KatieKate

    Jim! We made you apple crisp yesterday- mmmmMMMMMM.

    And, yes- I suppose Domenica wins the name game. But the universe still prefers my brother.

    Trace- Jami and I are headed to Wealthy Street Bakery at 11am for a little treat before a k-nitting date. I know a bakery is not your antigluten-forte, but hey.

  • jimmy

    And I just got home from the office and am waiting for me to fix dinner…. how cruel

  • OurMrsMikrut

    I also love the way Rylie’s sitting, in large part because I wish I could still do that without knee pain, pins and needles, etc.

    I’ll admit it…I had a Laura stamp (with hearts), “Property of Laura” stickers, two Laura bike license plates (MI and CA), a slew of keychains, Christmas ornaments, etc etc…but fear not, friends. You can order a great many different items with your child’s unorthodox name spelling at http://www.lillianvernon.com. I can’t guarantee that there’s no sweatshops involved, but they cater to your extra B at a reasonable cost.

    BTW, if anyone out there knows a little guy named Preston, they sent me an extra Preston tote bag and I’d be happy to bestow it upon someone.

  • Wende

    Oh goodness… those photos take me back. (she’s just darling, btw)

  • Angela O.

    That is adorable! My daughter likes books but she never studied them so . . .

talk to me

