this one has no title

And that, folks, just about says it all. Brown hair, brown eyes, 5 foot 6 inches, size 7 and a half shoe, first kiss at age 25, PG. That’s me in a nutshell. I’m ok with it. I got a PG for having the word ‘dead’ twice and ‘kill’ once… well, I guess three times and two times now. I better watch it or I’ll be up to PG-13 before I know it. Those darn chickens. I’ll have to be a bit more discreet whilst discussing the realities of small farm life and foxes and such. Sorry to any I’ve offended thus far.

Have I mentioned that The Boy turns 30 tomorrow? Yes. More on this Monday, but we met on his birthday… a long, long time ago. Ok, so not that long ago. But it seems like forever. In a good way. I meant that in a good way.

Have I mentioned that Ry Girl is seriously into brushing her teeth? It’s just about the funniest thing ever. She will allow you to brush your own but then DEMANDS the brush be put into her mouth. She moves her head for you. I encourage this new habit, as the things she’s been getting into lately warrent healthy hygiene habits. You know… dog food, toilet bowls, wood chips.

And finally, a little reader poll. You’ll need some background on this one.

[cut to the movie theater bathroom]
young wild and crazy girl in adjacent stall: Like, when we get our apartment, I totally want to get a pink toilet.
her equally wild and crazy friend in an opposite stall: Totally. AND, we should get a pink sink. Wouldn’t that be AWESOME?
wild and crazy #1: Yeah- totally. Ugh. I hate flushing. I hate touching that handle. GA-ross.
wild and crazy #2: TOTALLY. I wash my hands like 42 times after using these bathrooms.
[three flushes and end scene]

Ok. Many things here… from public toilets to handwashing to unrealistic expectations of first apartments to ValleyGirl lingo thriving in West Michigan, but let me ignore all that. It’s killing me, but let’s ignore all that and focus.

ARE YOU KIDDING ME? Who actually touches the handle on those super-flush-take-no-prisoners toilets? You kick it with your foot! You don’t bend over, risking life limb and Strep B, and flush it with your hand on the handle. You flush it with your FOOT. Right? Is that just me? Puh-LEASE. Gag me with a spoon.

Happy weekend to you all. We shall be celebrating until the cows come home. And I mean that.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

12 responses to “this one has no title

  • sunday

    mone got rated G! i had the word “shoot” in there once. ha! Ry’s rosy cheeks are just so cute. Curt is such a young man compared to old man Worth.
    Kick the handle all the time. Except last night at Michaels when that did not work and then I had to touch it. GA-ross

  • Anonymous

    I am there right with you at not touching the handle! I use my foot!

    I also use a paper towel to open the door. Ever notice how many women come out from the stall and go right to the door while you are standing there washing your hands? EEEEEEEEWWWWW!!

    Cathy

  • Mandi

    I prefer to flush with my foot, if possible. But for some reason, toddlers LOVE to flush. With potty training comes hand-flushing, followed by serious hand washing (sometimes followed by a good dose of hand sanitizer just to be safe).

  • Becky Swann

    Ewww don’t eat any of Sunday’s cake unless she washed her hand like 42 times after 🙂
    I always kick even with a pregnant belly where I have to grunt to get my leg up there!

  • Anonymous

    Um, so, me saying this is getting really old, ’cause I say it every post… but … super super cute picture! Love it. 🙂

    Also, I definitely step on it. It should be called a “foot-le”, not a “handle”. At least for toilets.

    Have a wonderful weekend!

    Miss Chris

  • ecky

    i definitely use the foot…and never never sit down! i always choose the hover. my mom used to put down tons of tp to form a butt barrier…but the environmentalist in me chooses to save trees and hover. think of it as a thigh workout!

  • Wende

    Oh, Happy Birthday to the boy. (I turn 30 something on Sunday.) 😀

    As for the toilet flushing… Well, duh. Heh.

  • thekooiet

    Public toilets…..Yuck-E!

    For the little toilet users in my family, we load the toilet with paper all around. Nobody touches anything….karate kick the handle to flush, aw yeah and hi-ya.

    And what about hovering? Do you all hover? It’s really good for those thigh muscles. 😉

    After we wash our hands, we open the door with our sleeve.

    We are just a little germ-a-phobic around here….hence the never letting my kids play at Pink-Eye-Palace aka – McDonald’s Playland.

    Happy 30th to Curt! I’m glad he can finally join the rest of us in the next decade!

  • Lisa and Gary...

    I’m giggling and making an “icky” face simultaneously, as public toilets have become the bane of my existence now that (my) KatieKate is potty trained and, inevitably, has to go the moment we set foot in any store. No, she couldn’t just go at home before we leave. That would be too, well, logical?

    So, now it’s not just about keeping me germ free, it’s about trying to balance myself over the seat (thighs burning, of course), while also trying to keep her hands off everything…from handicap bars to feminine hygiene disposal containers to the tainted porcelain, itself…without ultimately ending up with a stream of No. 1 down my leg. Oh, the grossness of it all.

    Thanks for those happy thoughts going into the weekend. I’m off to find me some Purel.

    Lisa

  • Miss Laura

    Okay, I’m apparently the only disgusting person out there who uses her HAND to flush the public toilet. I also don’t hover or create Fort Knox-esque TP barrier. I DO wash my hands after, ALWAYS! I cannot believe that some people don’t do this.

    I would like to say, however, that I hardly ever get sick…and my microbiologist mom would say I’ve built up many healthy immunities by not being a germophobe 🙂 (So, for that matter, would the guy who came to talk to us at work about household mold, “With our antibiotic/antibacterial craze, we’re seriously going to drive ourselves into extinction.”)

  • Dan, Annie, Will and Mocha

    O I love that little one, just want to squeeze her in that hair wrap.
    Happy birthday to your husband, that’s so sweet you met on his birthday.
    I’m a tip of the shoe flusher, it’s much more precise.

  • Michie

    I linked to you from Cortney. My blog is rated G. I posted it on my blog so I gave you a link because I found it on your blog. Anyway, just saying hi and trying to keep up with proper blog etiquette. LOL By the way, Rylie is a cutie. 🙂

talk to me

