Postcards from the Mother Country – 4

A quick story for you today…

Four years ago today, The Boy propsed to me in Crested Butte, Colorado while we were skiing with my family. To be honest, I missed the whole thing. I missed it from the very beginning.

We had spent the day skiing. It was a gorgeous day- sunny and fine. We stopped on the mountain to eat outside and watch the kids crash into the holding zone below. As I paid at the cafeteria checkout line I realized I’d forgotten my beloved hot chocolate. I would get it, I decided, as a dessert.

We ate and lounged and gabbed and sat with our jackets off and boots unbuckled. With about fifteen minutes to go, The Boy looked over at me- the very picture of sweetness- and said, “Did you want some hot chocolate?”

“Yes! I did!”

[There was a very pregnant pause as The Boy stared at me not moving and not, I realized in shock, offering.]

“And I suppose I’ll go get it myself.”

I did not see my mother crying or my father smirking as I returned with my bittersweet hot chocolate. I only saw my punk boyfriend who was a punk and I did not like him because he was a punkpunkpunk.

I skiied out my irritation the rest of the day, and we went on our date that night. He asked me to marry him on a back road overlooking the small mining town. He explained how he had asked my father on the mountain while I bought my hot chocolate and how he was sorry but he just didn’t know how to get rid of me. I heard none of this, of course, because I was obsessing about my camera. And, all the sudden he was on the ground and I was engaged.

I missed it all. All of it.
But I married him, you know. It turned out ok.

The Boy is on his way to Dallas to fly back to Michigan as we speak. Rylie and I will stay until Thursday, lounging and playing with goats and drinking Sonic milkshakes. Be safe, Daddy. We miss you already.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

4 responses to “Postcards from the Mother Country – 4

  • Miss Laura

    Oh, how I love the lies and deception and rudeness that go into asking the father’s blessing. Goodness.

  • Dan, Annie, Will and Mocha

    Very sweet.

  • Miss Christine

    🙂 I love that story.

  • the dicocco gang

    I’m so glad I joined in today! I needed to hear this story… the story of the beauty of life.. sometimes getting lost in the moments of life – but they are still there, real and shining through… and sustaining.
    I miss you , my friend.
    Live today like the moments matter. I will too.

    ps… what in the world? Rylie’s hair!! It got so long!! Whoo… go girl! Grow those teeth and that beautiful hair!

talk to me

