Postcards from the Mother Country – 5


Rylie is getting her eye teeth.

She has a 102 degree fever and has been S.A.D. since Thursday. We are fabulous company.

Thank goodness Mamma is not alone.

Mamma would have turned to the drink by now if she were alone.

Daddy, you’re not missin’ anything.

And I’m gonna need some serious chinese food when I get home Thursday. With vodka. Just mix it all together.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

15 responses to “Postcards from the Mother Country – 5

  • sunday

    man that poor little baby and her teeth. it will be over soon, right? i don’t blame on chinese or vodka!

  • Miss Laura

    Do you need help eating/finding that Chinese food and vodka? There are people who are willing to help with that.

  • Honey Nosh

    she is a doll…even if she is horribly miserable! i miss you and was planning on calling you today to hang out until i remembered you were gone…so i came on here to say “hi, i miss you”.

  • diane

    Laura! I was just going to write the same thing!

    Kate, we’re here for you. You say the word and we’ll help you with the Vodka and vodka. I mean chinese food. I mean Vodka.

    You know what I mean.

  • Grace

    Just wait until you start potty training.

    I feel for ya, girl!

  • Shanna, Adam and Gracen

    I think the eye teeth are worse than molars.

    I would also like some vodka, but I think it’s frowned upon in my condition.

    Now it’s midnight and I need Chinese food. Dang it, woman.

  • CortneyTree

    I can’t wait to be pregnant so I can demand Chinese food at midnight…

    Lo Mein flavored Vodka does not sound all that appealing to me, but then I’m not much of a vodka drinker. We have some Merlot Vodka in the freezer that I would gladly send to you–my husband keeps trying to mix it with grape soda, and I’m tired of trying to convince him that just because Merlot started as grapes does not make these flavors compatible.

  • KatieKate

    you people are CRACKIN’. ME. UP.

    Thank you.

    It’sbeen a rough week. But I think we’re coming out of it as of today. Knock on a big ol’ piece of wood.

  • Becky Swann

    oh I would kill for vodka right now! with or without chinese food! Let me get this baby out and I am there!
    I love Rylie’s hair in this picture!!

  • thekooiet

    I drank some of Carlos’ grandpa’s secret recipe tequila in Puerto Nuevo. Ummm, that stuff burned all the way down. Secret family recipe’s are very good.

    (I’m glad we’re still alive from all the strange things we drank and ate.)

    I’ll help with the Chinese food too! I’m gonna hang back on the vodka though. I don’t handle my alcohol well. Just ask Carlos.

    Do you wanna move back to CA? San Diego’s nice…I really like that town…the weather’s nice.

    I can’t wait to see you!!!!!!

  • Jason and Jennifer Haynes

    Aren’t you glad you can’t remember what it felt like to break in all those new teeth! I remember having my wisdom teeth try to come in…between you and me, I was over-joyed to hear they had to be pulled instead of allowed to come in all the way! Poor poor little thing…maybe she would like some vodka too? (sorry, was that a totally non-mom thing to say)

    I hope she’s out of pain too…and off the subject, I checked out your etsy store today looking for a bag and instead spied the baby bib with the Dr. Seuss quote. That is adorable…of course everything that Sunday and BellaRose have from you are adorable, and Ellen’s baby pillow is precious, so why am I surprised. You’re super talented!

    …hope you two get some peace from the sad teeth dilemma…

  • Miss Laura

    Trace is right (earlier post)…that hair…get that girl some product!

  • Julie

    We are dealing with eye teeth right now too. I want my happy baby back!

  • Rachel

    Katie, I love your blog. Christan gave me the address and I have been following it for sometime. I have meant to leave a comment several times and just never did. Now I have joined the blogging world, and I am getting better at commenting on others’ blogs. It’s always nice to get comments!

    Rylie is too cute, and I am so glad that you are happy! Maybe one of these years we will be in TX at the same time. I was actually there the week before you got there. Hope you had a great time!

  • Jessica, Myron and Rylie

    ummmm, my comment simply did not appear…..what is this blogger up to.

    Sorry. I am so glad you are not alone! oh the agony!!! COme over here and they can be SAD together

talk to me

