Postcards from the Mother Country – 6

This is the postcard you mail once you get home from wherever you’ve been because you ran out of stamps and thought you’d just mail it from the airport but you didn’t because they changed the gate on you and you didn’t have time. And then, they delayed you for three hours because, as the pilot explained, “It was broke when [he] got it.”

And also, you left your phone in the airport.

And also, there is no Coke in the fridge.

Let me calm my Texas Hair down, unpack, upload 5 gazillion photos, sleep a little bit, and get back to you Monday.

Sheesh.

Remember that we are Easter people in a Good Friday world. Take a little time today to relax, meditate, re-evaluate, pray, jump up and down, cry, write… whatever you need to do. Come Sunday, this season of blah is officially over and we are moving on. Deal?

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

7 responses to “Postcards from the Mother Country – 6

  • thekooiet

    Woo HOO! You’re home! I left my phone in Chula Vista.

    I’m calling you!

  • CortneyTree

    It’s a DEAL.

    SPRING is HERE in Knoxville, I’m so happy I could cry.

    Get yourself some Cokes, darlin’. And while you’re out, go through a drive through, because there is nothing in the world that cannot be made better by a FOUNTAIN Coke.

  • Miss Laura

    Oh my gosh, I want Coke SO BAD but have to wait until Sunday. Gahhhh Lent is such a test of patience.

  • diane

    I like this, “We are Easter people in a Good Friday world.”

    I did some remembering yesterday. It was good. Very good.

    Sunday’s coming!!

  • the dicocco gang

    I would love to join you in leaving behind this season of blah. Today in church I made a list (because I can’t understand what anyone is saying…) I made a list of ways to find my soul… to give it wings so I can breathe again. It’s been a little tense lately. I’m with you. Today is a new world. It is Easter. Thanks for helping me remember. Love you!!

  • Anonymous

    Hey Kate!
    Hope you’re trip to the motherland was wonderful. Next year I’ll try my best to take you up on your free-loading offer. Can’t wait to hear all about your trip…might bring tears of jealosy…but I’ll still listen. :)See you soon!
    Kelly Buist

talk to me

