So.

Y’all like my boots? I knew you would. That’s why I share things with you. You are good Share-ers of Joy. The boy bought me an awesome pair of boots as a wedding present, and, wouldn’t you know it, our new puppy Abe chewed the toe off. So, on this trip, I begged and pleaded in true lover’s fashion asked him sweetly if I had earned a new pair what with cooking and cleaning and giving birth. I luuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuHUV them. I have worn them every day. Sometimes, yes, with my robe. And sometimes I dance.

Texas was everything it should be: warm, sunny, good company, and lots of cows. We’re getting cows, people. Longhorns, to be specific. We visited Panther Creek Ranch near Waco and chatted with Joe and Marin for half a day about these gentle giants. That afternoon pretty much sealed the deal for us. They can live for over 20 years. They’re friendly. They give birth without help. You can ride them. Their beef (if it comes to that) is the leanest of meats out there. They can survive on basically nothing (giving us leeway to go camping in the summers). And, eventually if you have a good mix, a nice old Texas Oil man will buy some for his front yard and they will pay for themselves. Read that again: A HOBBY THAT PAYS FOR ITSELF. So, we need some fence… a lot of fence, but we hope to have at least a couple by the next hayride. Giddyup. [more longhorn photos]

The good company part? Let me tell you that Texas has a certain breed of people: even the crazy ones are nice. It’s the drawl, perhaps. I was able to visit with basically everyone I know still living in Texas. A few even housed us since the Company Conference of 2008 Disaster had left us homeless for a week. To all of you you loved on us, ate with us (ohohoh, the eating… brisket at the Railhead, sandwhiches at Alvin Ord’s, pizza at F&As… sooo stinkin’ good), talked deep with us, and talked silly with us: Thank You. We love you and we miss you and You Do Texas Proud. And also, I miss you. A lot.

Sunday came and the Dodge Charger had to be returned Curt had to go back to work. Rylie and I stayed a bit longer… mostly so she could cry and not eat, but hey. Grandparents are fantastic helpers in those situations. We spent a lot of time with the goats. My parents raise Boer Goats, and man if they aren’t the friendliest animals on the planet! There were new babies just Rylie’s size. She hugged them and squeezed them and we stopped her before she put little bows on them. We’re fans of goats- or Goks! as Rylie calls them. Us leaving sent two more mammas into labor and now there are four more little ones running around. I think a couple of them should come up here to keep the longhorns company. Look at this photo! Is that not the cheesiest fake smile you’ve ever seen? Skipper needs a little work in that department. [more goat photos**]

My only regret is that we were a bit too early for the Bluebonnets. Someday we’ll have to make a special trip just for those beautiful wildflowers that literally stop traffic for two weeks. Parents everywhere drag their children into the highway medians to take a family photos. Those Texas People. I would never do that– put my child in harm’s way just for a photo*. Ridiculous.

God Bless Sonic.
It’s good to be home.
And, Home.
Talk to you soon.

*Um…ok, so maybe I would, like, say, with a herd of baby longhorns, but I would do it carefully and with love and with her Dad right there.
**Goat photos, along with the rest of Spring Break ’08, will be up as soon as our little dial-up train chugs up the internet uploading mountain.
About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

8 responses to “So.

  • CortneyTree

    1) I luuuuuhuuuv your boots too! I have always wanted real boots, the closest I have is a cute pair of Harley boots I bought for a motorcycle ride I never took, and I often dance in them and pair them with my pajamas. If I had your boots I would wear them to bed.

    2)What UP, Goats! I think I will simply *need* a goat one day.

    3)One year the Tennessee DOT decided to spend a little cash on beautification projects, and they planted hundreds of daffodil bulbs along the interstate exits that happen to be exits right by my new home. I had no idea. Spring in a new place (even if it’s just a few miles from your old place) is awesome. The daffodils I’m sure have nothin’ on the bluebonnets, but they have been stopping traffic, and Easter Sunday was a parade of folks in minivans ploppin’ kiddos in their Easter finest into those daffodils for pictures. So, yeah. I relate 😉

    3)I love going home. And then coming home. Isn’t it great to be able to say that?

  • Mandi

    If things ever go ka-put on your sewing/knitting/making-awesome homemade-things business, you should consider photography. You’ve really got a knack for capturing the beautiful moments of life in such an artistic way.

  • diane

    Beautiful, Kate. All of it.

    Hey…have you read “Animal, Vegetable, Miracle” by Barbara Kingsolver? I just finished it…I thought of you often. If you haven’t picked it up I’m sure you’d enjoy it. I listened to it on CD and LOVED it.

  • Miss Laura

    Love the boots, and being the Yank that I am, I’m not usually partial to cowboy boots – but those ones are GREAT. Reading your strikeouts always makes my day. You rock my world, Kate Mulder.

  • Becky Swann

    I’m obsessed with those goats they are soooo cute, love the cheesy fake smile too, it is AWESOME

  • Dan, Annie, Will and Mocha

    I love everything about this post. The boots, aahhhhhhh! Perfect.
    And the cows, so jealous. Goats, so jealous again.
    Not too familiar with Texas but you make it sound marvelous.
    And….the fake smile melts my heart.
    Not so sure about Sonic though, always kind of sketched out by the roller skating?
    Again, love the boots.
    I wear mine all the time too…and they are too big and used (which I think makes them even cooler)

  • KatieKate

    Diane, I have heasrd about this book now from several people… will have to add it to the list for Summer hammock reading.

    And Mandi, thanks! I’ve always loved to take photos but truly understand NOTHING about photography… lighting, etc. Nada. But my camera helps me out quite a bit 🙂

    And Becky, I will bring you a goat. I’ll swap you a painting for it.

    Off to find a new outfit my boots will make fabulous

  • sunday

    your pictures are always so great. Rylie has so much hair and just so cute.

talk to me

