field trips

I have a friend that I drag everywhere. I’m not really sure how she got this special place in my heart, but everytime I have something strange to do she’s the first person I call. So last week, I ordered me up some chicks from our local Townline Hatchery (because we are *ahem* low) and then immediately called Jami to tell her she was going on a field trip with me to pick them up. Rylie also swallowed her first penny, which was not planned but was also part of the adventure. Jami’s good for adventure.

Lydia didn’t even want to go, but we crammed her in the middle of Rylie and Hannah and took off anyway. On the way back to her house, chicks peeping happily at Jami’s feet, L yelled out, “I want to name one AMY!!!” Alright. America, here is Amy.

And here is Amy’s poop on L’s arm.

And here is my child… just before grabbing one by the leg and dumping it.

And here is Hannah looking at the ‘BADY CHEEKIN’!!!’

It was a flurry of activity, I tell ya. A flurry. Chicks are loud. And cute. And, they hop. And then they all bunch together in the corner. And then someone, usually the one in the middle, wants out and so the whole gaggle gets flustered and readjusts. Rinse, repeat, continue for 30 minutes.

And where is Rylie in all this adoration of Spring and life and simple joy? She is here… behind us… quietly babbling to herself and completely over the comotion in the little peep box. She’s real big on being flat right now. REAL BIG.

The End.

The couch is coming today between noon and 3pm. Love that. I can’t wait to show you. Think “Old Texas” and “Klingman’s Going Out of Business Sale” and “Matching Chair” and we’ll see on Monday if you’re close.
About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

12 responses to “field trips

  • CortneyTree

    OMG baby chicks–you seriously do not know how much I am in love with baby chicks right now. Yes, apparently it is a phase brought on by spring/Easter, and Matt thought he was safe from having to hear about or see any more baby chicks from me since Easter is over and then you go and BRING HOME A WHOLE BOX. I would ask you to name one after me, but then that one would totally get eaten by creatures this summer and we’d all have to be, “yeah, Cortney got EATEN” and I just can’t handle that.

    I am also lovin’ your flat kiddo.

    If I lived closer, I would so want to go on field trips with you and Jami.

    I’m rambling. It’s Thursday. I’m sorry.

  • KatieKate

    And we would take you, Cort. We would take you on our weird trips. You just never know. Sometimes it’s to go get the mop you’ve been looking for and sometimes it’s to an estate auation and sometimes it’s to a chick hatchery. Giddyup.

  • thekooiet

    I just read your post to Lydia – she giggled through the entire thing. So, did I of course!

    What a fun afternoon!

    My favorite part was when she handed you the box…I was thinking “that’s nice, but where’s the rest of them? Um, she ordered 25, not 3.” I didn’t know that 25 chickens could fit in a tiny box!

    Lydia can’t wait to come and see Amy.

  • sunday

    so what happened to the penny that Rylie ate? Should I leave to my imagination?
    I like your flat kid!
    those chicks are too cute, lets try to keep them alive though whill ya’. It is way to emotional on me when I hear of their demise, and how am I am supposed to explain that to BellaRose?

  • KatieKate

    We are still waiting for the penny to…uh…resurface, if you will.

    And no worries. The chicken will be living in my basement for a couple months while they grow and htey they’ll be turned loose in their very own chicken shoebox… complete with roof mesh to keep the hawk away 🙂

  • diane

    I am LAUGHING OUT LOUD at work, at that picture of Rylie.

    One can find me often doing the same thing after I eat too much.

    Rylie is “over the comotion.” love it.

    Katie: seriously, you and Barbara Kingsolver are one and the same person. You. Must. Read. It.

  • the bantam menace

    when the chickens run low, you know what to do

    you should totally name one “marshmallow”

  • Anonymous

    The wheels on the little bus go round and round ,,,,,,……..

  • Dan, Annie, Will and Mocha

    Love the flatness, luuuuuv it.
    The chicks are so cute, I’m sad we can’t have chicks because of the bears and whatever else.
    A good friend is great to have to call upon for random trips like that.
    Can’t wait to see the couch, love new furniture, especially a good deal.

  • The Cox Family

    I love your simple yet crazy fun life. I feel like we have a lot of randomness that happens to us:) Hope all is well with the penny…and you hopefully see it soon!! I love the she lays flat…precious! Whitney

  • Miss Christine

    Oh. My gosh. I seriously wish you would write a book. Along with your pictures, you have me laughing aloud, so I’m glad I’m not in a public place or people would be staring at me with funny looks on their faces. That’s how we roll at the big U-Mich.

    Chicks = absolutely adorable!

  • Jessica, Myron and Rylie

    I am laughing so hard. DO you know what WE got yesterday before I left….A NEW COUCH AND MATCHING SOFA!!!!! Also my Rylie lays like that when she is pooped but doesn’t want to tell to stop playing and go to bed…..

talk to me

