oy

Peanut and Mom are sick… the annoying, coughing, runny nose, head-cold kind of sick. We are not good company. In fact, Curt ran screaming out the door this morning and shortly afterwards Ry said her first sentence: “Mom, you are getting on my nerves.” And I said, “Right back at’cha, Kid.” But we will survive. It’s going to be sunny today, and that makes everything ok.

If you check in on TexasNorth through Bloglines, you don’t know about what’s happening these last couple weeks of April (’cause it’s over in the sidebar). Lucky for you, I’m a-gonna tell you. See, awhile ago… and I honestly don’t know how or when… I ran into Evidently and Wende. And I never left. I love this woman. She’s brilliant and funny and even ordained and I think if we were neighbors we would have sassy conversations all the time… and then go get some donuts and rent a convertible and drive down to Santa Barbara for the weekend. Amen.
But Wende’s also got a heart of gold and is having a fundraiser for her local Women’s Resource Center by donating 20% of her Etsy earnings the next 15 days. Well, how fabulous is that? And we’re jumping on to do the same over at TexasNorth. She’ll give you a list of other shops participating, so pop on over to her blog and browse a bit. If you have some birthdays coming up or some super-special friends who deserve an I Love You gift or you always wanted to buy but just haven’t had a good reason, I think we’ve got you covered. It’s a brilliant way to create and give back. Thank you for initiating it, Wende, and thank you to all of you who will participate by adding your shops to the list or by shopping a bit and contributing to the cause. Next time, it may be a need in your area!
And speaking of things I like:

my new mop, which has changed my nightmares about mopping into happy sunshine bliss time (or whatever).

this movie, which was on sale for $6.96. If you haven’t seen it in awhile, you simply must. It’s basically the funniest movie of all time. ALL TIME, I said.
these chickens, which are 2 weeks-old today. There is one who sleeps on top of the water jar. S/he’s awesome. They can fly now, which is… umm, interesting. A new chicken coop/mansion is in the works and will be ready for their coming-out party in a couple of weeks.

and these bibs, made by my sister-in-law, Stacy. People, I’m not kidding. If you need a cute all-the time bib because you have a drooler, buy one of mine. But if you’re having spaghetti and chocolate cake, you need one of these. OR two. They’re soft and vinyl and cover everything… and they’re only $10. Give me a break. Hello, affordable practical cuteness. I’ll take seven.

Alright. Go forth with your week and spread a little Joy. Order your garden seeds, do a little laundry, build some military attack vehicles, whatever floats your boat or pays the bills. And tell everyone I said HI!!!
About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

12 responses to “oy

  • Mandi

    Hope you guys feel better soon!

  • thekooiet

    Hannah banana is sick too. There is snot everywhere….yucky!

    That is SO AWESOME that you are joining with Wende in serving her community!

    I’m so glad you like your new mop…happy sunshine bliss time. 🙂 Nice.

    WoW! Have those chickens changed! Lydia can’t wait to come and see Amy.

    I’m off to the vet with two dogs and two girls…joy.

  • CortneyTree

    said in my best faux French accent: “My ass is twitching….you people make my ass twitch.”
    I loooooove that movie.

  • Miss Laura

    Ew. If I had any Lowell people right now, I’d bring you some Dr. Pepper or NyQuil or Vicodin. Alas. “Oh! Beautiful! Wish you were here.”

  • Jimmy

    I am in VA this week, I’ll bring warm weather, flowers, green trees and sun back with me maybe that will help the colds….Those of us in Ply and AA had ours and so I can pass the warm on.
    Jim

  • Lisa and Gary...

    Come to Scottsdale for some vitamin D. It’s 95 and you would be sweating. Maybe sweating would drive out the vile illness and your noses would dry up. Of course then, so would your hair, and your skin, and you’d be in dire need of a pedicure. But there would be no more “nose poop,” as I like to refer to it. Sometimes, sacrifices must be made.

    Be well.

    Lisa

  • diane

    I told everyone you said HI!
    And they looked at me like I am crazy.

    Maybe I am?

    I’ve always loved when you share a dialogue between you and Curt. I honestly cannot wait to hear what dialogues you will have/share with Ry Girl. I’m already on the edge of my seat.

  • sunday

    can i come to scotsdale too????
    those little chicks have changed a lot! so sorry you don’t feel well. what a stinker.

  • Dan, Annie, Will and Mocha

    I will go to her site, that’s awesome.
    Love your loves.
    Hope you two feel better soon.

  • wende

    Kate!! You rock. As you know, I’m in Seattle at the moment (The Dalai Lama was amazing!) and will be home soon–but I wanted to say, THANK YOU!

    I appreciate your willingness to support a charity that is so far from your home. The truth of domestic violence is that it doesn’t STAY in one community. Helping people in any community makes our world a BETTER place. And if I’ve learned anything from hanging out here at this conference (OH to hear thousands of people sing, “We are the seeds of compassion!!) is that when we hold the suffering of others we really ARE embodying compassion.

    So, for your willingness to walk this walk with me– Thank you so much. Blogging is such a “talk” reality—it feels TERRIFIC to put some muscle behind these words.

    And now, I’ll stop preaching.

    Kiss that baby for me.

  • Miss Laura

    I miss you. Do you feel better? And more importantly, are you interested in adopting a rabbit?

  • Rachel

    Hope you ladies feel better soon!

talk to me

