you don’t say

Wanted:
Someone to physically remind me to make sure I have my wallet
with me before I check out with $120 worth of groceries.

and

Someone to double check the diaper bag for a clean diaper
before I strip my child naked in a public bathroom.

There is no pay for these positions… only the peace of knowing you are
contributing to the sanity of a slightly scattered girl and those around her.

I am a walking adventure, people. With chickens in the basement and a dog that tries to shower with me every morning, I am doing well to simply appear normal to the masses when I go out in public.

Rylie and I continue to mend from our hacking-cough-mucho-snot cold. We have passed it on to Curt, and he is thrilled. Thank you for all your well-wishes… I read each one to Rylie and she said, “Gaaahk.” High praise, indeed. If you come over, she will play you a lively tune on the flute and your life will be better.

I am off to the basement to climb Mt. Laundry and continue purging for the Garage Sale of the Century. If I do not resurface by this evening for The Office, it is because the chickens have turned against me and literally flown their coop. Call for help immediately.

This weekend is Passover, folks… which we all celebrate whether Gentile or Jew. Take some time to reflect and give thanks for the many miracles in your life… and then gather with friends and celebrate with food and drink and popcicles. Make some memories, and then tell me about it. I’ll be waiting.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

6 responses to “you don’t say

  • sunday

    Oh my gosh!!! I just did that at the grocery store the other day. what in the world. i started to cold sweat, thankfully i had my checkbook! you are so fun.

  • Jimmy

    I was at a break in my VA meeting and read your post on my BB. Started to laugh hard enough the team around me wanted to know what was up. I showed them your post (hope you don’t mind) and now you are famous around the world…. If you weren’t already.
    Great tool to change the tone of a meeting thanks.
    Tell Curt I feel for him. Rose passed her cold around 2 weeks ago.

    jim

  • The Cox Family

    Kate, I have totally done this. Embarassing enough my friend I had talked to a couple of times was behind me…and paid for my $150 worth of groceries. I had to then go to her house and pay her that night. Can nothing be normal??? Whitney

  • Wende

    I think YOU are a miracle. And I’m glad I’ve found you. Or you me, because I can’t really remember how that all went down.

  • thekooiet

    Jeff just read this and laughed and then shook his head….he thinks we are the same person. Minus the chickens. 😉

  • diane

    Kate, I have been looking all over your blog for the Application. I cannot find it. Regardless, I would love to be your Helper. I can start June 9. Can you make it ’til then?

talk to me

