*sigh* This is perhaps the most boring post ever.

You missed us! Thank you for the sweet messages in our email box!!! Honestly, I missed you, too. It’s very strange, but I like this habit of mine. And I like you. Mwah! I was going to say that we are well, we are 99% healthy, we are chipper, we are funny and sweet and have bows in our hair… but my child is proving me wrong this morning with a fit to beat all.

The word here is meltdown.
S’ok. I’ve got nothin’ but time, Baby.

Look at that blurry face! Ry scored a fabric tunnel at the sale (see below). It was my ONLY purchase. I know. She was… um, very happy about it.

Things to tell you:

1. The Garage Sale of the Century in Z-Land was crazy. I’ve never seen anything like it. They block off streets and bring in port-a-potties AND carnival corn dogs. It’s a teensy bit insane. ‘Our’ house, which was a combo of 4 ladies schtuff, brought in well over a grand in cash. One fam’s gettin’ a pool, one fam’s gettin’ some landscaping… it was a good two days. The Mulder fam brought in an even hundred, which is a good day’s work if you ask me. Someone can pay me a hundred bucks to sit and eat corn dogs and be a cashier any day. I’m available.

I do have a blanket apology to all you moms out there whose children flipped out when they saw the plethora of carnival headbands and bath toys and bats that light up. You moms who bought things for your tired children for a quarter… that was all my stuff from my goofy college care-package days, and I am so sorry to have added to the junk in your house. But, it’s literally out of my hands now and I can’t say I’m too sad about that.

2. Wednesday is the last day to participate in the Spreading of Joy event by buying from Thriftygoodness.etsy.com or Texasnorth.etsy.com – and thank you to all of you who already have. You rock steady.

3. The Coop is in process. I repeat, the COOP is in process. The base is currently sitting in the pole barn waiting for siding. But, given The Boy’s knack for detail, he chalked-lined the whole layout on top of the plywood. I spent an hour yesterday opening my pretend-door, walking in the pretend-storage area, doling out pretend-feed, and checking for pretend-eggs. It was fun. Really.

and finally,

4. I ordered all my plants and seeds. I’m scared, Friends. I’ve never put in my own honest-to-goodness garden before and I’m afraid I’ll kill everything by Day 2. Please send any advice or stories my way. I’ll take anything. Anything. I want to be a good Farm Girl so very, very badly. A rockin’ farm girl. *sigh* I’m super excited about the shasta viburnum I bought and planted yesterday. Huge lazy branches… happy white flowers… pretty from above (like, from my kitchen window). Sounds like a winner to me. Watch it die die die tomorrow.

***This post has been brought to you by the letters V and Z, as in- Verizon Wireless Aircard. Mmmhmmm… that means no more dial-up and no more landline phone. For the three of you that actually used our landline phone, you must cease and desist. It will be disconnected today because Mamma Mulder simplified the bills.***

coming Thursday:
better, more spicy, content
Thank you for your patience.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

14 responses to “*sigh* This is perhaps the most boring post ever.

  • Jessica, Myron and Rylie

    That was not boring…..silly

  • Anonymous

    I had never planted flowers either but I learned and I have to say, not to brag, but my flower garden comes out beautiful!

    Of course, there are some things I had to learn by trial and error. Although, I buy the plants already started.

    Last year Dave cultivated the flower bed with dirt and potting soil (the feeding kind-sorry can’t remember the brand!). The beds of impatiens were gorgeous.

    Of course, when I was a lawn and garden cashier at Lowe’s, I learned lots of info which helped!

    Good luck..when you garden starts to grow, you will enjoy the reaps of your hard work!!

    CATHY

  • Anna

    Kate,
    I’m glad you had fun at your garage sale. Do they have a website or anything for the event? We’ve kicked around maybe trying to do something like that in Temple.

    I’m so impressed you are starting a garden. I have been thinking about trying to develop a green thumb, but not this year. I have realized I have too many hobbies or too many hobbies I want to have, so I am breaking them down and focusing on one thing at a time. This year I am trying to knit my stash of novelty yarns I am no longer intertested in into scarves I can give or sell, and next year I’m going to master photography, and the year after I’m going to learn to draw, so that puts gardening in, what, 2011? Unless your garden goes really, really well, and then I might bump it up a year or two. So write lots about it, okay?

    Also, this topic came up on another site I read, and there were lots of suggestions for gardening blogs/info. Might be of interest.
    http://tomatonation.com/?p=2256#comments

  • Jimmy

    We started organic gardening with a land conservency near Ann Arbor last year 20X20 space. It worked out very well. We both started seeds and bought plants. Learning from last year we are using a modified “Square Foot Gardening” by Mel Bartholomew web site http://www.squarefootgardening.com We had lots of tomatoes, basil, cukes, pumpkins, beets, squash and flowers. Great for wine and cheese parties.

  • diane

    As the Queen of Boring Posts I have to say that this post is decidedly Not Boring. Silly.

    I’m also planting a garden this summer and am equally nervous. Mine will be housed in an assortment of gi-normous pots on my patio. And I’m also going to try my hand at canning/freezing/drying. crazy. My Dad and I are buying a food dryer together!

  • Becky Swann

    I get all gardening advice from sunday, sadly not much will probably happen with my yard this year either…oh well I’m growing a more important this lately:)

  • Lisa and Gary...

    Plant strawberries. They’re prolific and you can hardly kill them if you try. Also, you’ll have bowls and bowls and bowls for yummy things like strawberry shortcake and, in your copious spare time, strawberry jam.

    Everything dies here in the desert. I call it God’s Brown Earth. Really, Katie, you can’t do much worse than that. πŸ™‚

    Lisa

  • thekooiet

    I agree….(with the above – not you πŸ™‚ ) this was not a boring post at all.

    You’ll do great with your garden…we’ll both be eating green beans until the cows come home, literally.

    Yay for the chicken coop! Lydia can’t wait to see Amy!

  • Miss Laura

    Not boring. Splendid. I was overjoyed with the first picture…partly because of Ry’s joy, but more so because her sweater…because I bought Lainey the exact same one on clearance this winter and it’s her absolute favorite. The girl’s getting quite a vanity complex.

  • Wende

    Glad you’re back. πŸ˜€

  • sunday

    if this is boring i NEVER want you reading my posts! Yeah for a garden. Gardening is all trial and error. Don’t be afraid to move something if it is not working. That is my advice. You have to figure out where things grow the best. I start a garden journal so I know, and I am always trying new things.

  • Dan, Annie, Will and Mocha

    That was not a boring post. It was interesting, factual. I liked it.
    ANything you write seems to just be magic.
    Glad you guys are better, I’m afraid of raw seeds too, hope it goes well, but no advice here, I did it fo rthe first time with wild flowers, haven’t seen any yet and we’ve had cold weather, so sad.

  • Anonymous

    lesseee…

    amend the soil. that means put some of those goodies that the vegetable plant used up back into it. compost, chicken poop, anything that’s not manmade chemicals

    rotate your crops. some use more nitrogen, some eat up other things. so don’t put the tomatoes in the same place every year. this should appeal to you as the garden plan gets to be created every year!

    straw, non-dyed mulch, or something else to cover the ground will make much more enjoyment due to the lack of weeds taking over. but not the black plastic stuff, i just found out that’s not so good.

    get yourself some plants too, so you have tomatoes before the end of august. just a few here and there to tide you over.

    greens and spinach don’t like heat. so, plant them around other things (tomato plants for example) so by the time the big plants get big enough to shade, they’ll protect your lettuce and it’ll be much happier.

    okay going on and on here, i’ll stop.
    guess that’s what happens when i stop lurking and decide to comment!
    holly bechiri

  • KatieKate

    Hello, Holly!
    Now, THAT was some fantastic advice. Thank you so much! Practical, simple… easy for me to get my little brain around. I like it.

talk to me

