Her future is so bright.

Um, hello… does this child not look like she’s 4 years old? Break my ever-lovin’ heart. I would like to announce that my picky eater has now decided that she likes to eat. Don’t get too excited… I can still count on one hand the particular foods she will eat, but she is now a chomper. I just feed her all the time. I think she has inherited my ‘grazing’ gene and will be one of those people that prefers to eat/snack all day long as opposed to 3 square meals a day. It’s fun. I do not understand how this child continues to grow with a diet of bread, cream cheese, peanut butter, and oreos… but she does indeed grow.

I would like to announce that she is not walking or (officially) talking yet at 17 months, and I am still ok with that. She has also regressed to an hour-long nap in the afternoon and I am not ok with that. Neither of us are very cute come 5pm, s’all I’m sayin’. Steer Clear.

Sometimes, when Spring pretends it’s here… like yesterday with it’s 65° weather… I leave the front door open. And sometimes, hours after the groceries are unpacked and the child is down for her fake-nap, I return to the living room and plop myself down on the Alamo Couch. And sometimes, after I plop myself down and take a deep breath, I look to my right and I see this…

Cheeky little devil. Outside you go. BARN CAT. He’s fully asleep and purring in that photo. I suppose if you’re gonna get in trouble, you might as well enjoy it to the full.

And speaking of trouble… I got a call from the Lowell Police Department Tuesday. They asked me if I was related to Curt Mulder. In fact, I am. It was a full 2 minutes before the lady clearly told me that they had his license and credit card. After I died and came back to life again, I said thank you and called The Boy to let him know he owed me his everlasting love and devotion for putting me through such a call. Sheesh.

But last night his mom called and I got to say, “Well, actually he’s outside plowing right now. Can he call you back when it’s dark?” and it was absolutely true and I was so happy. Because we’re sort of farmers, and I like that.

Shanna, Darling, your box of butterflies will be in the mail tomorrow. I just need a sturdy-but-washable strap for your bag. We’re off to see some real butterflies at the Gardens. Happy weekend to you all and to all a good life… we love you here at TexasNorth. We really do.
About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

14 responses to “Her future is so bright.

  • thekooiet

    Before I even started to read, I was thinking “what the hey? Did Rylie leap into the future about 3 years?” That photo is soooo darling!

    Awww, that kitty looks so cozy, you should let him stay there…it’s cold outside at night.

    I get my thing out of my nose today! Amen!

    AND Tulips are Blooming in Holland, Michigan!

  • Miss Laura

    I think she looks SEVEN. Good grief.

    When I read the words “Lowell Police Department” it evoked an image of the Andy Griffith Show. Don’t think that phone call wasn’t the most exciting thing that happened all day down at the station!

  • Jessica, Myron and Rylie

    Seriously.

    rylie jayne is such a grazer. I was so scared at first. But I guess bread, cream cheese, chips and salsa, noodles and peas, chedder cheese, berries, and tomatoes are doing her pretty good. But oh how I would love to go to the grocery and pick up meals…. Life would be so much easier. Oh well. As long as the kid eats.

    I thought that was a barn cat ( wink wink)

    A few years ago Myron was out on a bike ride. I was basking in the sun. I watched an ambulance scream by the house and only minutes later did the State Patrol call……to ask me to donate money. Girl, my heart STOPPED for 2.5 seconds.

    Yer kid is toooooocute

  • Lisa and Gary...

    Sounds like she has all the food groups about covered. Seriously, they’re all grazers. I don’t dare leave the house without a snack cup and something for her to drink. Lord have mercy if I get somewhere and I can’t produce a box of raisins, at the very least.

    Have you tried edamame? They are the greatest snack since sliced bread so, hey, she might actually eat them.

    Mine gets up at 5:45 a.m. EVERY. DAY. I feel your pain. Have fun at the garden.

    Lisa

  • Wende

    Outside plowing. LOVE THAT. 😀

  • CortneyTree

    Your gorgeous and funny child is just too much. I never ate ANYthing as a kid, and as we know, I turned out to be just fine, culinarily speaking (blogger is insisting that isn’t a word, but I’m saying yes). Mom used to have to pull out the ol’ “Papa bear bite, Momma bear bite” trick just to get me to eat a grilled cheese. She’ll come around 😉

  • KatieKate

    Y’all are cracking me up.

    If I try the Mamma Bear Bite thing, Ry will just turn up her nose, shove her chin into her shoulder and push the food out of the way. It’s quite cute… in a frustrating sort of way.

    I don’t know why it took me so long to just FEED HER ALL THE TIME. I always had snacks around, but it just never dawned on me to keep a peanutbutter sandwich in the car. She eats a mini-meal all the time now.

  • Shanna, Adam and Gracen

    woman, you make me cry. i heart the flutterbies!!

    i’ve taken to filling up icecube trays with random little snacks and dips like hummuns, peanut butter (we’re not allergic-yippy!!), pretzels, strawberries, peas, crackers, etc. it’s nice and pretty, and she can play while she eats throughout the day. We just have pretend sit down meals to get the habit of it, but actual consumption takes place anywhere but there.

    you can send rylie in the butterfly package if you wanna. she and g can take fake naps together..

  • KatieKate

    That is brilliant.
    Shanna is brilliant.

    I’m picturing the “conversations” during the fake naps…

    and if reruns of Dawson’s Creek and daquiris are involved fo rthe moms, I’m totally in.

  • Amy

    well texasnorth i guess i should introduce myself since i linked yer blog…i am amy…and somewhere somehow (probably aggieland) we are connected to some of the same people… well, if we weren’t strangers i think we’d be friends =) oh and i love the stuff you make. thanks for the shoutout and happy blogging

  • Rachel

    Katie, I can’t wait until Mondays and Thursdays to see the latest and the greatest at TexasNorth. I’m pretty sure I laugh out loud every time!

    I love the picture of Miss Rylie-too cute!

  • the dicocco gang

    hey dolly – looks like you are having as much luck with the barn cat as we are with the outside dog… who is currently snoring on my lap (waking up every few moments to reshift as she falls off… she is growing daily).

    and my heart stopped beating with the Lowell Police Department call too… even though I know it had to have a happy ending.. just for the sheer knowledge of where your mind started whirling just then.

    love you too

  • mr. chris

    eye heart u.

  • sunday

    i love that, out plowing. i love it b/c worth right now at 2:14pm is out plowing our garden and I am soon to join him. love the butterflies, and of course Rylie. BellaRose is still in the “i will eat anything and everything you put in from of me stage”.

talk to me

