the four one one

There are 42 million reasons why I love all of you, why I read about all of you, why I incessantly talk about all of you to people who do not know you. Most of those reasons are found in last Thursday’s comments. You absolutely rock my world.

Folks, a little crafting for you today. My little arthritic fingers have been busy over here… staying up late, watching Law and Order, buzzing away on some custom orders and new ideas. May I share?
In the middle of my insanity last week, I popped in City Knitting and bought two pair of circular knitting needles. But, not just any needles. Addi Turbo needles. Sometimes… ok, all the time… good tools make all the difference, right Jim?
I’ve been working on a canvas for a sweet lady in North Carolina, whose accent is simply charming. These canvases are 16×20 and flat, so they fit in picture frames nicely. Each scene is hand-cut from my fabric stash (Do those patterns look familiar, Sunday?). I fill in the ‘sky’ area with quotes and Scripture and messages from friends and family. I have really fun art pens for that part. (Miss Chris, I know you’d appreciate them.) This is the third canvas I’ve made. It’s the closest I come to drawing and designing free-hand, and I love that.
Celebration banners! These are prolly my favorite thing to make, though they are the most labor intensive. I love picking out the flag fabrics, cutting out their names, making the tape, thinking of the party when it will hang above a happy kiddo. I still have 4 of these to go, with a self-imposed deadline of August 1st.
And, I made a stamp! Why not? I’ve been working on a logo for awhile now, and finally came up with something I love. It says ‘TexasNorth KatieKate’ around the outside and ‘I made this for you.’ on the inside. I wanted it to look like an old passport stamp… typewriter font and round. This stamp will be used on packages, on cards, and on fabric as a label. You can make anything these days! Thank you, Microsoft Publisher.
And finally, a project for you: Freezer Paper Stenciling! Now, this has been around, um, forever… but I know some of you are new to the craft world, so I’ll put my version out there. It’s the easiest craft I know of. For a girl like me, who never got to Bedazzle anything, it’s heaven. You need: a razor blade, a cutting board, freezer paper (found right next to the aluminum foil in grocery store), some fabric paint, a little paintbrush or sponge, and your computer.

First, find a silhouette you love… think simple here: black and white, clear lines, etc. (Remember that photos, patterns, and fabrics are copyrighted. Don’t plan on selling anything you make unless it’s public domain art. If you find something you love, like this fairy by Karl Johnson, it’s proper to ask the artist before you save it to your computer… even for personal use. Be good.)

Now, transfer that photo or clip art to a Word document and adjust the size to whatever you’d like. Take that freezer paper and trim off a piece that’s 8.5 x 11 inches so it fits in your printer just like a regular sheet of paper. Ideally I like to print on the non-waxy side to avoid smudging, but I can never remember which way to put the paper in. Details, you know. Magic! You have your letters or your picture on your freezer paper and now you need to cut it out. Warning: this part is highly addictive. Grab your cutting board and cut out the figure carefully. This little lady was altered to hold a heart instead of a tooth. You’re going to take your cut-out and lay in on the fabric, waxy-side down. Press the paper with your medium-hot iron onto your fabric. This temporarily adheres the freezer paper to you fabric and gives you nice, crisp lines for painting. It’s genius, really. Sponge your paint on, let it dry, and then rip off the freezer paper. Love. It. This is a great project with kids (as long as mom cuts the picture out), or for baby presents, or on bags that need a little sprucing up, or on t-shirts… the possibilities are endless. Jami says if you run an iron over the finished product, your design will last forever. I never doubt Jami.

To recap: print, cut, press, and paint. It’s that easy.
I firmly believe I can finish the laundry today. I shall go.
Love to you all… and happy creating!
About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

18 responses to “the four one one

  • Mandi

    How did one person get so much talent and creativity?! You are amazing…and inspiring! I think I’d like to be you when I grow up!

  • KatieKate

    This from the woman who makes body scrubs, have 3 brilliant children, and is moving to Brazil. I stick my tongue out at you.

  • Jessica, Myron and Rylie

    WOW!!! I love the stamp and the stenciling and am REALLY excited about the banner now!!!!!! I am only sorry to say you will have to make another this fall but at least you have a little time until then !

  • sunday

    I LOVE my banner and I have not stopped bragging about it everyone who will listen to me. Thank you so much!!!! You are the neatest person I know. Love the canvas! I have not seen that one yet. I might have to request that one next. I saw your new look on etsy and I love it. I also love the stamp. you are just amazing. It really isn’t fair that you got all the talent!

  • KatieKate

    This from the world-champion equestrian, cook, and gardener. Last time I got on a horse I ended up facing backwards.

  • diane

    (i can’t wait to see what you do with the kikoy from Kenya…take pics of that for me, will ya?)

    And yes, you are a multi-talented woman. Own it, Kate!

  • Shanna, Adam and Gracen

    I think I’ve grown content with the idea that as long as you’re in my life, I need not worry with my lack of creativity. The banners ROCK. Gracen is mad that hers is now hanging on her wall and she’s not able to run through the house with it, attaching it to Harley. I’ll let you know what Avery thinks about it when she arrives later this afternoon. Yes, that is wishful thinking, I know, but a girl has to have a goal.

    And the fairy is beautiful!!

    And also, Walker Blue is a big brother!!

  • Miss Christine

    I’m mentioned in KatieKate’s blog! I feel so loved. 🙂 And yes… I love all sorts of writing implements. I used to be a big GellyRoll fan – remember those? Actually, I am apparently a glue fanatic recently. At the end of this semester at school, I realized I had 7 types of glue in my possession. Let’s not even get started on types of tape… 😉

    P.S. I hope the Law & Order you were watching was SVU instead of the original… much more exciting, and I love the characters! Although usually slightly more gruesome/disgusting.

  • thekooiet

    You are A-MAZING! OH! You got Addi Turbo needles!–the Cadillac knitting needles–iof I’m so jealous.

    My crafting has gone by the wayside since all this yard work has crept up on me….I like rainy days.

    I’m totally gonna let Abbi do the freezer paper project! She can decorate over the stains on her jeans.

    “Never doubt Jami.” That’s the overstatement of the year. Ha.

  • Becky Swann

    man you have been busy crafting, it looks like alot of fun, can I come watch law and order and help you craft it up?

  • thekooiet

    btw…I have no idea what iof means. total typo

  • The Bruces (but most likely the Mrs.)

    yes yes, must love those north carolina ladies and their accents. they (we) are quite nice, huh? i still stare at and read bec’s (the original?) everytime i am at her apartment. it hangs beside her bed in case she hadn’t bragged about you on that yet!

  • Lisa and Gary...

    Oh my gosh. I need you to come to Vacation Bible School with me the week of June 2. I volunteered. To help with snacks. And what do they go and do? They go and ask me if I can do crafts? Are they kidding? I’m sooooo not crafty. But, I think if you’ll come with me, I’ll be ok. Deal?

    It’s like 108 degrees today, so make sure you bring your sunblock.

    Every grateful,
    Lisa

  • EllieRichellie

    Hi. . green-eyed monster here. I want your banner. And your stamp. And your fairy stencil (my freezer paper is still in an unopened roll at the bottom of the fabric pile) I’m trying to pay a flattering compliment, really, but I’m covetting your stamp. 🙂 Ellie
    P.S. Very, very nice work.
    P.P.S. Still covetting the stamp. . .

  • Dan, Annie, Will and Mocha

    I love it, I’m doing it tom. I love a new project.
    Your stamp is absolutely wonderful. The banners I love, I can’t wait to see the one up at Br’s B day. the custom orders are flowing in it seems, so awesome.
    Now, the arthirtic fingers, I dread that day and I know it’s coming quickly.
    Everytime I check your blog I get inspired. Thank you.

  • ecky

    arent freezer paper stencils fun!?! i did a bunch on onesies that i love! that fairy is fabulous!

    i love the banners. i’ll have to order me up one when we get closer to Hazel’s birthday…i’ve got some time…too cute!

    you inspire me for sure! every time i read your blog i wish wish wish that we lived closer!
    ohhhh the trouble we’d get into….

  • Wende

    CRAFTASTIC!

    Yep, that’s all I got. Did you know cat pee kills brain cells? Well, it does.

  • Danny and Sarah

    It sounds easy, but for the artistically challenged something always goes wrong. I want to be first on the list to buy a market bag when they become available!

talk to me

