funnies

*I posted a letter to Rylie (that I did actually mail) yesterday about the results of her evaluation. I did this because so many of you were kind enough to ask and because I am terrified of having this conversation 84 ba-jillion times in person where I will cry and stutter and generally make a fool of myself. Words are so much easier here. Thank you… for every bit of everything that you are. A silly, but sincere, little flower for you.*

On to our regularly scheduled program…
some random photos, some hilarity, some conversation, and some cookin’

Saturday evening, before the hurricane hit West Michigan, the TexasNorth Mulders attended Abbi’s ballet recital. Curt watched from the seats while Rylie (aka: Crazy Horse that evening) and I quickly found ourselves banished to the hallway watching through the rectangular glass on the doors. She simply could not contain herself amongst the costumes, the music, the dancing. Peanut worked her way onto my shoulders and began a game of peek-a-boo… leaning way over and looking into my eyes upside down. With lightening speed, she then stuck her finger so far up my nose that it started to bleed. And that’s why we missed Abbi’s scene. Thank you for understanding.

And now, a conversation

Boy says: Ya know, Girl, I saw this goo in the skillet tonight and pasta in the pot and I was all like, Eh… boooooring. But, man… this is GOOD!

Girl gives Boy a sideways glance and wonders how in the world she ever fell in love with someone who doesn’t dig pasta or dream about stroganoff… I’m sorry, goo.

Girl studies Boy a moment and remembers that he is extrememly hot.

Venison Stroganoff
1# ground venison or beef
salt
pepper
garlic
2 white onions, chopped
1 cup sliced mushrooms (if it won’t cause an extra session of marital counseling)
3-5 T butter
2 cups of beef broth
3 T tomato paste
2/3 sour cream
pasta of choice

Start your pasta water. Salt and pepper your meat. In a large skillet, saute mushrooms and onions in the garlic and butter until tender. Add meat and continue until meat is browned. Remove from skillet and set aside. Add beef broth and tomato paste to skillet. Stir to make gravy, adding a little flour if necessary to thicken. Add meat mixture back to skillet and simmer until your pasta in finished. Add sour cream in just before serving… or heavy cream if, like me, you happened to be out.

Happy weekend, Friends. We love you here at TexasNorth! We reeeeeeeally do.

*photo above of Ry fending off the Reds. They are crazy friendly. I am not even kidding. I fully expect one of them to invite to tea soon.*

*PS! I totally forgot to tell you, but the smocks/aprons got some love over at Sew, Mama, Sew [click]!!! How fun is that!?*

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

8 responses to “funnies

  • CortneyTree

    I cannot express how much I love that photo. Rylie, crouched, the kitten, the chickens, the green green grass–it perfectly encapsulates what the Mulder Farm is like in my head, regardless of whether or not it’s reality. LOVE!

    Mushrooms are an ongoing marital issue here as well. I love them, and could probably eat them on anything. I even had a college roommate who said she hoped for my sake that it will be discovered that mushrooms ward off cancer or other such scary things. Matt *claims* to hate them (“they taste like dirt!”), except when I make a meal like stroganoff or sneak them into spaghetti sauce, and he devours them, and then says, “Well, I like *those* kind of mushrooms…” ARGH.

  • Nancy

    My grandson was diagnosed with Hypoplasia somethng or other. He was born without the cones in his eyes that allow the eyes to focus. That means that he is legally blind. He does wear glasses and they help tremendously, but I also wish I could print out the details and just hand them to people instead of having to explain over and over. Over and above his disability,he is such a sharp, smart 5 year old with such heart. I see that is Riley also in just the short time I have been reading your blog. She will do well….

  • Mandi

    I LOVE that picture of your brave Rylie and her fearless sidekick defending TexasNorth from the evil red hens! Just love it!

  • sunday

    i just left a comment on the last post b/c i just could not! you are awesome. worth does not like spaghetti, this hurts my Italian heart to the core and sometimes i just make it and he deals. i should not say he does not like spaghetti, but pasta. who is this man, doesn’t even like mac and cheese. oh can i be in the raffle. i sit here looking at the atlantic ocean thinking how wonderful it would be to have a bag that fits 4 sandy toys!

  • Lisa and Gary...

    My husband would choose vanilla over chocolate 10 times out of 10. I’m sure that’s grounds for something.

  • Becky Swann

    my favorite line was the part about him being extremely hot, this made me LOL on my stay at home mom type day

  • Miss Laura

    Thanks for the recipe. The “or beef” was what won me over 🙂

  • Miss Christine

    I am *sooo in love* with that photo of Rylie and the chickens! And with the little cat by her side as her loyal sidekick. It’s like something out of a magical children’s picture book! 🙂

talk to me

