treasures

There was more to my banner day a couple weeks ago… it just took me awhile to get it home. Sauntering out of the salon, my eyes were immediately drawn to the antique store across the way… and, you know, my car just sort of ended up in the back parking lot. They always have these gorgeous, refurbished gliders inside selling for over $300… but this one, oh this one, was just coming off the truck from an estate sale. They hadn’t touched it yet. I ran inside with my arms a-flappin’ and declared that it was mine AS IS and give me a deal I’m having a really good day! And, shock of the world, they did. I walked away with a $100 glider that badly needs a date with a wire brush and some primer, but oh how I love thee. These are the surprises I save my etsy money for. Now I don’t have to covet Sunday’s gorgeous porch heirloom anymore. Well, not as much, I should say.
It reminds me of grandmother’s porch and her mother’s porch… how we’d sit with our jelly jars of Mountain Dew and watch the caterpillars on their exodus. That metal gliding sound, those plastic cushions… it says Summer to me. This one… the one my kid(s) will remember… even has legs on the top so it can fold down like a futon. Brilliant. I see some porch-campouts in our future after I tackle some new cushions.

After a few weeks of novel-length posts, we’ll keep this one short. I know we all have laundry and groceries to get to. I’ve got a sicky kid to love on. Look at her all big on the swing this weekend!

Thursday is the TexasNorth Reader Appreciation Raffle! Don’t forget to leave you name in the comments of this post or this one to be included… or even today’s. I’ll count all three and each person will be entered once. My lovely assistant will help me draw on Wednesday evening for gifts… so comment by 6pm, please, as she needs her beauty sleep.

Love to you all (truly)… get your week started and don’t forget the lemonade!!!

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

19 responses to “treasures

  • JVK

    thanks for letting us just drop by unannounced last night and for feeding us. where else can you see longhorns and drive a bulldozer…
    fun times had by all.
    jvk

  • Jessica, Myron and Rylie

    Oh the joy!
    I cant wait to see the finished product. What fun you will have!

  • ecky

    i love treasures like that! what a score!!!!!!
    i am jealous…but i guess first i need a porch before i can worry about porch rockers.

    cant wait to see the magic you work!

  • Meg

    Me in on raffle please!!!!!!! Meg

  • Miss Laura

    I want in, if I’m not already…lemme guess, is it two iPhones with a coupon to cancel my current Sprint contract? I bet it is!

  • kateohkatie

    That glider is AMAZING! Love it!

    I can’t remember if I entered already or not, so, here it is 🙂

  • sunday

    i BETTER win! does that threat help at all? LOVE the glider. it is wonderful, and it turns into a futon, ours does not do that! so jealous. we also don’t have cushions either so you have us beat again. rylis is so sweet with her little pony tail on top of her head.

  • Nancy

    I remember summer sleep outs when I was younger (much younger). We slept on chaise lounge chairs in our backyards until we got scared around 11pm and then would run screaming into the house….we never did make it all night, LOL

  • EllieRichellie

    While I love your vintage glider (congrats.. .reuse being the friendliest way to go green), I only have eyes for Rylie, sportin’ the pony-on-top and jeans w/ knee patches. THAT is what bein’ a kid is about. How’s that strawberry jam?

  • Lisa and Gary...

    So nostalgic. I love it. I’d sit in that ol’ glider late at night and listen to the crickets. Although, I just imagined scalding my arm on it out here in the desert…even in the shade, where it’s 100-gazillion degrees right now.

    But, really? What I loved more than the glider? Were the chickens just milling around in the background. Beautiful.

    Lisa

  • mr. chris

    oooooohhh raffles? how can i resist?!

  • Jimmy

    The glider would fit right next to the cedar swing that overlooks the lake. But I bet it would rust, so I guess you can keep it… But I can so remember sleeping on one at my Grandma Rose’s house. Thanks for sharing.

    Jim

  • Grace

    What do we win in the raffle? Not that it really matters, because raffles are fun, no matter what! Make sure and enter my name!!!

  • KatieKate

    No purchase necessary to win the raffle! It’s simply my way of saying hello, cleaning out my fabric stash, playing with beads, trying some new patterns and mostly just saying, “Hello, it’s been SO nice to meet you over the past three years!”

    Jim and Nancy… I there is plenty of room for you to come over and campout like the good ol’ days. I can remember doing that at home on those terrible plastic woven lounge chairs! WHY did we think that was a better idea than just sleeping on the ground???

  • Stacy

    Kate is your packing done for the weekend? Mine is not!!! So a toast to you and your new couch to summer vacations and procrastinating packing. (I’m trying real hard today to get ready) We will be out soon to see the cows. The Pursifull’s

  • thad

    keegan, samantha, & maggie all want to be part of the raffle! oh, and by the way, we were too busy at the wedding for a family picture, but for you kate, we will see what we can do this weekend.

  • Prayer Warrior

    Kate you barely know me, but I went to school with Curt and found your blog through Thad and Michelle. I LOVE reading your posts! I LOL all the time. Thanks for sharing so much of your life! Wanted to let you know that we are thinking and praying for you as we remember as you continue to walk down the path with Rylie.
    Brittany (Huyser) Smith, Upland, IN (Taylor University)

  • Becky Swann

    That is so fun I love treasures! I am very happy for the recent find! I would fill my whole house with stuff like that!

  • Chelsey Meek

    Raffle me!

    p.s. LOVE the porch decor

talk to me

