uh… Mother Nature called

And, She wasn’t happy.

Holy cabbage, people. Last Wednesday was craaaaaaaaa-ZY with an emphasis on spooky. We returned last night to a house restored with power. Our neighbors said it came on Saturday morning. Thanks to new appliances with excellent seal-age, all our meat in the freezer was still in fine shape… even the deer head. We were very lucky. As Laura, dear Laura, mentioned, our neighbors, The Walkers, were not so lucky. We walked over last night after unloading the car to check in and invite them over for dinner. Apple pie heals, you know. She mentioned she was able to get a couple photo albums out, which is truly remarkable. I’ve never seen or heard anything like this storm, folks. The sound that was their house exploding into flames still completely weirds me out. It could have been any of us. I wake up to wonder everyday (The Secret Life of Bees).
We left for Brimley late Thursday evening and camped the holiday away… purposely without electricity. My phone was dead before we hit the highway. It was perfect, amazing, lovely, and restful. But we can talk about that another time. Let’s get on with the TexasNorth Reader Appreciation Raffle, eh?
I had hoped to have little gifts for everyone, but time and electricity got away from me. My lovely assistant had to go to bed early last night due to a severe case of ‘being off schedule.’ That child was another storm in the making. The Boy helped me out instead… shirt-less and stinky from camping all weekend. I wanted pretty pictures of drawing out the winner’s names like all the famous blogs do, but honestly, I don’t think any of us need to see Camping Boy this early in the morning.
Without further ado…
silly little flowers go to Janna, Shanna, Elly C., Laura, Grace, KMoore, Chelsey, and Diane (Oh how I love these little wire flowers… they are so great for smiles. Keep it on your shelf or maybe tie it to a gift or leave it on a porch as a surprise for a friend who needs a little pick-me-up. You’ll all be receiving a different one.)
the knit market bag goes to Rebecca, friend of Jo’s who stalks no more (Yay!!! I am so proud of this bag and I am so happy for it to have a good, friendly home!)
Cathy M. wins a brown market bag (Cathy’s husband and my father were best friends in high school, and, from what I hear, Dave got Dad in a lot of trouble… or is it the other way around?)

and Erica S. wins the apron (which is so perfect for you, I cannot even stand it… made from an old yellow and brown thrifted sheet!!!)

So, happy Third Blogging Anniversary to me! Thank you for helping me celebrate!!! This little journal of mine has brought me more joy than I could have ever imagined. It has also saves me millions in therapy. My husband and child… and every grocery store clerk within 50 miles… thank you for that. Thank you for reading, for encouraging, for laughing, and for hoping with me! Really. Thank you.
Loving you all so much from TexasNorth…
KatieKate
P.S. Cathy, Grace, and Rebecca… I need your mailing address for your lovelies! You can send it to katiemulderATgmailDOTcom
About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

20 responses to “uh… Mother Nature called

  • The VanderPloeg's

    Sad for me – I somehow missed the drawing!!! I guess some times though I faithfully read Texas North – I read too quickly.

    Happy 3rd Anniversary Kate. You truly have made my life better through your blog. I love your writing, your stories, and your heart.

    I solemnly promise to read more carefully from now on!

    love you. Jo.

  • Kristen

    yeah! yeah! yeah! i won something in a life where i never really win things! thanks kate for making my day!

  • Janna

    allrrriiigghhhhtttt! πŸ™‚ little things do make me so happy. i’m pretty sure i have one or two little ones who will covet my flower. (lauren especially; aron teases that she’s going to be a botanist when she grows up.)

    so. three years of blogging?? is that even possible? time, it does a-fly. well, you certainly brighten up my mondays and thursdays. (and my life, too, dear. sing it with me.)

    missing you.

  • KatieKate

    ‘s not your fault, Jo… I’m loooooong on chatter πŸ™‚

  • sunday

    aahh man!!! i NEVER win. do you see it,little Sunday kicking her feet in the dirt, and stomping away, a very BAD loser I am!! so jealous to all you winners. I am pretty sure i did not see my name in the heep and i am pretty sure you are going to have to do a redo!
    LOVE the knit market bags. might just have to buy one! you are awesome. you have helped ME a lot in therapy costs as well. thank you very much.

  • Anonymous

    Oh wow! Thanks Katie! Its my lucky day!!

    Oh btw, I think Dave and your Dad worked together from the stories I’ve heard. I especially like the one with the tomatoes and the school bus. Have you heard that one?

    Cathy

  • Anonymous

    Happy 3rd Blogging Anniversary!
    Carley

  • Amanda

    The best part of this post by far is your inclusion of the phrase “Holy cabbage.”

    Haaaaaaa! I’m going to use it myself like all the time now.

    Holy Cabbage. Holy Cabbage. Holy Cabbage.

  • ecky

    yipppeeee! i won i won i won!
    and you are right…the yellow and brown will be perfect. i cant wait to apron away!!!

    glad you had a nice weekend afterall!

  • Miss Laura

    I win! I win the game! Woohoo! That made my day. And it wasn’t a good day, so thank you πŸ™‚

  • Jessica, Myron and Rylie

    POO, I wanted to win. Oh well there is always next year.

    Tou dont have to tell me about stinky camping boy or SERIOUSLY off schedule baby girl….SERIOUSLY!!!

    Glad you had fun. Glad yer house didnt blow up.

  • EllieRichellie

    Monday and Thursday, huh? Since I check in at the virtual TexasNorth every day, you would have thought I’d catch on by now. Sheesh. How cute are you modeling the yellow apron.. .lucky girl, that Erica S.
    Hope I can make it 3 years.
    Ellie

  • Jimmy

    Brimley is one of my fav parks. We camped there as a kid. Did you get to Whitefish point? Lots of agates ther that my dad would polish.

  • thekooiet

    Last time we were at Whitefish Point we couldn’t find any agates. I don’t know if we really knew what were were looking at! We’ll be on the hunt at the Porcupine Mts. this year.

    Kate, your market bag turned out AWESOME! You are beyond believe talented. Do you have your pattern written down? I’d love to attempt to make one.

  • Chelsey Meek

    I won! I won! I won! I’m soooo happy!!!

    oh, yeah…sorry ’bout the storm.

  • Wende

    Oh, happy 3rd! πŸ˜€ (and those “wire flowers” look suspiciously like slinkies. Just sayin’)

  • Shanna Mac

    really?!?!? i won?!?!?! heck yeah!! gracias, gracias, gracias.

    and i think i may need to commission one of those market bags–SUPER fancy!!

  • Rebecca

    YEAH! YEAH! YEAH!! I am so excited about the market bag. Now I can say I won something. How fabulous is that?
    Thanks, KatieKate from Texas North.

  • Stacy

    Bummer Kate I didn’t win . . . apparently my neighbors don’t think the 4th of july is over as there is a full blown display in my backyard. I’m so glad to hear that the camping was relaxing!!!! We survived too and now that baby is a crying thanks to my 50 year old 18 year old mature neighbor and his fireworks. Also note it is 9:56 and Bill is still out mowing the grass in the dark . . . I guess I might see a neat pattern in the grass tomorrow. Hello and Goodnight. Stacy

  • Dan, Annie, Will and Mocha

    So glad you all are safe and are able to make apple pie for your neighbors. Love all the lovlies. Love the reference to secret life of bees.
    You are too cute, you know that.
    I love your hair cut too.
    happy anniversary.
    O good, I put something special in the mail for you today, hmmmm? maybe you remember what you should be getting from me for a certain vest?

talk to me

