a smattering

As mentioned before, we spent the 4th of July up North in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan camping. We’re a serious tent-camping family, without a doubt. It was an amazing weekend… absolutely gorgeous weather, a warm lake to swim in, fireworks, big boats, lots and lots of sand. The only very sad part is the 14 foot-high pile of laundry in my basement mocking me.

Last night, I tricked a bunch of musicians and their families into coming to TexasNorth for some burgers and a wagon ride. We’re a funny group, if I do say so myself. I wouldn’t trade a single one of you. Trace, you and yours were unbelievably missed. I seem to only take pictures of kiddos these days… their faces in Summer tell such a perfect story. Here’s Miss Jubilee. Is she not everything her name implies?
Summers here (or anywhere, I suppose) are magical to me. Fireflies and tall grass and pale pale blue twilight sky. It stays light out well past 10pm here at TexasNorth. That makes for some tired eyes in the morning, but I think it’s well worth it. Thank you for playing with us, Friends. We love you so so very much.
Don’t hate me forever, but I’ve got a date with Lyle tonight (and The Boy). I’ll be wearing my boots, of course, and inviting Lyle over for apple pie. I’ll let’cha know. Y’all have a good weekend, ya hear? Talk to me soon.
About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

19 responses to “a smattering

  • CortneyTree

    Okay, not *forever*, fine, but I might hate on you a bit today…

    I, on the other hand, may be going to see Weird Al next weekend. TRY TO CONTAIN YOUR JEALOUSY, WORLD.

  • sunday

    don’t you just love that book! what a great read for summer. man your apple pie must be insanely good, it cures neighbor fights, and invites stars into your home. i gotta have some of this. you are so much fun.

  • amy

    oh Secret Life of Bees is such a great book….enjoy.
    Sounds like a fun little camping trip! We like camping too, but i hesitate to take 2 small kids in a tent? It could be really fun or absolutely horrible….

  • Miss Christine

    Is that one of those “drip wet sand from above” sand castles? I love those! When I was about 7 or 8 my aunt, who was then just my uncle’s girlfriend, taught us to make those. That pretty much sealed the deal in my book; I’m pretty sure that’s why he ended up marrying her. 🙂

  • KatieKate

    We call them Dribble Castles 🙂 I love them.

    And this is my 3rd or 4th read of The Secret Life of Bees if you count an audio book as one of them. Man, I love that book. It is so great. So great.

  • thekooiet

    I love those pictures of Jubilee, and yes, her name fits her very, very well!

    We could not have had a more perfect evening…the company and weather was amazing. Fireflies and lemonade…I heart Michigan summers.

    I need to read that book! I’m headed to the library before the beach…and ignoring the clothes that have been sitting in the drier for the last 3 days. Sooner or later I’ll wonder where that shirt went, but for now…nah.

  • Amanda

    Lyle Lovett?!? How jealous am I!

    Have fun with Lyle and The Boy and the boots.

  • diane

    NOoooooooooooo…I missed it!
    I KNEW Lyle was coming to FMG and I totally forgot to follow-up on it!

    OH I AM SO MAD!

  • the dicocco gang

    awwww. thanks for missing me.
    My question is this. How in the world do kids grow so quickly? Look at that Jubilee! AND Ry!!! Man. I need to come home.

  • Janna

    i just want to taunt you by telling you that something is in the mail for you…enjoy lyle and those awesome boots tonight. 🙂

  • Lisa

    Lyle Lovett!! Oh, yeah, those boots were made for stompin’. Enjoy the show.

    Lisa

  • sunday

    are you going to put your market bag (the mesh one) on the market. i am still being a bad loser! i see those as some wonderful christmas presents!

  • KatieKate

    You’re so funny, Sun. I WILL be making more of those… it just took longer than expected. Summer is a dumb time for dealines. But Christmas is a good dealine 🙂 That’s possible.

  • CortneyTree

    Yes I would like to put in a request for a market bag (tan, beige, taupe, or a subtle green, I think) for Christmas purchase. I will be purchasing it for myself, but nonetheless, it will be for Christmas 😉

  • Jimmy

    Kate looks like you should start a business, as if you have time.

  • KatieKate

    Hey, I’m ALL ABOUT the custom requets. Bring it on.

  • Wende

    Oh, that name! It’s perfect for her. She’s darling.

    Kiss your sweetie-heart girl, for me, m’kay?

    I’m off to tackle the pit that is my house. You know, after I dally in my studio. Or sit in the sun. Or, or, or, . . .

  • Dan, Annie, Will and Mocha

    Ahhhh Lyle, love him.
    You are too cute…and that jubilee….and miss rylie.

  • Chelsey Meek

    Oh…”The Secret Life…” what an amazing place to hide for a bit.

talk to me

