let me rock your world a bit

I do not, in fact, scrapbook. I don’t. I know you don’t believe me. I know you think this would be a perfect pastime/passion/outlet for me. I know you think I am missing out on MAKING. MEMORIES. CREATIVE. FOREVER. But, the truth is, I am not a scrapbooker. I do not attend Crop-alongs. I do not own letter templates. My only stickers are leftover from my mother’s desk and have little smiley faces and A+! on them… not exactly scrapbook material.

I hope we can still be friends.

I do love women who scrapbook, though. Their pages are ahhhh-mazing and so beautiful and so creative. I envy their special pens. I love their cutouts. I’ve been known to shed a tear or two over a poignant page. I bet their chicken soup heals sickness quicker than mine.

[complete and total sidebar: When I first moved to Michigan, I was a nanny… first for a family of 5 kiddos and then to a family of 4 kiddos. The second family added ‘minor scrapbooking’ to my duties since all of the children attended at least a half-day of school. All her photographs were separated for each child and organized chronologically. I could use any and all of her supplies. My job was to simply get the pages in the book, leaving space for her to journal later. Basically, I was in charge of layout and matting. Not bad. Back in the day, I was paid $6 per whole page (front and back). Fortunately my lack-of-desired-scrapbook-perfection paid off here, as the goal was not to create award-winning backdrops and glitter pages… she simply wanted books cute and finished before the children graduated. I offer this story as inspiration for some of you out there living near or with affluent families and are looking for fun/creative/simple work you can do at home. This would be it. Put up some business cards in the women’s room at the gym and at the Country Club pool and you’ll be raking in $10 per page plus supplies in no time.]

Here are some other things you’ll be surprised to know:
I was fluent in German as a child.
I do not enjoy pastries.
I love me some heavy metal.

Of the vehicle variety, that is.

This past weekend was the company party, and off-years it’s held at the local race track. I love the races. I love the smell. I love the people. I love the awful popcorn. I love how they have a local person sing the anthem and how people actually sing along. I love the way the chaplain prays for the drivers and the soldiers abroad. I love the way Dads sit with their boys. I love that the drivers are so passionate about their hobby/work. I’m a fan.

I hope we can still be friends.

The Boy works with his brother-in-law, so company parties are a bit of a family affair for us. The youngest kiddos stayed home for the night, including Ry, but H and M came out for the show. The girls projected winners for every race, of course, and Marli was supremely dedicated to her drivers. Every time her car went around, she whooped and gave the driver a double peace sign. Love that.

Peace out.
About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

15 responses to “let me rock your world a bit

  • sunday

    i am not a scrapbooker either. i have tons of photo albums, but nothing really creative inside but the photography. when you first said heavy metal i had to re read it, b/c i could not imagine you and rylie at home listening to heavy metal. race cars make much more sense to me!

  • CortneyTree

    Non-scrap-bookers, unite!

    I have to admit, I just *can’t* get into it. I love what I see others create, and I love that the supplies get more and more amazing every time I stroll past them in a craft store, but, nope, it’s just not for me. I have a theory about that but I won’t expound on it here. Suffice it to say that I will never really be a scrapbookin’ mommma, yet another disappointment my kids will just have to live with. But I WILL do things like write a family cookbook, and save a copy for them to take to college with them one day. So, you know, it’s all a wash in the end, right?

    Let’s hope…

  • diane

    Your Racetrack story reminds me of going to the County Fair every year as a kid. And I think I went to ALL the area County Fairs…not just Ottawa. My uncle raced tractors and oh how I loved every moment of it: the dirt, the smells, the strange comfort of being there, and the food.

    I don’t scrapbook either. Probably because I don’t take pictures.

  • ecky

    scrapbookin’…not me either.
    i dont even have time to put photos into albums. my wedding pictures are still sitting in boxes and bags waiting…and it’s been over 4 years. and now we dont even print out pictures!
    i did go to a scrapbookin party once. i won some pretty cardstock. i use it to make cards.

    glad you got the package! : )
    finally…

  • Jimmy

    And you worry why…. you and all your friends are so talented it scares me. Heather and Denise quilt, scrap, sew and generally are so talented i think because they have to make up for me as I am so not.
    Denise will agree that even stickman are behond me. Thank God I can cook, but I think that’s because I like to eat. One day I will demonstrate.

  • Julie

    I used to scrapbook, but it made such a mess and I just lost interest a little while back. But, I love to go back and look at the albums. They are priceless and one of these days I will do one for my daughter……it really is a shame that my boys both have three huge, detailed 12×12 scrapbooks each, while Annabelle has a 1/2 finished one…….

  • Jessica, Myron and Rylie

    I love to scrapbook but certainly don’t have the time these days. You do so much other crafty fun stuff who cares if you dont scrapbook!!

  • EllieRichellie

    Ok. . .I have to catch my breath and dry my tears of laughter after having read only the first paragraph of this post. My sister sometimes likes to tell me that something is “scraptastic” in that sarcastic way I know and love. You have a true gift for punctuation and capitalization. I’m better now. .going back to read the rest . .

  • KatieKate

    scraptastic

    That just may kill me. It keeps popping up in my mind and I keep laughing out loud. I cannot handle it.

  • sarah bursley mcnamara

    Um, squeeze me, did you say German?? Can the weirdness get a little weirder? Shout out to BK ’77-’80 (Bad Kreuznach, FRG, 8th ID, baby– moved back to States when I was 4. Took forever to learn how to say “Gimme my apple juice. Seriously. Now.” in English instead of German. To boot, I’ve been defending my pronunciation of Gummi Bears– Goo-mee, thankyouverymuch– ever since.) You are crackin’ me UP, sistah!!

  • Dan, Annie, Will and Mocha

    don’t scrapook either, what a relief to get that out. Thanks for the release.
    Love learning these things about you. Wow, that’s a lot of kids to be the nanny, don’t think I’d of survived that one.
    German, wow.

  • Becky Swann

    I used to make photo albums with stuff I cut out of magizenes in highschool, we will call those “poor man’s scrapbooks”,but I find my creative avenues are everchanging and I could never commit to such a big task like that

  • KatieKate

    It DOES feel goo dto get that out there, doesn’t it Annie?

    WE’RE NOT SCRAPBOOKERS! LOVE US ANYWAY!!!

    No more lies.

  • thekooiet

    I used to scrapbook…furiously.

    And I haven’t picked up my scissors, stickers, die cuts, or pretty paper for 3 years now. Abbi has a beautiful book, even Seth….Lydia’s is lacking, and Hannah’s is pretty much non existent.

    Thank God for flickr.

    This is the first time that I’ll admit…I’m never doing it again.

    Sorry Hannah. I still love you lots.

  • Chelsey Meek

    Confessional: I used to enjoy scrapbooking. Now I love blogging. Bye bye scrapbooks.

talk to me

