lest you call me a tease…

Here is the dress!

Thanks for all your sweet comments about it Monday… there are more photos over on flickr.

You will be miffed when I tell you how simple it was. It’s important for you to remember that I am both lazy AND creative… and sometimes that combo just works!

I bought 2 yards of apron fabric for $3 a yard. The ridiculously cute and old-fashioned cherry trim was already on the fabric. I measured around me a little less than twice and cut it. I hemmed the top and the bottom, and then I sewed up the back (think large tube here). I wound some elastic thread on my bobbin and sewed for 7″ to make the bodice. A couple of strategically placed straps later, and I am good to go.

I have worn this every. day. for a week now. I’ve never made anything that I would actually wear out and about- this is very exciting to me. I will be making one for every day. OOOOOOOOOh, how cute would that be? Days Of the Week smocked dresses? Break my hearrrrrrt. Ellie, I blame you for this new surge in my sewing courage and productivity. Thank you.

And now, Dear Sweet Readers, I am off. Actually… as we speak I am WAY way way up North in the Porcupine Mountains camping my little heart out. Please forgive me for not answering the comments… I have no phone or computer for the next week. I’m probably sitting in a tree somewhere fake-blogging and going through withdrawal. I will miss you (and Google) terribly.

See you August 18th! Y’all be good now, ya hear?

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

13 responses to “lest you call me a tease…

  • Anonymous

    Love the dress! It looks so comfy. Have a good week camping.

    Seriously, I need to get a life! I kept thinking yesterday was Thursday and kept checking the blog and wondered where you were! Consider it a compliment though as I love reading your adventures.

    Cathy

  • CortneyTree

    I’m so happy we’re going on vacation at the same time so I don’t have to feel like I’m missing out on anything 🙂 Florida is calling and I will be gone until the 18th as well, trying to get over the trauma of continuously thinking that each day this week was a day later than it was. I wish I had already left…

  • Dan, Annie, Will and Mocha

    It’s awesome, not so easy, but awesome.
    so creative are you that it amazes me.
    Hope your time in the woods is restoring.

  • sunday

    i hardly think that you are lazy or that the dress was easy to make. this is coming from someone who seriously cannot even sew a button. you putting that dress up in the shop? have so much fun camping!

  • The VanderPloeg's

    I am insanely jealous of your lazy creativeness. I need to set up my machine and learn me to sew – can I hire you?

    have a great time camping. we too will be in vay-kay this week.

    love you kate!

    jo

  • Mandi

    Beautiful! Just beautiful!

    Have fun on your vacation!

  • Jessica, Myron and Rylie

    Ohhhhh I love this dress. You need to make some and sell them. I will buy. I have worn a dress everyday for two weeks. I love it.

    Have fun camping. WE go the following week. Two weeks without TN….what will life be like!

  • diane

    I made an eerily similar dress, but I bought it pre-smocked! All I had to do was wrap it around me once for measuring…then I sewed up a seam, added ribbon to the bottom and made straps! VIOLA!

  • ~ Kim ~

    Found you through SMS blog. Love the dress, particularly the fabric. I’ve tried to smock before but will give it another go for our summer. Great job.

  • Miss Laura

    You blog on August 18, and I’ll comment from an airport. I know not which one…could be GR. Could be O’Hare. Could be Dusseldorf. Could be Heathrow.

    Sorry. I have to live it up. It’s all I’ve got, Kate. All I’ve got.

    And WHY did you not wear that dress to Book Club???

  • Chelsey Meek

    I WANT ONE…NO, THREE.

  • EllieRichellie

    What an insane compliment!! I will happily take the blame, but never the credit: You’ve got courage and productivity comin’ out your. . . pole barn. Have a great time camping (she says in an envious tone).
    Ellie

  • EllieRichellie

    I think you’ve been camping for, like, ever.

talk to me

