cutting it close

I am missing Tejas. It always happens right about now… it’s been a bit too long since we’ve taken a trip South. We head back to the Mother Country in the middle of October and I am counting the days.

What I do to combat this homesickness is call My Little Blonde One. I beg her to allow me to sew things for her twin children who are having pictures taken this week. (Twin girls who were born on Valentine’s Day… break my heart and replace it with a sweetart, please.) ‘I just want to,’ I say. I just need some of ME in Texas. And thus, more fauxsmocked sundresses. These may or may not be picture quality dresses… they have no straps because I cut it very close with the thread. But, they’d still be cute over a long-sleeve shirt this winter or with bare feet over a swim suit. The straps will be delivered when we come in October. Thank you for your patience.

The fabric is one-of-a-kind (which I’ve just learned is OOAK in the craft world… I couldn’t figure that out for the longest time) and from Chelsey, who surprised me by shipping me a box full of fabric I’d never seen. Lovely, surfer-inspired, out of print fabric from friends who used to print for Billabong and RedSand and Stussy… very cool stuff. Chesley- you rock my ever-lovin’ world.

And yes, these are available to you… big or small… Christmas or not. Just give me a yell.

We had a very big weekend here at TexasNorth… not a small part of which was The Boy rockin’ some serious progress on the front porch decking. He is, in a word, amazing. The porch is awesome. And big. The front and back porch combined will double our house square footage. So, there’s plenty of room for you and yours. Head on over.

Isn’t he cute? He’s standing in my flower bed here, but it’s ok. I’m over it. Check out our little ‘helper.’ She’s tired from a long day of climbing and rolling in the dirt.

All the work and sunshine on Saturday meant an open front door (with no screen). I am now in a battle for my house against flies. I hate flies. I am armed. I am ready. I’ll talk to you on Thursday.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

18 responses to “cutting it close

  • sunday

    i HATE flies too, weird coming from a barn person, huh? i LOVE the dresses and how cool getting all that fabric. i might be in the market for one of those as well. you are awesome (are you tired of me saying that?)

  • Mandi

    Love the deck! Love the dresses! Love the Little Helper! You guys totally rock!

    I’m sad that we will miss you in Texas this Oct. Hopefully, we’ll catch you sometime in the Spring when we are home from Brazil.

  • Jared and Kat

    I want a dress. Size 18 months. will be perfect on Stella for next summer.

    I’ll email you.

    Love the deck!!! I am coveting. I’m bad.

  • Amanda

    Oops. The above request was really from me. Using my brother’s computer in Lucyland. 🙂

  • Shanna Mac

    may i borrow him?

    and i’m a ‘thinkin my girlies might just need some matching dresses too!! will be in touch…

  • amy

    I DEFINITELY need a dress….maybe a 12 month size? Do you have any boy clothes you are going to make with this fabric? 🙂

  • KatieKate

    Amy, that’s a good question. Boys. Boys are so hard. I’ve used the fabric in lots of boy BANNERS so far, but no clothes. Blankets and bibs and such, but no clothes.

    BUT, I am totally willing to. If you do have the time/desire to sew, I am happy to do it for you. You just tell me what you’re looking for and we’ll find you a pattern.

  • waddell crew

    I would love a dress for catie j. Sundresses are a must here in Phoenix. They are beautiful, I love them. I am attempting sewing and learning, but not that good. Let me know how I can buy one.
    Jerilyn

  • Janna

    i think lots of us are counting the days. and i am feeling like the luckiest girl in the world today–i adore the girls’ dresses and can’t wait to try them on! you are the best.

  • EllieRichellie

    out of print stuff from Billabong and Stussy??? From the bottom of my wanna-be-surfer heart, that is SO COOL. When, or if, the whole cowgirl thing doesn’t work out for me, I’m going strict surfer girl. The dresses are fantastic, and your boy is one talented guy as well. My husband can build a. . .um.. .um.. .a bologna sandwich. But I love him so much that it’s enough for me. We won’t need more than bologna and love in our surf shack. . .

  • Gary and Lisa

    I’d trade you a few flies for the giant, hairy carpenter bees of the delightful, desert southwest. Double ick!!!

    Adorable dresses. I’d take one, but my kid spends most of her free time nekked. Again…another desert oddity.

    L.

  • Miss Laura

    Flies…and chickens.

    I covet you too…for the deck…for the little helper…and also for your RUNNING CAR.

    Oh man.

  • Julie

    Love the dress…the fabric is wonderful…..I might have to get one……but Annabelle has a disgusting amount of hand-me-down clothes. But once in a while I like to buy her something special that is actually MY personal taste! You are awesome and the deck looks nice.

  • Dan, Annie, Will and Mocha

    That fabric is fabulous.
    I have recently found an appreciation for fabric myself thanks to my friend annie.
    the dress sounds wonderful.
    That deck is awesome, I love a big deck that doubles the square footage, we live out on ours, it makes our house feel so much bigger.
    your man is awesome and so are you and so is your little hard worker.

  • Jimmy

    Well I am here in your Texas and have told it hello from you and explained why you are not here, but are coming.
    Curt nice work, could you please come over and finish our remodel, the contractor has made a muck of it.

    Bye from Texas South Jim

  • thekooiet

    The entire box of fabric was AMAZING! Kate, you are using it so wonderfully and creatively!

    I can’t wait to come see the new porch! Yesterday sure felt like a day in October. I’m ready for a big day at your place with hayrides, hot chocolate, apple pie, and a nice warm fire. 🙂

  • ecky

    i hate flies…especially fruit flies. they make me feel like pigpen or something. yuck!

    cute dresses. i gotta get me some of that elastic stuff….if only i lived closer to you we could sit on your big beautiful porch and mangle some fabric. oh the fun we could have….

  • the dicocco gang

    Thanks for taking pictures of everything Miss Katie.
    You ALMOST make me want to get my camera out again.
    and you pretty much make me feel guilty for not letting people peek into our lives lately
    and you definately remind me that it matters… it all matters…
    and that I miss you.

talk to me

