swamped

My baby is sick. 103° fever sick. Not moving, not eating, not fussin’… not at all herself.

:::
We’re gonna take it easy today… and get to know each other again. We’ve been getting on each other’s nerves for the past week… her growin’ and me not wanting her to. Her climbing on the counters and me not wanting her to. Her yellin’ and me not wanting her to. I was about ready to throw in the towel, to be honest… but a Sunday sermon, some allergy medicine (for mom), and a feverish child later, I have a little better outlook on things.
:::
We just need a little break. I need to start knitting again. She needs to go to the children’s library. I need to print some market bags. She needs to start up therapy-preschool again. I need to write some letters, read some old ones, and recharge a bit. And Ry, she needs to lay on the couch and watch Annie today.
:::
So, excuse the silence this week while we get ourselves back on track.
I’ll be on email, of course. I’m only human.
Talk to you next Monday…
and love you so very much…
KatieKate
About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

16 responses to “swamped

  • amy

    oh, pooh. Poor girl!
    Walker ALWAYS spikes a 103 or 104 fever when he is sick…..it doesn’t even faze me anymore. i hope you both have a nice, cuddly, quality time together kind of week 🙂

  • Janna

    poor things. i’ll be praying for a fast recovery for miss rylie.

  • Miss Laura

    But…but…I’m coming to LOWELL this afternoon. Do you girls need someone to bring you a Dr. Pepper? Me and my (mom’s) trusty Buick Skylark can make it happen!

  • Jessica, Myron and Rylie

    oh sweet girl!

  • thekooiet

    [[[[[[[[[[[[Big, big, huge, gimungus hugs coming your way!]]]]]]]]]]]

  • Chelsey Meek

    Oh, nothing better when you’re sick than being with mom and Annie.

    And, you need to start k-nitting.

  • Shanna Mac

    poor punkin!! hope this week gets better. i feel some bug might be starting to work its way into our immune systems too. we’ve had an U.G.L.Y. morning, and looks not to be improving.

  • Mandi

    So sorry your sweet little lady isn’t feeling well and that you guys have had a rough go of it lately. I’ll be praying for you all!

  • Zoe

    Poor sick punkin. Thats no fun. We hope she is back to herself soon.

  • ecky

    sending chicken soup vibes your way.
    we have a cold here…visited friends this weekend and AFTER we arrive they say “Hope it’s not a problem but we are just getting over a cold” as their daughter is sticking her fingers in Hazel’s eye.
    poop. sick babies are the worst. you just feel so helpless.

    feel better soon!!!!!

  • EllieRichellie

    Wise mama. Call a Time Out. Get your players in a huddle.

    Fall in the air makes me crave routine (and football and caramel apples). That’s where you’re being wise. .. knowing there is a routine of knitting and kids’ books and letters and rest that will “heal” you all right now.

    Prayers for healthy babies and sane mamas. There’s always a rainbow after the rain. .. . 🙂
    Ellie

  • Rachel

    So sorry to hear Riley is sick. Hope that she feels better soon, and that y’all can get back into the swing of things at Texas North.

    I love the picture of her on the couch, poor sweet baby!

  • Lisa...

    There isn’t a medical doctor from here to Timbucktoo who could have written a better prescription.

    Be well. Heal. Be kind to yourselves. It’s the best medicine.

    Lisa

  • Becky Swann

    Oh with all that I have a feeling that “the sun’ll come out tomorrow!” 🙂 🙂

  • Julie

    I hope Rylie is feeling better. It is so awful when your little one is sick.

    You have got to make the trip out here to sing with us! We would love to have you. Becky and I sang together for the first time this afternoon and it was really fun….so plan a trip and we will be a little trio!

  • Miss Laura

    Awww, I forgot you’re taking a time out this week and came here looking for some KateCandy. I’ll have to console myself by buying a new car.

talk to me

