She can be taught!

[That’s from Dead Poet’s Society] I am a single parent this week. I don’t know how Rylie figured that out so quickly, but she woke up with a fire in her eye Wednesday morning and hasn’t settled down yet. She also opted to eat 2 grown-up size bowls of Zatarain’s black beans and rice with kielbasa for dinner last night. If anyone would like to join me on diaper duty today, I will marry you.

Where is The Boy, you ask? He’s in Guthrie, Oklahoma… and I’ve been singing show tunes all week. He headed South with 2 friends and 9 cows to a big fancy schmancy longhorn auction and won’t be back until Sunday night.

And me? Well, I tend to get extremely scattered-brained when left to my self for any period of time. There are half-started projects everywhere. You know how you start vacuuming, and then pause to move the chair, which leads you to putting the train back in the baby’s room, which causes you to strip her crib sheets, which leads you into the basement by the washing machine where laundry needs to be shifted over, which causes you to put the blankets back in the hope chest, which is right next to the photo albums of your summer at Camp? And all the sudden it’s four hours later and you never got back to the vacuuming. Yeah. That’s me on a good day. It’s worse when The Boy isn’t around to keep me on track. Fortunately, I’m super good under pressure… and everything will be back to normal by Sunday morning. *ahem*

Amidst all the chaos, I have managed to literally tie up a few loose ends around TexasNorth in the crafting department. I have these fits of productivity which end with large bowls of popcorn and old black and white movies.

Stella‘s dress (classic black and white print with red trim, smocking, and straps)

another row on the rag rug (which Abe immediately approved of)

knit market bags (in a new pattern that I can finish in a single evening whilst watching The Office)

a gift canvas for a sweet mom in Georgia

Ahhhh. It’s amazing what I can do when I sit down and pay attention. Unfortunately, this amount of productivity is unlikely to be reproduced again before the turn of the new year. If I am ever able to get my act together for more than one day at a time, I am going to rule the world.

My goal for this weekend is simply to make links for the custom items on the left sidebar. It can be done. I would also like to promise that Ry and I will make it out of our pjs over the next three days, but let’s be realistic… shall we?

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

11 responses to “She can be taught!

  • CortneyTree

    I have determined that there is absolutely no reason to vacate your pjs unless you plan to leave the house, and only for something more public than, say, running into the post office and back out again. Anything at “going through a drive through” or less is totally pj safe.

    I love the new Market Bag pattern, very cool.

    And why is it that popcorn is SUCH a great dinner when there’s no one else around?

  • amy

    man, Walker can eat a whole box of Zatarains black beans and rice. Hes so very happy when we have that for supper. We DON’T have it often, however, as the diapers are horrific for days afterward 🙂
    Enjoy the days long PJ party!

  • Becky Swann

    I can totally relate to your scattered stay at home activities…I’ve been operating that way all week
    Love the knit market bags!

  • Blake

    Oh my goodness! LOVE the dress/top. I love red and black and white. It’s cause I’m a Belton tiger 🙂

    I’ll send you pics of Stella in it soon.

    Loves!

  • Amanda

    That was really me…Amanda. I guess the google account was logged into my dear husband’s name :9 But he loves the dress too. He hasn’t seen it yet, but I know he already does.

  • sunday

    the sounds like a day in the life here! i love it that you day looks like that too! way to be miss productivity! can’t wait for my momma to get the knit market bag. so are you ready for more orders? or are they still on hold? i need one for my neighbor.

  • KatieKate

    Aw, thanks, Sun…
    Ya know, I think with this new pattern I’ve worked out I can certainly make more without feeling like they take too long. So order away 🙂

  • Zoe

    Katie,
    I want to be you when I grow up. I LOVE all the crafts!

  • Rachel

    Why do kids love the black beans and rice so much- I think it is Zane’s favorite (I hear you on the diaper end of things too!).

    I love Stella’s dress- black, white and red is my favorite combo! Too bad Zane couldn’t use a dress, huh?! (Maybe Zane’s mama needs one though)

    I can’t even count the times that Luke has been out of town that I have stayed in my pjs all day!

  • Lisa...

    I think as long as you’re showered by The Boy’s return on Sunday, you’re good to go!

    L.

  • Julie

    I am the exact same way in my scatteredness. My mom told me that I need to take the poll in the Real Simple magazine to see if I am clinically ADD. I will do that sometime, but for now I will label myself as scattered. Anyhow, love your craftiness. Can you really make that bag in an episode or two of the Office!!!?

talk to me

