More cow[bell], please.

That’s from Saturday Night Live, of course.

Ladies and Gentlemen, children of all ages! I’d like to introduce you to the newest members of the TexasNorth family. Curt returned from Oklahoma Sunday afternoon (let all the angels sing) with 6 new cows for the ranch. 2 mammas with their two babies AND both mammas are pregnant. They’ll have May calves next year. Crazy exciting times around here! Exclamation point!

Meet Total Eclipse and her calf (a bull). Miss Eclipse is 10 years old and a sweetie. She’ll eat right out of your hand. Her horns measure 64″ from tip to tip, and she’s solid black. Her owner was very sad to part with her and considered changing her mind… but The Boy promised we’d love her and talk about her and put lots of pictures up. She’s gonna be a happy cow, I promise!

Here’s Southern Jill with her baby boy calf trailing behind. Jilly is also 10 years old, also measures 64″ from tip to tip and is making herself the herd boss… she’s got a little friendly attitude and quickly placed herself first in line at the watering trough. Isn’t her color gorgeous? It’s like someone sponge-painted her. I love her.

Yep, that’s 2 baby boys in the photos. We’re not quite sure what will happen with those fellas yet. Jill’s boy already has some pretty cute little horn stubs growing, so we may wait a bit to see how he grows. The other boy will likely live a very happy life here on the farm and then help feed a few families. I’m just keepin’ it real. We do still have the other 4 girls… but remember that they aren’t technically ours. They’re Dave’s, and they won’t be living here permanently. They’re just on Summer vacation and will be headed home before the snow flies. Southern Jill and Eclipse are our first official longhorns, and we are so very happy.

Both Eclipse and Jill are from out of town… Oklahoma and Alabama, to be exact. So, this will be their first Winter. I’m sure they’re thrilled. In order to get them ready, we need to wean the babies from them pretty soon. When a mamma cow is feeding a baby, all her energy is going to that milk. (Sound familiar, Girls?) The sooner we can stop that, the more time the ladies will have to build up their Winter coat. I’m not looking forward to separating the babies from their mammas. Everyone says to prepare for 5 days of sad bellowing and heartache on both sides… but we Mammas understand that, too, eh?

Cort… she’s lookin’ right at you. “What UP,” she says.

Thanks for tuning in to another installment of the Life and Times of those crazy Mulders in Michigan. We’re havin’ a good time.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

17 responses to “More cow[bell], please.

  • K Moore

    Congratulations on your new animals! It looks like you guys are having serious fun. Can you decorate the horns for Christmas?

  • KatieKate

    Oh my garsh… that’s a really good idea. I’m gonna knit them some hats and a scarf.

  • CortneyTree

    What up, Jill!

  • Julie

    Ok, let me try again minus the typos this time. I never knew a post all about cows could be such a good read. Very interesting info about weaning the calves too. You are such a good blogger.

  • Miss Laura

    I think you should get white twinkle lights that have a little battery pack with which to decorate the horns at Christmas…and take good pictures!

  • amy

    They are BEAUTIFUL!! It will be sad to seperate the mamas and babies..i am a such a sucker for ANY animal….its why i can no longer work in the veterinary field 🙂
    a quick suggestion. Rescue Remedy for the mamas and the babies will help with the seperation. You can order it online. Its homeopathic….and if you are interested i am happy to share more. If not, no biggie!
    Congrats on the newest members of Texas North.

  • EllieRichellie

    I turn the computer off for one weekend and SHEESH!! It’s like a whole new world up there. . .cows and bags and dresses..oh my! I’m envious of all the crafty productivity and good farm livin’ you’ve got going on. The Cabin is into the school year routine..the only sewing I have done is mending/hemming and the only thing that resembles farm living is the tomato plant that won’t give up and the 17 1/2 pints of applesauce I canned. It’s a start. . .but it’s no Southern Jill, that’s for sure.

  • Lisa...

    Holy Cow! (No pun intended). 🙂

    Lisa

  • Zoe

    I love the longhorns 🙂 They are beautiful.

  • Becky Swann

    Very exciting about all the new cows! I can relate to my energy going to my baby today! I think she really milked the energy right out of me:)

  • thekooiet

    Oh! That reminds me of the picture I have for Cortney of the goat smiling! I gotta find that.

    WHOA! Those ladies are so lovely!!!
    You’re right…Southern Jill does look like she’s been sponge painted…she’s gorgeous!

    My favorite part of this entire post is, and I quote, “I’m just keepin’ it real.” Very nice.

    I can’t wait to come see ’em!

  • Dan, Annie, Will and Mocha

    O I love southern Jill, not only her name but she’s so cute. I want to hug her. you got some great lookin steers there lady.

  • sunday

    i love southern jill too and mostly for her name! love the bags on the post below and all the other wonderful stuff. i did not realize that the other longhorns weren’t yours. what up with that. i must have missed something. you are doing good up there, and yes we mommas understand about all of. just explain to your momma longhorn that they will now have more time to do what they want and they won’t always have to have a baby at the teet which is so nice and it will make them feel like less of a cow, oh wait……..

  • Amy B.

    OK, I’ve finally decided to ‘fess up. I’m Rachel’s sister, Amy, (and a fellow Aggie) and I’ve been stalking your blog for months now.

    I live for Mondays and Thursdays, KatieKate. Thanks for sharing your life so openly. I have a thousand questions for you about life on a farm, but they will have to be saved for a different forum.

    I cloth diaper too and you’ve inspired me to dust off my Memaw’s sewing machine and try my hand at a few projects. Who knows – you might even find me on Etsy soon.

    Anyway, I’ve shared you with my neighbor, a fellow blogger and she wants to link to your page, so I figured I’d better come out of the closet.

    Keep writing!
    Amy B.

  • KatieKate

    Amy, I totally know you!!! I saw pictures of you with Zane on Rachel’s trip home and nearly fell over. I can’t believe it. You look just like you did in high school. Of course, Rachel does too.

    I’m so glad you read! Tell your friend hello for me! Come visit! I’ve got pie! And if you ever want to talking farming or sewing with someone who knows very little about it, you can find me at katiemulder AT gmail DOT com

  • Wende

    Ok… poor form, I know… but I didn’t read this post. Because the photos alone are so freakin’ cool I just had to come comment ASAP.

    HOLY MOO, Katie! Those cows have handlebars! 😀

    Now I’ll go read!

  • Heather

    welcome eclipse & jilly! Kate, ian loved seeing the pictures of them. He wants to come feed them. or throw hay at them. what he says and what he means are always up for debate! 🙂 I think you should definitly knit for them. After you finish your sweater, that is. 😉

talk to me

