farmin’

Ry says, “Thank you,” for all the birthday wishes last Thursday/Friday. She had a lovely night with me and her dad… a trip to the local toy store with $20 in-hand and a hot dog dinner at the local hangout. She wanted to show you her new, and first, Wrangler snap shirt. Thank you for sharing the day with us.

Folks…
We had our first visit from the vet Saturday. I think we’ll be good friends. May I just say I am thankful large animal vets make house calls? Can you imagine me trying to stuff Jill into the Subaru? Awkward. He took a look at the 2 mammas and 2 babies we have now and said they look just fine goin’ into Winter. Fine weight-wise. Fine pregnancy-wise. Fine every-which-way-wise. It’s a relief to hear that from a professional, though I think Ellie would like to differ seeing as how last week our temps dipped into the 20° range. I tried to get new pictures of them for you, but the camera fogged up. I’ll work on it.

Hey! We decided on a name for the farm/ranch/retirement home! Ready? Wait for it… TexasNorth Land & Cattle. Fancy, right? I know. Fancy like I need a frilly apron and a triangle on my porch. I love it. I need to get to work on a label and a cattle brand for Spring. I am still loving my trademark typewriter font… so I expect that’ll play in somehow. Hmmmmmm. Now that I look at it again, I think it should be TexasNorth Land & Cattle Co. Yes?

Branding is more difficult than you or I might think. It has to be incredibly simple so the lines show up well on the animal. I wanted a circle with a star in it… like a sheriff’s badge. Too many lines. Bah. If any of you have suggestions, let’er rip. Here’s a site that may inspire you a bit. Ask your kids. They think better along these simple lines than adults do.

I’d like to have a sign made up for the side of the hayloft. Something along the lines of the photo you see. I’m also in the process of writing and designing our website. Eventually, the blog and the KatieKate store will move over to texasnorth.com along with all our longhorn history and information. I know where I’m headed, but I can’t build it in computer-language… so if you know any fantastic web designers that wannna have some Old West fun, send them my way.

In fact, it’s time to go feed them now.
I best be ‘goin’ before they start knocking on my door.
Happy Monday to you!

P.S. The spell-checker had a field day with my country spelling today.
P.P.S. There are now pics of Ry in her shirt on Flickr in the left sidebar.
About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

talk to me

