ketchup

a] Ry’s doctor appointment offered us the best news we could hope for: Yes, there are delays… no, there are no serious underlying neurological or mental issues behind them.  She will speak in time, and she will run and she will continue to rock our world indefinitely.  I am taking the doctor an apple pie.

foundation-mammas-005b] The cows, despite the constant -4° temperatures this Winter, are doing love-erly.  They are pregnant and happy and well-fed.  Jill is due at the end of the month, and Ellie is due in early May. 

c] Mulder Baby #2: The Deuce: Sprout… now 12+ weeks.  I have gained 7 pounds, all in my thighs Iamnotevenkidding.  The seasickness appears, in the last 2 days, to have taken a hike.  I am cautiously optimistic.  

d] I will now attempt to quell the FaceBook epidemic of tagging me for the ’25 Random Things’ meme.  I don’t think there ARE 25 things about me I haven’t discussed ad-nauseum here… but I will try. 

  1. I grew up Catholic… in the best, non-religiously scarring way possible.  It provided a brilliant foundation for me in my personal faith, and it is a history I return to often.
  2. I spent 10 years as a child in Germany while my father served in the ARMY.  We returned to the States when I started 7th grade.
  3. I am regularly told, by both men and women and as recently as Saturday, that I married a very handsome man. It’s not a bad thing.
  4. I have no problem wearing the same clothes two days in a row.
  5. I have RA
  6. I rock at folding fitted-sheets.
  7. I love to be in large crowds, but over on the side watching everything.
  8. I am fiercely loyal.
  9. I have been a Kentucky Wildcat basketball fan since kindergarten when I fell in love with my teacher.
  10. My mother graduated from The University of Louisville.  I remember being at her graduation. We do not discuss #9 or #10 in mixed company.
  11. I love going to kids’ sports games.  Love it.  Love it ridiculously.
  12. I also love watching sports on television… particularly tennis and college football.
  13. I am a singer but not a soloist.
  14. I read wicked-fast.
  15. I have a crazy amount of knowledge about Fleetwood Mac.
  16. I do not like coffee.  I’ve tried.  Even your favorite drink cannot convert me.  If it has coffee in it, I don’t like it.
  17. I have never had a cavity.
  18. Children’s choirs make me cry.  Every time.
  19. Men and women in uniform make me cry.  Every time.
  20. Swimming in lakes weirds me out.
  21. I once backed out of the garage with the door down.  It was my brother’s fault.
  22. My greatest fear is being falsely-accused and imprisoned in a foreign country. I watch a lot of movies.
  23. I do not eat breakfast unless I’m pregnant or it’s past 10am.
  24. I grew up going to drive-in movies in my pjs in our white Chevy van with blue velvet curtains.
  25. I absolutely love to eat out with friends.

And there you have it.  DONE.

Thursday, Rylie and I have a video for you.  Mark your calenders.  We’re talking about laundry and fitted sheets.  It’s gonna be a wild time 🙂

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

19 responses to “ketchup

  • mr. chris

    hmmmm, so your mom being a Cardinal, how does she feel about your Wildcat loyalty?

    Chris… we don’t talk about it much Fortunately, I am much more serious about college ball than she is, so she lets me be who I am. -KK

  • Jami

    Thanks for the good laugh today…number 3…ohhh goodness!!!

  • Mandi

    All really good to know. Thanks for sharing.

  • Jim

    Thanks for the update, waiting on Video and pictures….of Rylie….. and the longhorns (it’s a guy thing)

  • Cortney

    SO let’s see, we are cosmic soul mates as of #’s 11, 16, 17, 20, and 23. Oh, and 25. Yup, sounds about right 😉

  • Zoe

    I am glad everything is well with Rylie.
    Swimming in lakes creeps me out too.

  • M.C.

    Are you going to show us how to fold fitted sheets? Oh, my gosh. I’m so excited! I would have put down “absolutely stinks at folding fitted sheets” on my 25 list.
    (by the way, I am back to reading your blog after a little hiatus of my own from the blogworld. I enjoy it so much!)

    I’m so glad you’re back! I was just wondering how you were doing! Breaks are good and much needed. Good for you. And, yes… we are totally gonna show you how to fold fitted sheets Thursday! -KK

  • Bec

    A few things…

    Please send me detailed, photo-enhanced instructions on folding the fitted sheet. I just bust it from the dryer to the bed to avoid doing so.

    You are SO fiercely loyal. One of my favorite things about you. Hands down.

    I’m going to see Fleetwood Mac in April. I hope the coliseum seats have seatbelts, that’s how bananas I intend to be going. 🙂

  • annie

    glad I found you, for some reason it wasn’t connecting me.
    so glad that ry is on the upswing from all this, that you can relax a bit in knowing that it’s nothing big and that you did the 25 things. o how I’ve been putting it off. good for you. i enjoyed your’s thoroughly.
    the

  • Lisa

    You rock on with no cavities, girl. I had my first one this year. I was devastated. I immediately went home and ate half a bag of M&Ms which, I must admit, was NOT the doctor’s advice.

  • Cathy

    Bec, I laugh at busting out the sheets from the dryer because my best friend does the same thing. I have to admit though I do not exactly fold fitted sheets the greatest but hopefully I learn some new tricks on your video Kate.

    Glad to hear everything is well with Ry too.

  • Wende

    Good news all around.

    That the 25 things meme has infected facebook makes me hot. As you might well know. And I’ve been tagged SO many time for that thing–I’m seriously considering doing it like this:

    25 Things about Wende:

    1. I don’t do memes.

  • Laura

    If you haven’t seen Bridget Jones: The Edge of Reason, it will definitely further fuel #22. It should be noted, however, that you will be in stitches the entire time, because you can’t help but laugh at dear old Bridge leading a bunch of incarcerated Thai prostitutes in a rousing rendition of “Like a Virgin.”

  • Amanda

    You are a great soloist! At least as I remember…which reminds me of a Madrigal picture I found recently…I think I’m going to have to post it.

    Also…I’m really looking forward to the Thursday video and hoping you will teach me how to fold a fitted sheet…

    If it is the picture *I* have, Oh good Lord save us all. I need to find that thing. Go ahead: post it. But I have pictures, too, Squeaky. I have pictures, too. -KK

  • sicacarr

    We grew up with a white chevy van too!!! that is so weird. We did not have velvet curtains but we did have homemade benches along the window for extra viewing. To this day I will not allow Myron to sell the jeep because of how difficult at time my dad had with parting with that van!

  • sunday

    did i see it correctly you are going to show us how to fold a fitted sheet!!! oh what fun. my mom can fold the poop out of them but I am simply terrible! i was raised catholic too. did we know this about each other? i can’t remember.

  • Ellie

    Heck. . I’ve been wearing the same pants now since Saturday morning.

    And the other 24 things are brilliant also. I’m not sure I could come up with 25 things, but one of them would be that I can quote at least 50% of the dialogue from the movie Out of Africa.

    I still can’t believe you have pregnant cows. That’s just so frickin’ cool. I’ll trade you one gigantic blueberry bush for one pregnant cow.

    Another reason why you are my hero. My pants are from Saturday, too. AND, deal on that blueberry bush. I’ve yet to get mine going out here on the farm. -KK

  • Aunt Regina

    Not a coffee drinker ——Try mixng your favorite hot chocolate mix with coffee…. It will make you a beliver – College football rocks – Go Nittany Lions!

  • Annie Mulder

    Kate Mulder, I like you a whole lot. I love to hear about your life on the farm. How exciting that you’re going to have baby cows born there soon! I am ridiculously sad that I’m not going to be able to come out and visit them until summer and they’ve grown a bit. Again, I think you’re great. Thanks for sharing your life with us.

    *sigh* Annie Mulder. My favorite Freshman. You’re an absolute doll and incredibly gifted in the compliment area. -KK

talk to me

