If you didn’t love me before…

I bet my stock goes up with this little guy:

Whitey, born 2.28.09

Whitey, born 2.28.09

Let me introduce you to Northern Star (dam: Southern Jill, sire: Tejas Star).  Oh, man… he’s a heart breaker.  Saturday, I watched all the cows grab a drink of water.  I yelled to Jill to tell her she was lookin’ fabulous and to hang in there.  Thirty minutes later, Curt came running up the porch steps yellin’ about a baby.  I kid you not, people… I lost my mind.  Look at this calf.  He’s so darn cute.  I just want to hug him and put a red bow on him.  I am lovin’ being a farmer.  Jill’s been an excellent mamma and has graciously allowed us humans to make fools of ourselves over her new baby.  This is number 9 for her.  While I’m sure she’s proud, she has started rolling her eyes at me when I come around the corner. 

mother and son

Whitey has excellent parentage, so he’ll be sticking around for awhile. No pot roast for you, Little Man.  Not just yet.  Here’s a video of the first moments of his life.  His older 1/2 brother, Skeeter, is friendly as all get-out and nearly licked me to death in the process.  So, here you go, folks.  Me being attacked by a cow:

Y’all have a fabulous Monday! I gotta go take Jill some hot chocolate.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

14 responses to “If you didn’t love me before…

talk to me

