a long, long time ago

[from American Pie]

A long, long time ago… in the depths of a lonely California winter, my best friend from high school sent me a phone book.  It was my local, hometown phone book.  Awesome, I thought.  Just what I need.

Woe to she who does not believe in the power of random greatness.  As I read the card for explanation, I began to smile.  And then I started laughing.  And then I started jumping up and down. 

You see, the newest edition of the phone book had come out and she, like ya do, began to look up all the people she knew.  And there, there in the ‘S’ was my family, of course.  But not just anywhere.  We were the Header!  We were the start of a new column!  Our name was in bold at the top!  How many times in your life can you say that???

phonebook2

I was so excited that I called my brand-spankin’-new boyfriend, Curt, and told him everything.

And he said, “I don’t really see what the big deal is.”

So, I took a picture and I emailed it to him.

And he said, “I still don’t really see what the big deal is.”

I should have ended it right there, Folks.  But I didn’t.  Because I believe in people.  Someday, he’ll understand me like you do.  You understand, right?  Dang.

Love to you all and happy weekend 🙂 

P.S. There are new knit market bags in the shop, and there are new pics of Rylie Girl on flickr

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

14 responses to “a long, long time ago

  • jim

    Well I bet Curt understands now, the smart man that he is…
    Spring is coming and Summer is around the corner.

  • Annie

    this is so funny. I can appreciate that boldness.

  • jtp

    um, I’m kind of jealous…that’s totally a big deal…. hopefully Rylie will realize what a cool mom you are when she’s a teenager…first you have a gunmetal (was that the color?) coat and your name was the phonebook header…lucky, lucky girl 🙂

  • Cathy

    Seriously, sometimes they just don’t get it!! LOL

  • Miss Laura

    What a good friend you have, to have mailed you an entire phone book!

    Boys in general don’t get it. Whatever it is, at whatever moment – they don’t get it. I had one of those moments this morning and I will have to tell you about it later. Not blog-appropriate.

  • Jami

    HA!!! That’s AWESOME!!! Wow, I’ve never looked before…gonna go look now…DANG it all. Both Winstrom and Vander Kooi are right smack dab in the middle. You are indeed very special!

  • Lisa

    Oh my gosh….I TOTALLY do that!! It’s such a relief to know I am either not completely crazy, or….in really good company. 🙂

  • Lisa

    Of course, having looked at some of your pics I have to comment on the one with Curt and his new holster…and let you know, if he lived out here, he could wear that. With a gun in it. Walking about town. Except at the library, where you must check your weapon at the front desk. 🙂

  • wende

    He’s an Engineer, sweetie, you can’t expect him to understand these things. (Sorry, Curt, it’s true!)

    And TOTALLY rad. Even more so that a friend sent it to you! 😀

  • Zoe Speer

    very cool…the Sebeck family in BOLD at the TOP of the page!

  • Amy Louise

    and it even has an ‘@’ symbol… intriguing… 🙂

  • becky swann

    I love a good random post like this! I love that you felt the need to dedicate an entire post to this..i have to say it endeared you to me

  • shanda

    I get very excited by such things as well. . . and my husband appreciates, but doesn’t get it. I love it when my odometer turns some significant number (I’ll drive around for awhile so I don’t miss it), I love to be able to stop my microwave when it says o:oo but hasn’t beeped yet, I am kooky and I celebrate that there are other kooky people around. Keep on Kate!

talk to me

