cowtown, part 2

[Your simple-sentence photo stories are due this weekend!  Everyone needs a celebration banner in their life.]

There were a couple of follow-up questions from Monday:

1.  Do we still have Jill?  Yes!  The TexasNorth roll-call goes like this:  4 mammas… Southern Jill, Eclipse (Ellie),  Midnight Safari (who was the reason for our ride-a-long to Texas… we had to bring her home), and Miss Bonnie (just purchased in Kansas).  We have 2 steers: Skeeter and Joey… these were Jill and Ellie’s ’08 babies.  We have 2 calves: Whitey and Brownie… Jill and Midnight’s ’09 calves.  And, we’re expecting 2 more in May: Ellie and Bonnie’s ’09 calves.  That’s the TexasNorth herd.  We’re small, but we’re scrappy. 

2. Did any of your cows cost $18,000 like at the auction?  Excuse me while I pick myself up off the floor.  No.  People, I’m still wearing socks from my single days. All our our mammas added together don’t equal $18,000.  But, we do have great cows with great history.  What’s more, their babies are going to be fantastic.  And their grandchildren are going to be phenomenal.  We’re in this for the long haul.    

Today we shall talk about something a little closer to home: left turns.  (Lisa, I’m sure you’re all-ears for this one.)

Curt and MarkSaturday afternoon of Auction Weekend was left open… for swimming, for Sonic, for cow pictures, and for Nascar.  The Texas Motor Speedway was immediately across the street from our hotel.  There was an announcement at dinner that the Speedway would be open for ride-alongs and tours and driving.  Curt looked at me with his gorgeous blue eyes full of hopeful tears, and I knew exactly what we’d be doing Saturday afternoon.  It has always been his dream to drive fast on a track.  This dream has earned him a number of tickets and a personal relationship with the Grand Rapids Treasury… but here was a chance for it to be legit. 

So, we drove under the track and into the pits.  Curt suited up and drove 10 laps, accompanied by an instructor.  SO FABULOUS.  There was a rev-limiter on the cars, so top speed was 150mph, but The Boy was still very very happy.

Curt was not alone in the Special Moment category… I got to witness one of the most beautiful moments I’ve ever seen and one I will never forget.  There was a man in a red instructor suit busy doing his job.  And, near him always, there was a boy.  A boy with Downs Syndrome… God’s favorite people.  The instructor’s son.  While his dad was busy, the boy ran up and down on the grass carefully watched and very loved by the high school boys working the 4-wheelers.  When it came time to push the cars out on the track the dad swept up the boy, kissed him on the cheek, and the two went to work together. 

legacy-sale-v-063

(I’m crying, of course.)  Curt’s 18 car was the last to be pushed out, and the father/son duo did the honors.  I don’t know how I managed to get this picture with everything in motion, but I love it.  It was such an incredible scene. Look at the boy with his hands up to his mouth, so absolutely thrilled.

To you, Father and Son… you’re beautiful in a million different ways.  Thank you.

And to you, Curt… I’m so very happy you got to drive your car.  You’re a stud.

Next year, I’m going to ask if I can change a tire with the pit crew.  That’s my dream.  That, or sing the national anthem with Stevie Nicks.

What’s YOUR dream? (Pretty Woman flashback, anyone?)

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

8 responses to “cowtown, part 2

  • Kristen Moore

    what a great photo! i love that dad and i love that kid.
    and i really love the hands in the mouth.

  • Miss Laura

    Love it all. I can’t believe you went from 0-10 cows in such a short time. (Yes, the ones on the way certainly count.) Hats off to Curty. And I can think of nothing better than you and Stevie Nicks singing the national anthem together. I’d probably soil myself.

    My dream? To be a Zamboni driver.

  • Lisa

    Beautiful story! I kind of love it when peoples’ dreams come true. I had a friend who was diagnosed with cancer. The doctors gave her months to live. Her one and only dream was to meet Carlos Santana – her favorite musician. Santana just happened to be coming to Grand Rapids in concert and a friend and I worked every angle possible to arrange a meeting. By some God-inspired miracle, we did it. Carlos Santana met with her in his dressing room for about 25 minutes before the show, played a song for her, talked with her about spirituality and life after death. It was an amazing thing. When she came out, she had a look about her. I can’t describe it other than to say it must be the look people have when their dreams come true.

    Ok…enough of my sentimental mumbo-jumbo. On a lighter note, I suspect if I’d been wearing that swanky one piece jumper when I made my illegal left hand turn, I’d have gotten out of that ticket. 🙂

  • Cathy

    What a beautiful story…Katie oh Katie, why do you always bring me to tears with your stories???

    Its nice to have dreams come true, Lisa kudos to you for doing something so special for your friend.

    My dream, I’ll have to let you know when it comes true, I don’t want people to think I’m self-centered and obnoxious but it is something I really want.

  • Becky

    Very cool, your stories are as always…cool. hmmm what is my dream, to sing on a big stage and be able to dance really well and everyone can see how unbelieveable muscular and talented I am haha…afterall I am dreaming!

  • Annie

    I’m very teary. How precious that picture is. So glad that your hubby got to fullfill a dream.
    And I love that you love and care for your cows so much, what a wonderful thing that Ry will grow up being such an animal lover.
    it’s funny, but I’m racking my brain trying to think of a dream of mine, but all I can think of is to have my own pottery studio where I can work until my heart is content and my family and friends can be a part of what I do…..and it’s coming true….. Crazy.
    thank you for making me remember that.
    hey, you didn’t tell us your dream….you better get on that.

  • Beulah Sorensen

    What a sweet, sweet story…I loved it. My dream is to sing back-up for Billy Joel!

  • Heather

    I saw mention of Sonic… please tell me somebody had a cherry limeade. please.
    I dream of open-ended knitting budget and for my rockstar husband to be able to attend a U2 concert.

talk to me

