bran muffins and the people who love them

my bran muffin junkiesWhen I got married, I was told immediately that I needed to memorize this recipe.  I ignored this advice, which may account for the majority of our first year ‘issues.’  I  learned my lesson well and will now pass this on to you, dear Reader, in the hopes of improving your life.

These freeze amazingly… both the batter and the cooked muffins.  Raw batter will keep in your fridge for up to 6 weeks if you want to make just a few at a time.  This recipe makes A TON.  Like, you-might-have-to-mix-it-in-your-sink A TON.  Shield your eyes from the amount of sugar, lard, and buttermilk.  It masks the cardboard fiber taste.  Counteract the insane-ness by adding some strawberries or blueberries in the mix.  It will make you feel better.

soak together: 2 cups boiling water, 4 cups Bran Buds (cereal aisle, up top… no-man’s land), 2 cups All Bran cereal

mix in a LARGE large bowl: 1 cup shortening, 3 cups sugar, 3 tsp. salt, 4 beaten eggs, 5 cups flour, and 5 tsp baking soda dissolved in a quart of buttermilk .  The buttermilk/baking soda combo makes quite a literal splash… make sure your kids are around to watch the reaction.  I dump the baking soda in the quart, throw the cap back on, and shake like mad.

Now, mix everything together until your arms are about to fall off.  Bake at 350° for 20 minutes (or until golden brown) in a greased or lined muffin tin.  Personally, I am a fan of the silicone muffins cups.  Genius. 

If you make these, please hide the results from my 2 bran muffin junkies.  They are a little out of control about these things.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

8 responses to “bran muffins and the people who love them

  • Jessica "Haynie" Carr

    Oh I am trying these. I need all the help I can get. And Ry loves it when we make any kind of “cupcake”

  • Jim

    Ok you got me as well. Next weekend while at the cottege hiding these will be mine. Smaller number however.

  • Jim

    Can’t spell and hit the send too fast.

    Does everyone but me have silicone muffin cups? I thought they might be hard to handle so have not made the trip except for egg poach cups.

  • Carley

    I have a bran muffin recipe like this too from my mom. It also makes a ton but it’s so good!! They are really good with some homemade strawberry jam on top!! Yum!!
    I bought that same swimsuit from Target last weekend for my oldest daughter! So cute!!

  • Jo

    oh this stand-by dutchie recipe is a must have. I too was introduced to these once I became a “vander something”

    my girls LOVE bran muffins – i dont’ think we ever get to the freezing part cause we eat them too fast.

  • jtp

    yum1 My mom bran muffins and would chop dried appricots, soak them in hot water for a few minutes and then throw them in the batter- might try that with this batch- yum!!!! Anything with three cups of sugar!!!! Seriously- silicone muffin liners, do you put them in your pan or just stand them on a cookie sheet- I’ve always wondered that…..

  • Annie Mulder

    Brad muffins are my favorite food!
    (and funny story…when I was a sophomore I was “going out with”-if you can even call it that- a boy named brad. When I was instant messaging a friend she asked me what my favorite food is. Now I’m not a stellar typist and accidentally typed in, “Brad Muffins”. She still hasn’t let me live that one down.)

  • annie singletary

    sounds great, i can’t wait to try.

talk to me

