A is for…

‘a’ is for apple pie… which I always have on-hand.  It fixes anything.  I am obsessed with Jami’s recipe because it is perfection:

insides:  8-10 apples of your choice peeled, sliced and combined with 1/4 cup sugar, 2 tbs. flour, and 1 tsp. cinnamon

outsides: mixture of 1 stick softened butter, 3/4 cup flour, 1/2 cup sugar, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 3/4 cup oats, and 1 tsp. cinnamon

assemble: crust on bottom (if you want), apple mixture, topping mixture

bake: 350° for about 45 minutes or until golden brown

‘a’ is for America… which I love fiercely.

‘a’ is for the grade I received most in high school and least in college.

‘a’ is for A&M… as in Texas A&M, where I graduated with a degree in Kinesiology/Outdoor Education and spent my free time rock climbing and singing and loving every minute of it.

‘a’ is for Anna… one of my oldest and dearest and smartest friends.  I am a better person for knowing you.

1995, and yes- that is my hair

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

14 responses to “A is for…

  • Jim

    Ok so I am obsessed with apple pie and this one is new. Please explain the inside/ouside business and in payment I will send you an Apple Pan Doudy in an Iron skillet that will knock your red socks off.

    By the way have a safe trip southwest.

  • texasnorth

    the ‘outsides’ are the topping
    the ‘insides’ are the guts of the pie

    ohhhhh it is so.good. I want one NOW.

  • jtp

    yum…sounds delicious…I love your recipes….

  • ecky

    don’t forget a is also for amazing and adorable and artistic….

  • Jim

    And for A friend, making one soonest.

  • sunday

    love all your A’s. you know i love the word fiercely too! it is so passionate and no one can ever mistake how you feel about something when you use it. i may have to figure out a way to use it more. this blog post was fierce!

  • Miss Laura

    A is also for Arby’s on Mondays, where I am totally missing our lunch dates 😦

  • anna

    Whoooo woooooooo wooooo! I am blog famous!!!!!!!!

    I’m so happy, I’m not even gonna be mad about that picture being on the intarweb. 🙂

  • heather

    Hi KatieKate, yeah! I’m glad you found my blog, cause I’m a big fan of yours. I’m a friend of Annie S. and so that is how I found yours. Love the Etsy site, too! Hey, I need to try your bran muffins out. I worked at this great bakery in Asheville that made amazing ones and darn it—i forgot to get that recipe when i moved. In fact, in France bran muffins are unheard of! They prefer those butter layered, flaky things, that DON’T stick-to-your-ribs, like pain au chocolate and croissant. I can never eat another one again after a year here!

  • Wende

    I’m sorry, Katie. But you are wrong. Apple pie does not fix everything. Chocolate pie does. Ha! 😀

  • Jami Vander Kooi

    A is for Admirable….I admire you always.

  • Margie

    Katie, IF we were the same age and IF we had been at A&M at the same time, we couldn’t have been friends. Here’s why: I failed Golf. I showed up. I pulled an all-nighter before the exam. And I took it P/F. I also came darn close to failing bowling. Kinesiology was my hardest class ever. BUT. At least my mother laughed. And although I’m not sure, I think the “F” in PE might have helped me land my first job; the interviewers – all male – were incredulous.

    Even so, I do love that school.

    And the apple pie recipe sounds fabulous.

  • texasnorth

    If it makes you feel better, Margie… I made a C in walking. WALKING. Unbelieveable. I was a ropes course girl… not an athlete 🙂

talk to me

