I score, you score.

registerThis is gonna be a random one, Folks.  Be fore-warned.

Hey- before I forget, thanks so much for the ‘bodacious’ comments Monday.  It’s a good day when someone calls you bodacious, I don’t care who you are.

My score:

I went to the Mother of All Garage Sales with Jami yesterday and found this vintage bank… I KNOW.  It only opens when there’s at least $10 inside… how fantastic is that?  A bank that actually makes you save.  And, it’s lime green.  And, it’s metal.  I love it.

small-market-bag-003Your score:

I finished up 2 small/medium cotton knit market bags… perfect for the Farmer’s Market season ahead, or your daily organic lunch, or your onions at the grocery, or your kiddos library books.  They’re in the etsy shop.

AND (you score twice)

I have finally figured out a pattern for fabric plastic grocery bags.  Shanna was my guinea pig on this one, and I think it worked.  She seems pretty happy and has ordered more.  I’m taking that as a good sign.  They’re the same footprint as your normal plastic grocery bag, including the bottom gusset, but they’re double-thick with up-cycled cotton.   These are also in the etsy shop on a made-to-order basis.  Look how excited Ry is… that kid kills me.

sb-09-001 sb-09-002

And, finally, a score for both of us:

egg-comparisonYour chickens (because you are a big part of TexasNorth) are very happy out here.  We recently inherited 40 more chickens (I KNOW).  I quickly jumped on the ol’ email and rounded up some egg-buyers becasue there was simply NO MORE ROOM in the fridge.  I’m now delivering 10 dozen eggs every other week to friends in town.  How hilarious is that?!  Who knew two years ago that those crazy chickens would be the start of something so fantastic?  I love it.  A friend emailed me and said, ‘This is fantastic.  I am so impressed you are making your dreams come true at TexasNorth – seriously.”  You’re right, Jo.  In all the craziness of this past Winter and all the travel of last month, I completely missed the fact that the farm has become its very own little thing.  It’s wonderful.  People are invested in us and our animals and our choices, and it’s awesome. 

[edited to add: I totally didn’t explain the photo!  On the left is a store egg.  On the right is our happy, healthy, rich and wonderful egg.  CRAZY DIFFERENCE, people!] 

Thanks for sharing the dream with us.

Y’all have a good weekend.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

16 responses to “I score, you score.

  • Cortney

    Everything about this post makes me happy.
    Everything.

  • sunday

    can you please ship me some eggs! we want you eggs and no one else’s!!! Love the new market bags. i need me some of them! good job my friend.

  • sunday

    oh and i will be happy to be a guinea pig anytime you need to experiment on a porject

  • Jim

    Wool geathering is next I bet….Love the bank. I could a good egg right now.

  • Carley

    My grandpa had a bank just like that… well it wasn’t a funky green color like that (awesome!), but it was just like that! How fun! Love the bags by the way!

  • Miss Laura

    LOVE the bank. That is awesome. Glad you and Jami had such a productive trip!

    And…um…I want in on this egg action. Can I drive my tiny Korean car through all the mucky floodedness to get some in the next day or two?

  • amanda

    Dude. I’ve got to find an egg farm around these parts.

  • Jo

    yea – I was quoted! I don’t think that has ever happened before!

    I meant to tell you yesterday that Brian Dykstra is gonna do the driveway – give Curt a big smooch from us! We are hoping to schedule him in about 2 weeks. Apparently he is doing a BIG job for a Mr. Mulder! haha, and won’t be available until then.

  • Annie

    your dreams are amazing to watch unfold.
    the bags are so great, i will go see them in your etsy shop.
    I can’t believe the difference in the eggs, never knew there was that stark of a difference. thank you for sharing and educating.

  • heather

    Gosh, that was a scary difference between the normal factory farm egg vs. your glow-in-the-dark orange ones! I spent some time at an organic farm by the Pacific Ocean and they collected sea weed off the beach and threw it around for their chickens. They loved picking through it and eating all the little sea creatures and tiny bugs. Man, those yolks could hurt your eyes just by lookin’ at em. Super bright orange color! Congrats on your cottage (egg) industry! Now, do you do international shipping? 😉

  • jtp

    I don’t even eat eggs…unless they’re in sweet things…but I want some of yours!!!!

  • Jim

    Addendum to my first post please:

    If you aren’t near Kate (cause I bet hers would be the best, probably cause of Rylie), run don’t walk to your local egg producer. Because not only do they look better, they taste like eggs should. We have been getting locally produced, eggs and roasting chickens for over a year and oh my goodness……

    I am only sorry that Kates are just a little to far away to get.

  • Lisa

    So what are the odds of this: I did the same experiment with honey yesterday. The Kroger honey was much darker and had a sort of peppery taste. The locally produced honey was a much lighter color and had a cleaner, smoother taste. We must be on to something, here. Maybe a career in side-by-side taste testing?

    I wish I lived closer. I’d help you out with those eggs.

  • shanda

    Wish I could live closer so I could get eggs. We go through almost 2 dozen a week in our house. CRAZY!

    Good to see on Wednesday. Hope Rylie enjoyed the ‘deals’.

  • Wende

    OOh, I love, love the new bags! Fabulous darling!

    Thanks so much for your sweet comment on my Blogging Anniversary. I can’t believe I’ve been at it this long.

    Kiss that baby for me!

talk to me

