J is for…

‘j’ is for Janay, Jane, Joe, Joey, Jeremy, Jim, Jimmy, Jennifer, and Jeff…all Sebeck family.  That’s just plain crazy.  This 4th of July marks 50 years on the Sebeck farm in Uniontown, PA.  We’re all headed that way (us by way of New York) for a family reunion.  Look for us on the news.

by Janna 020

‘j’ is for Janna… better known to you as The Little Blonde One, or L.B.O.  She’s 5 ft. with the right shoes on.  Janna and I met in college on the way to Freshman orientation.  I was intimidating and she was preppy, as far as first-impressions go.  We both needed a new roommate second-semester and thus it began.   This girl… this girl is incredible.  She is a friend, an anchor, an angel, and completely unlike anyone I’ve ever known.  One time, on a sad and dreary college weekend, we sat at my parents’ house and watched 9 hours of 90210 reruns.  She also majored in biomedical engineering.  Whatever.  We’ve been friends for nearly 14 years now.  She is so many of my favorite memories, and I love her.  You are my family, Beautiful.  Love always,  bff, 2good + 2be = 4gotten, KT.  PS: move to Michigan.  PPS: Please don’t be mad about your picture.   

‘j’ is for jam… as in, strawberry jam.  I put up 12.5 pints of freezer jam last week with 1 flat (8 quarts… the little baskets).  I use Ball’s no-cook freezer jam pectin, which cost me $1.49 a pack and took half an afternoon’s time.  We tried to pick the berries ourselves this year but got rained out.  And let’s face it, buying a flat is just easier with a two year-old.  Curt, the man I love, helped me do some math on the home-made schtuff:  not accounting for the cost of sugar or jars, each pint costs $2.45 to make.  Each jar is 25% sugar.  Each jar tastes infinitely better than anything you can find in the grocery.  This week, I’ll buy another flat and put up another 12 pints or so.  These jars will easily get us through another year of jam sandwiches, provided I can keep Curt out of the fridge at 9pm with a spoon in his hand.  I realize strawberry is old-fashioned and plain, but look at who you’re talking to.  What kind of jam/jelly do you like?

***

I burned the midnight oil while The Boy was in Tejas this past week.  Tomorrow, I’ll have 2 full- aprons and 10 half-aprons in the TexasNorth etsy shop.  Stop by and take a peek! [edited to say: Um, let’s make that Wednesday!  I forgot I still have to take photos and write descriptions for everything… oops.]

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

8 responses to “J is for…

  • jtp

    you are amazing sewing all that stuff!!! i can’t wait to look at your creations! I love homemade jam myself- we’re a fan of the cure-jell pectin, mainly because it’s the only one I’ve ever used and it worked, so i keep using it. made 5 gallons of pure yumminess!!!! It makes the perfect hostess gift with a little gingham ribbon tied around it..did i forget to blog about this??? have fun in NY

  • LoLo

    Straight up rhubarb (w/ LOTS of sugar)…no strawberries. Strawberry Rhubarb jam is for wimps :). Smeared on plain wheat toast is T.H.E. B.E.S.T.!! Pucker Up Baby!

    PS we love Banan too! The whole Schierling family for that matter. Speaking of J’s…

  • Becky

    You had me at 90210 reruns…..

  • janna

    i love this part, “I was intimidating”…makes me smile even now thinking about the before-i-knew-you stage. 🙂 thank you, katie, for your sweet words. and the beauty of it is, you know i feel the exact same way.

  • Renee

    Hey KatieKate,

    Love, love, love reading your blog. I love your simple life! I love your cows and your chickens and all the cool stuff you make. I was searching for the custom canvas on the Etsy site–where did it go? I wanted to purchase one for Camber’s 18th birthday. Do you still make them?

    Miss you friend! Life is definitely not very simple here–hot and humid, but not simple…

    Love you!

  • wende

    I was 5 the first time I made freezer jam. My mom enrolled me in this summer program where I got to take art and cooking classes. I LOVED it–far more than real school. And I can still taste the jam–so good.

  • Jim

    I have not made freezer Jam, but lots of the cooked. Strawberry being my very favorite. Time causes me to get it from a old family farm about 2 miles from the cottage.

  • Shanna Riggsbee

    janna may NOT move to michigan. i need her. how ’bout you pack up and move back to the mother country for a couple of years?!

talk to me

