and we’re off…

aprons Almost.

We’re leaving at 4am Saturday morning for Niagara Falls (passports: check) and upstate New York en route to Pittsburgh for the 4th of July.  I still need to grocery shop and do the laundry.  Curt is in charge of all the “gear” like the car and the tent and the axe.  I am in charge of the clothes and the kitchen.  (Please help me remember a spatula this time, for Virginia’s sake.)  How do you divide up your vacation responsibilities?

The Ladies of the Field are on their annual single’s cruise to meet eligible bachelors for this year’s calf crop. (longhorns: at a friend’s ranch for the month mingling with the bulls) Renae is on her way out to manage the farm and collect eggs while we are away.  Abe is thrilled to have her undivided attention.  Personally, I think he has a crush on her.  

I finished the apron challenge I gave myself. (aprons: in the shop… the photos are not magazine quality, but my best effort to date.  I give myself a B+ for the whole endeavor.)

chicken sunning herselfI hosted 2 dinner parties this week. (It just happened that way… I didn’t plan them to coincide with 90° weather and the Packing Challenge of 2009.  Life happens.)

The chickens are handling the heat as best they can… digging holes in the flower beds and dusting themselves frequently.  (You may think, at first glance, that they are *ahem* dead.  They are not.  I may or may not have panicked when I first found this lady all stretched out in her dust bowl.  Dude.  You have to tell  me about these things.)

My child is, at this very moment, walking around with a  garbage can on her head.  (Calm down; it’s mesh.  I can totally see her.)  She’s two.  And, she’s in a good mood… a hit-or-miss thing these days.  I’m not taking the garbage can away from her.  Here is my child for you: 

I will be fine once we hit the road and we are all physically strapped down.  At the moment, I am near panic and in need of a milkshake.

Excuse me, I need to go.  Rylie just flushed her underpants down the potty.  “All Done!” she signed.  Yes indeed, Child.  All done.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

11 responses to “and we’re off…

  • Jim

    Loved it, I got a wide smile. Be safe.

  • Cathy

    Have a safe and fun trip. We’ll be seeing you on the 4th…yea!!

  • kateohkatie

    I just sent you an email about one of those aprons.

    Ry is SO cute in that video! I mean, she’s cute all the time, but the very *two-ness* of her just there…so funny!

    I, too, would have flipped out if I saw ‘dead’ chickens, btw. Totally plausible. Really!

  • jtp

    Have a wonderful trip!!! You have been so super productive lately- I must get on the ball!

  • Amy B.

    I saw the photo before reading and wondered what could possibly be the story behind the photo of the dead chicken on your blog.

    We totally understand about the hit-or-miss of moody two-year-olds around here. And I guess you can skip my question via e-mail regarding potty training. Will she be in diapers or underwear for the road trip is what I want to know – for future reference (i.e., our road trip later this summer).

  • Mandi

    Hope you have a wonderful vacation! and just for the record, your hot weather has nothing on ours!

  • Kayce

    Have a great vacation!! And when you are in Pittsburgh find a place that carries Brunton Dairy Farm’s Chocolate Milk. You can thank me later!! 🙂 http://bruntondairy.com/

  • Rachel

    Love the video of Rylie! The aprons look awesome. And, the chickens- how funny- they can play possum pretty well, huh? Hope you have a great time on your trip.

  • Becky

    That video made my day! What a cutie-pants! Have fun on your trip!

  • lisahudson

    I’m laughing out loud over here. Can you hear me? That video was so dang cute. That kid is funny, funny, funny.

    Have a great trip. Have a milkshake. Enjoy. See you on the flipside.

    Lisa

  • lisahudson

    P.S. I did think that chicken was a goner.

talk to me

