K is for…

Copy of old school 001‘k’ is for Kentucky… where I lived for kindergarten (Ms. McCracken), 1st grade (Ms. Durham… oh my word, is that right?), and 2nd grade (Mr. Kirby).  My father was stationed at Ft. Knox, where we keep all the gold.  It’s also where my favorite-photo-ever was taken… me and Daniel-son, camping.  I’m wearing Snoopy rain boots.  Dig it. 

‘k’ is for Kathryn… my middle name.  I have ALWAYS been Katie or Kate, though.  Only once, for 6 months in Mr. Kirby’s class, was I ‘Mary.’  I was too shy to correct him. 

‘k’ is for Kalispell… as in Montana.  We visited here the summer of 2007 with Rylie while camping in Glacier National Park… the best camping/hiking/good time ever.

Scooter‘k’ is for kittens… and our crop of barn-kittens are so ridiculously cute.   What’s even cuter, if possible, is Rylie’s sign for “baby kitties.”  It basically makes you melt into a pool of mush.  When she comes home, I will video it for you and post it.  It will make your life better, I promise.  This here is Scooter… the little guy who lived under Ry’s bed

_______________

We’ve been home less than 24 hours from camping/family reunion-ing.  My child is with her grandparents until Saturday.  The re-entry into real life was a bit of a sucker punch… over our (torrential-rain-themed) vacation we suffered a terrible loss in the family, received a very large unexpected bill, and dumbly missed a best-friend’s birthday.  On the plus side, Renae and TexasNorth seem to have fared extremely well in our absence.  Abe is well, the kittens are well, the cows are well, the chickens are… well.

I am taking a big, lazy sigh… and assuming all will shake out.  It is good to be back in this space… this blog-land.  It is comfortable and familiar and un-surprising.  I like that right now.     

old school

Happy Birthday, Steph.  I’m telling all the world I love you and I suck. 🙂

 

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

14 responses to “K is for…

talk to me

