sweetness

Happy Thursday, Folks!  That’s especially for you, JTP.  Yesterday was Wednesday.  Today is Thursday.

There have recently been some extremely kind words said about TexasNorth out in Blog Land.  To each and every one of you, I say Thank You and I love you and I have pie for you.

here, here, here, here, and here

Truly.  Very kind.  I’ve said it many a time before… but I love this Blog World.  I’ve made so many unexpected connections and friends.  I forget that I do not know all of you personally… I think and talk about you as if I do.  William turns 1 this week!  Shanna’s moving to Austin!  Cort just made a presentation at the bakery!  The Boy regularly asks me, “So… this is a college friend or a blog friend?” for clarification.  It’s a valid question.  At any rate: I love y’all, too.  If you’ve commented here and it connects to somewhere, I can guarantee you I read up on you too.  I may not always comment… but I do read you.  All the time.  Thanks for the love.  You make a girl happy.

::  there’s been a small amount of crafting happening around these parts ::

1.  a pillow for sweet little William Speer, who looooves airplanes ::  I used a lightweight denim for the foundation pieces and then some fun surf fabric for the letters and shapes.  Super cute.

william

2. a little zipper pouch to hold all of Ry’s plastic animals in the car ::  this was my first zipper purse pouch thing a ma jig, and it gets a B++.  The zipper corners are a little wonky, but that’s because I cheated a tiny bit.  Note to self: next time, no cheating.  

aprons 037

There’s so much more to do.  I have Too-Much Paralysis happening… you know, where there’s so much to be done and you end up just sitting on the couch watching Law & Order instead?  Just me?  Fine. 

Can we talk for a second?  Seriously?  My child is killing me.  Something has happened to her and she is now on the path to a life of crime… or at the very least, a career on the stage.  The child is moody and wild and picky and then so unbelievably sweet and kind.  She’s trying to kill cats and throwing food and jumping off stairs and pulling my flowers out by the roots.  And then her father comes home for 2 hours before bedtime and she’s all angel… cute and bubbly and gabby and ‘Yes, I’ll eat anything you ask me to.’   I’M ON TO YOU, MISSY!  I USED TO BE YOU!   These past two weeks have completely taken me out of Mother of the Year running on Oprah and I don’t even care. 

Also, I love her very much… which is frustrating to me.  How can you be so angry at someone and yet think they are the most adorable, smart, hilarious creature on the planet?  My brain is going to explode.

Give me another episode of Law & Order.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

13 responses to “sweetness

  • jtp

    yeah Thursday!!!! Congrats on all the blog love 🙂

  • sunday

    love all the blog love and I should be blog loving you on my blog! wow that was a sentence full of the same words. I LOVE my apron I just got from you. It is beautiful and very tempting not to give it as a hostess gift one day and save it for myself. maybe I could invite myself over for dinner at my house and give it to me! sounds lovely right! i often find myself in paralysis with all the things i need to do but too overwhelmed to do them. oh goodness it makes me nervous just thinking about it right now. i need to lay down!

  • Jessica "Haynie" Carr

    yer famous, I am so proud.

    Being two is tough. I just keep hearing that three can be tougher. I think we are headed in that direction as well. Hang tight. I feel ya sister.

  • Carley

    Doesn’t surprise me that so many people in the blog world think you’re great…. cause you are! Congrats for being so cool!! = )

  • Amy

    two is hard. Three is hard. Four? i hear its better, so just hunker down for a couple of more years 🙂

    Its the saving grace of the kids that they are so cute. Seriously. i continually tell myself that when Aub refuses to sleep night after night…..

    and congrats on being famous in cyberspace!

  • Mandi

    I love everything about this post! Hang in there with Rylie. “This, too, shall pass.”

  • Amy L

    Thanks for the visit and comment!! I don’t get too many of them!

    First – Law & Order – every Friday afternoon the TV is tuned to TNT!! It’s good background company while naps happen and I try to accomplish one or two items. Please give me the original though – that’s my fave!

    Second – Yes I wonder too how it is possible to love them as you are yelling and pointing a finger. I put all 3 to bed last night with punishment for the crime of the youngest as he only learned by example of the elder & they all suffered. Still even I kissed them good-night the anger was tamped down with love for their cuteness asking for kisses. I just make sure to tell them I still love them even when I get angry at them. It’s just how it goes sometimes.

    Hope the next few days are better!

  • Sir Chris of Rockfordshire

    hey katie kate, i’m just becoming addicted to all the reruns of law and order svu, which one(s) do you watch?

  • Pap

    Aw , not my sweet little girl …… Being bad … I don’t believe it ..

  • Becky

    Ellen is up to the same activity, there is a certain fit that involves fist pounding, and screaming into the couch that she saves soley for me, her mother:) Oh crazy girls
    I blog love you back

  • Amy B.

    “Too-Much Paralysis” – I’ve always wondered what to call the affliction that confines me to the couch during early-afternoon judge shows (gulp – my tacky secret is out) instead of finishing the skirt that just needs a hem, printing out the photos for a baby book, and actually working on an article I hope to get published some day.

    Someone told me recently that the half-years are worse than the years, which seems to be the case around here. I’ve been out of the running for mother-of-the-year for awhile now.

    Oh, and I’ve heard four is even worse than two, so I’m not holding my breath on that one.

    Congratulations on the praise – it suits you.

  • Zoe Speer

    Katie,
    My William LOVES his pillow. He is also enjoying the wonders of screaming and fit throwing. Blythe did not do this until 3 and has stopped by 4(so far) and so my hope is William will get this out of his system and be done by 3…we shall see.
    Like you said either way we still love em 😉

  • ecky

    we call it “mama drama”
    the fun yelling and screaming that is reserved only for me.
    yay me.
    it’s funny how stereotypical a tantrum can look. sometimes it is seriously hard not to laugh at her pounding her fists and kicking her legs and screaming. but most of the time laughing is the last thing on my mind.

talk to me

