It’s Thursday.

I have lost my keys.  Somewhere between the front door and the car, I have lost my keys.  They are nowhere.  I’m using the spare car key on the dorky spare key chain and I need to upgrade it to permanent status.  Apparently, I also need to get another ‘spare.’  I have a baby appointment today at 1pm complete with another ultrasound… I’ll update you in a few hours.  I’m still ridiculously nervous, but trying to remain cool. 

beltYesterday I got a little excited about Ry going to preschool (I’m a little bi-polar about this.) and ordered her a belt and some suspenders.  Next, I need to find a pair of brown Buster Browns like I used to have… you know, the leather buckle t-strap Mary Janes?  I figure, if we’re going into this school thing 3 years early then we’re going in 100%.  Her belt is light blue (robin’s egg blue, if you ask me) and her suspenders are red (of course).  The child has no buns, so we have issues with keeping our pants up.

shoesI also bought some ridiculously cute fabric at the store to make her a dress/top.  It’s so adorable.  I love it.  I just need those shoes.  Any suggestions? I’m thinking these… but where are the heavy-duty brown leather buckle shoes of my youth?  Do they not exist anymore? *sigh* Tragedy.

I’m wondering what you remember from your ‘first days’ of school? 

  1. I took a bagel/cream cheese/ ham sandwich for lunch every day of my life.
  2. We always got to pick out an outfit from the JC Penney catalog because Mom got a teacher’s discount.
  3. I had a purple Lisa Frank lunch box and thermos.  Just going to her website makes my heart flutter a little bit.  I sooooo loved her stickers. They seem a bit more mod now, but the same.
  4. I always got a new pair of white Keds at the beginning of the year.  If I saved my own money, I could upgrade to the white leatherones.  I know, people.  I know. ‘Cool’ personified, that was me.
  5. I lived for the school supply list… new pencils and fresh notebooks with no mistakes in them and dividers for my 3-ring binder.  I never got a Trapper Keeper.  I still cry about that if I think too hard.
  6. My mom was a teacher in my school until I went to junior high, so we always arrived at an ungodly hour.  I often rode the bus home with my brother, though.  We were latchkey kids.  We loved it.

Off to the baby doctor… good thoughts, People!  Good thoughts!

Mamma called the doctor and the doctor said, “Baby is good.”

heartbeat: 167

due date: March 18

measuring: exactly on 9 weeks

WORD.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

21 responses to “It’s Thursday.

  • Cathy

    I remember always buying something plaid. Just walking thru the store the other day, brought back memories of a dress I so loved. It was dark brown with a bib effect of ivory and ruffled edging with buttons. It was my fav school dress of all times. Good luck at the doctor’s, be thinking of you.

  • Shannon

    I remember those shoes, I think I had brown ones. The closest I can find to them are these:

    http://www.zappos.com/product/7268044/color/72

    I really like this pair:

    http://www.zappos.com/product/7325336/color/492

    And there’s these:

    http://www.zappos.com/product/7361359/color/492

    If you go to zappos and do a search for leather t strap shoes, they are found in there, in different colors.

    Good luck at the doctor.

  • Cortney

    My first few formative years I lived directly across the street (Main Street, no less) from my school. There is video footage of my mom walking me across the street to my first day of kindergarten. I could go to the video if necessary, but it’s not required, because I still remember it exactly. I had on a little white polo-style shirt dress with red stripes, a tiny red belt (probably much if not exactly like the one you have pictured above), my most favorite sandals of all time that had multiple straps in red, yellow, green, and blue, and I was carrying a metal (oh, remember METAL?) Strawberry Shortcake lunchbox. I became best friends that year with Karrie DeHart, because she had the same lunchbox. My mom was pregnant with my brother. And I had looooong blonde hair. Oh, how times change…

  • amanda

    Good thoughts! Good thoughts! Good thoughts!

    Ah, the Keds…very important for a young girl trying to make it in elementary school.

  • Mandi

    I’m just catching up on all your stuff, and I wanted to pass along my congratulations on the pregnancy. I hope all goes well at your appointment today.

    I remember shopping at Anthony’s and Buster Browns and Penney’s for new school clothes and shoes in the nearest town of any size, which was about 50 miles away. I also remember getting instant holes in the backsides of my new jeans from dragging my bottom on the ground while the merry-go-round went around and knowing my mom wouldn’t have been nearly as upset about that if she had only been there to see just how much fun that was.

  • Nancy

    We called those shoes, barefoot sandles and Buster Brown carried them. My daughter (35 now) had a new pair every year until she started to protest!! LOL Her favorite were the navy blue color…
    When I was in high school, keds were considered the “wrong” tennies to wear and we would get them for gym class and immediately tear the blue rubber sticker off the back of each shoe. LOL They didn’t even HAVE leather then..,

    Good thoughts coming your way!

  • Miss Laura

    I can’t believe you can’t find Buster Browns! I could swear I’ve seen those around. Have you considered saddle shoes? I had those too. Or have you looked at Stride Rite?

    Let me tell you a little story about Stride Rite, as this is going to be the bulk of “I remember going to school” story. ALL our shoes were Stride Rite when we were little. We got them at Golden Shoes in downtown Traverse City and it was always the same nice old man who waited on us. Anyway, my mom was extremely anal about us having good quality shoes. LEATHER shoes. I can remember petitioning for jelly shoes and those vinyl shoes with cartoon characters on it, and the rote answer I received was, “No, your feet need to breathe.” As I got bigger I got Reebok Princess shoes to match the ones my mother wore. One year I got lucky when they came in pink leather. And then the saddle shoes…those came from Stride Rite and OH how I loved them!

    And all my back-to-school clothes came from JC Penney and Kmart, because that’s all there was in Traverse City in the early 80’s. Seriously. (Oh, and Sears. We had Sears!) In Kindergarten I had a Cabbage Patch Kids tote bag because my mom had heard through the grapevine that my Kindergarten teacher didn’t like backpacks. In 1st grade I got a She-Ra backpack, and it was sooo awesome.

    And wouldn’t you know…I’m probably going to take my kids to Stride Rite once they’re walking. Seems like it worked out okay for us!

  • Kelly Bates

    Saw shoes like that at the stride rite outlet just the other day. Was wishing that Haleigh was still young enough to get away wearing them. Too bad she has her own ideas these days.

  • Julie

    One time this lady who had five kids said the only advice on children she felt she could give was this, “If you can’t find your keys, try looking in the toy box.”

  • kateohkatie

    Good luck at the baby doctor 🙂

    I have fond memories of Lisa Frank stuff as well. I always remember seeing it as SO! IMPOSSIBLY! BEAUTIFUL!!!

    I still like sparkly purple and pink things…

  • LoLo

    Amelia has these shoes in white, brown, and black…for the second year in a row. I ordered them for her last year and loved them so much that I ordered the same exact ones in a bigger size for this year too! You can find them all over Ebay, but they are immediately accessible here: http://www.sweetsoles.com/item_639/Coco-Jumbo-White-Leather-Mary-JanesbrSizes-5-13-Available.htm
    or

  • LoLo

    oops I hit the dreaded “submit” button before I was ready. Like I was saying…
    or here: http://www.sweetsoles.com/item_136/Coco-Jumbo-Chocolate-Brown-Leather-Euro-T-Straps.htm
    They do run a little big so make sure to check the measurement chart. They held up so well and still looked great even after she had grown out of them.

    I was just talking to Steph about the absolute greatness of crisp, clean, untainted school supplies. I have been collecting a bunch for some refugee families this last week and I have had so much fun…and they weren’t even for me! I was discussing this with Drew and he looked at me like I was a complete freak and told me that he doesn’t even remember that aspect of childhood. I can’t believe his mother deprived him of such joy his entire life :).

  • Ellen

    I have been praying hard for every single one of those one hundred and sixty-seven heartbeats and am SO excited to hear about them!!!

    Could you please start commuting to Charlotte for Riley’s therapy services? I think I need her and her red suspenders in my life. Please and thank you.

  • Heather

    Don’t rule out Puddle Jumper’s adorable selection of Mary Janes for our girls… For example…
    http://store.puddlejumpershoes.com/a-closer-look/markdowns/Chocolate+Brown+-+Turquoise+Toddler+Polka+Dot+Maryjane/92

  • stephanie

    I knew my sister would recommend those shoes to you! They really are adorable and durable. What more could you want? School supplies represent a new beginning, a clean slate, a fresh start. I LOVE them!!! I had a Menudo (all boy Mexican singing group) lunchbox. So there! And you thought you were cool! (I’ll never forget the year Mom bought be colored Keds. I about died of shear bliss!)

  • Margie

    GREAT NEWS ABOUT THE BABY.

  • Cathy

    great news Katie!

  • heather

    yeah katiekate! Your baby is strong and healthy-she’s growing just like she should. that is so reassuring! now you can relax until your next visit.

    Yes, Keds rock my world; or used to. Once i got ones with black and white comic strips printed on them and they came with special markers that you could color in on the shoes. oh my word. i guess for the kids of todays’ generation Converse are the big thing. Trapper Keepers! yeah! I forgot about those…ah, memory lane…Are you a 1970’s baby or 1980’s? Cause we seem to have lusted after all the same things as little girls.

  • Thya Littell

    I’m trying to get a feel for the shoes we wore as kids. I have a visual but after all of the searching everything is looking the same. And what is with the velcro? I mean I get that it’s easy and quick but I’m a big fan of buckles. Are these what you were picturing?

    http://www.plumshoes.com/items/pepe/pepeblackpatentt-strap.html

  • Renee

    Yikes! I am a little behind in reading blogs but congratulations and I am praying for you and your little one (actually both of your little ones). So excited for Ry and her new preschool adventure too!

    I remember getting so excited about a new lunch box each year. I still have a secret love for lunch boxes, any kind but themed ones are my favorite.

    I found a blog that you will love–you must check out http://www.aholyexperience.com. The author is amazingly deep,thoughtful, and poetic. She reminds me of you. Check it out!

    Praying for you all!

    Love and hugs!

talk to me

