S is for…

s‘s’ is for Scrabble… which I love.

‘s’ is for Sebeck… the best maiden name ever.  (Say: SEE beck)  I genetically belong to a motley crew of Bohemians known far and wide for throwing great parties, serving in every major war, and having strict ethics concerning apple chucking.

‘s’ is for sass… which my child has in abundance.  I swear, lately it seems like this kid has found another gear. I cannot keep up with her.  I spend a lot of my day shrugging. (Ry’s hat says ‘Dan’s Auto Care,’ which is her GranPap Sebeck’s day job.)

‘s’ is for straight… as in face, which I am very good at keeping.  I’m a good liar, and I have used this talent for both good and evil.  Now that I’m all grown up, it’s almost always used for humor’s sake.  Almost.

jumper‘s’ is for sewing… which I have jumped back into after a ridiculous hiatus.  Becky, I swear I haven’t forgotten you or sweet Ellen.  Please see above ‘s is for sass’.  But, I’m back.  Here: Ry’s school jumper WITH FACING, People.  With. Facing.  (That’s the green polka dots on the inside.) Because I can be a rock star when I wanna be.

‘s’ is for Stephaniea bff as long as Janna (they come from the same hometown), my maid of honor, my friend who sings Christmas carols all blasted year long, LoLo’s sister, my European travel buddy, and my host in S-is-for-Spain.  She’s as good as they come.  Also, her son is going to marry Rylie.

‘s is for simple… our motto here at TexasNorth.  Simple does not imply easy.  In fact, nowadays simple often requires a bit more effort than the advances of the day offer us.  Or, it requires saying ‘no’- which is harrrd. Or, it requires manual labor. Or it requires doing without.  Or, it requires extra time.  Or, it requires space.  Or, it requires less.  But, we are fans of simple.

And, I think y’all are super.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

12 responses to “S is for…

  • Rie

    I am infinitely jealous of your straight face talent. It is wicked in combo with your wit and KILLS me!!!

  • Jim

    Scrabble is gentic with my better half. Not me as you probably know, I can’t spell.

    Picture I like but can’t read the logo. Focus please…..and what is she seeing….chickens or longhorns doing something or is Curt in trouble.

  • Julie

    wonderful post. very impressed with the dress. cute picture. glad you are switching to elastic pants. nice news.

  • Jessica "Haynie" Carr

    oh the sass!!! Where do they get it, I mean we are so sweet and innocent what happened to our kids (wink wink)

  • Jtp

    ohhhh what a sweet jumper…lucky, lucky, girl!

  • Mandi

    We also love Scrabble. Would love to get together and play sometime!

  • LoLo

    If scrabble had a numbers addition, I WOULD ROCK! Just think of all the sneaky math combinations you could come up with, I am getting chills now just thinking about it! Seriously, how is it that Steph and I came from the same DNA recipe? Somebody must have stirred the pot in different directions while we were still cooking.

  • LoLo

    BTW, what’s wrong with singing Christmas carols all year long?? There is nothing more happy than a great carol! Oh, and don’t forget the late night showing of Miracle on 34th Street, or White Christmas, or It’s a Wonderful Life, or anything claymation, or… We can’t help it, it’s our daddy’s fault!

  • Stacey

    Can I please use S is for simple for my facebok status?

  • Becky

    Please don’t worry about it at all! You totally have freedom to do it or not do it! It is no big deal with us. If it shows up in the mail for her 18th b-day that will be just great with us!
    I’m sad that the alphabet is getting close to the end.
    I’m wearing elastic pants right now but just because I ate too much lunch:)

  • Margie

    You hit the nail on the head with Simple. We’re totally there. Speaking of simple, reading a book you might like: Coop, by Michael Perry. All about a decision to farm, and keep it simple.

  • stephanie

    Oh the weather outside is frightful…but the fire is so delightful….how does that not make you all warm and fuzzy inside? I suck at spelling which is why I refuse to play Scrabble. My sister is a TOTAL GEEK for even wishing there were a math version!! I promise we will raise Isaac to be a perfect southern gentleman for Rylie. 🙂 Simple….ahhh, the only time these days life feels simple is when I’m sitting on the floor playing with Isaac. Pure and sweet.

talk to me

