Sorry, Heather.

I do NOT have news about the sex of the baby.  Sorry, folks.  It’s too early to tell.  I CAN tell you that today I am officially 12-weeks along with no signs of trouble.  I’ve been kind of holding my breath… waiting.  I think, now, I can finally settle into this thing and believe.

We’re NOT gonna find out the sex, though.  We’re gonna keep it a surprise, just like with Rylie.  Sorry if that makes you crazy. It’s also looking like I will have a planned c-section due to my body’s AWESOME inability to naturally move beyond the pregnancy stage.  Ry’s c-section went very well, and I have no fears or misgivings about this decision.  Early March, Peeps!  Here we come!  Please send me pants.  I have no pants.

The big surprise I promised you is this:

final

I cannot even stand it I LOVE THEM SO MUCH.  For the past few months, I’ve been working with my friend Alan (A wicked designer… seriously, people.  You want a monster coloring book?  He made one.) on a logo for TexasNorth.  Something that’s more folk than country, something that says cows but home, something that looks rockin’ on a shirt.  Curt goes to tons of construction and cow meetings… and everyone has spiffy Carhartt jackets and memo pads and t-shirts with their name on it.  Just simple stuff.  Not like Alan’s stuff.  Dude.  We rock the PLANET.  We can print up some hoodies for Fall and it’ll have OUR name on it.  Not a masonry sub-contractor’s slogan, not our friend’s ranch, not the local VFW.  TexasNorth.  It’s a real place with a real identity.   

This was the first step for me to begin designing our future website and farm signs and stuff.  I could not be more thrilled.  You want a sweatshirt?  You bet’cha!  I’ll let you know when I get ready to order.

Thanks for celebrating with us.  I know farming and cows and chickens and sewing and canning are far from your neck of the woods in a lot of cases, but I very much consider it a privilege to share it with you.  You’re a part of the dream!  Someday, you’ll come out here and stay for a week with your family in the back cabins.  You’ll help harvest the garden and chop wood. You can drive the tractor and move hay around.  The kids can fall asleep on the porch glider while we play cards and watch old movies. 

And, I’ll make you an apple pie.   

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

30 responses to “Sorry, Heather.

  • Susannah

    hooray for your 2nd trimester! i’m not going to lie: when the pants stopped fitting, I left the top button undone. and then a bit of the zipper. oh, the things people don’t suspect when you’re wearing a long shirt.

    i love love love the logo. can definitely picture it on a worn-in t-shirt. we haven’t even named our farm yet, but i want a logo too!

  • AmyD

    oooooh that sounds soooo fun, even though we’ve never met 😉

    our little beans are almost the exact same, we are due march 1st with a little bro or sis for simon.

    the logo is perfect! i hope i see it on a jacket or something in Cowtown someday. I would totally come up and say hi.

    pants. i know. we almost had marital disharmony over mama’s lack of pants today =)

  • Jtp

    sooo cool! about the 12 weeks no problems and the logo- I love it. It’s very “Hatch Show” …a letter press here in nashville that’s now owned by the country music hall of fame. they did wdp’s birth announcements and my wedding invitation..or poster, because I sent out posters 🙂 google it- it’s way cool..like you!

  • kateohkatie

    What exciting news, all around! 🙂

    I’m glad you’re not finding out the sex, actually. Seems like no one does that anymore, and I think it’s a very respectable thing to do. There are so few surprises in life, why take away one of the greatest ones? Jeff and I intend to do the same when our time comes (few years down the road, of course).

    Also, that logo totally rocks my socks off. That logo makes me want to bake bread and swing off a rope into a pond and cozy up by a wood stove at night. And move hay around too 😀

  • sunday

    i can’t wait to get a t-shirt or hoodie with that logo!!! i am in love and will totally rock it!
    your dream sounds amazing, i also can’t wait to stay in a cabin on the back 40 and help harvest the land.
    i am so thrilled that things are going well with your little bean. i love that we are about the same stage in pregnancy and we can nod our heads in agreement when we talk about what is happen. i am however going to find out what we are having Oct 8th to be exact! i just can’t stand. i am trying not to even think about it, sort of like Christmas and Birthdays. you have to put it out of your mind for a little bit or you will lose that mind!

  • Grace

    Happy for you. Sincerely.

  • Mandi

    I love your logo so much! It’s absolutely perfect! And I’m excited that things are going well in the pregnancy. I may have some pants for you, so watch your mail.

  • ellen

    How about that logo on a onesie? And I am with you about the pants – mostly because half the ones people have handed down to me are WHITE – which is great now, but there’s that silly rule about Labor Day which is Monday…but what am I supposed to wear for the next 2 months? I will send pants – not white ones – your way after I’m out of them. Let’s hope that is by March 🙂

  • Miss Laura

    Big thumbs up on the positive doctor visit! Can’t wait to hear when s/he’s planned birthday is, I may just show up at the hospital with a banner and brownies and noisemakers and champagne (ok, maybe not REAL champagne 🙂

    Um, hello? It’s hoodie season, I want me one of those!!! Love it, love Alan. He really is a genius. I love how your dream for your farm continues to unfold. Thanks for keeping us updated of all your exciting changes!

  • Cortney

    Love, love, LOVE the logo, my dear! Reserve me a rockin’ T shirt and a cabin on the back 40. And I truly admire your restraint in not finding out the sex of the baby. Me? I would HAVE to know. Have to. You’re a rock, girl.

  • Amy B.

    I’m an obnoxious proponent of not finding out the sex of a baby in utero, so I’m so glad you’re waiting! The biggest gift we ever get to “open” (I guess that’s a little too literal in your case!). So glad all is going well. Looking forward to photos of the TexasNorth gear you cook up with the logo.

  • Margie

    Love the logo! Sign me up for a t-shirt, at least. And March is a really great month…

  • becky

    12 weeks! Awesome!! Loving the logo, how cool is it to have your own logo! As for pants mine are all at sundays. We have a pants arrangement:)
    I love the dream, I love that I will get to read all about it!

  • wende

    Just brand a piece of muslin for me, and send it my way. I LOVE THIS!! Seriously cool.

    And I’m glad all is well with the baby. You’re in my prayers daily.

  • Carley

    LOVE the logo! The top one is my FAV…. not that you asked or anything!?!? = )
    Congrats on 12 weeks and not finding out what you’re having! That’s the the only way to go… or at least that’s what I think. I didn’t find out either times I was pregnant! It’s SO fun not knowing!
    You’re so fun! Maybe when I grow up I can be just like you! = )

  • Lisa

    Awesome. Baby. Awesome. Branding. Awesome. Secret keeping. Just plain awesome all the way around!!

  • amanda

    Great Logo! Lovin’ it.

    And you are so dang brave for waiting to find out the sex of your next little one. I’m not good with surprises. I am secretly envious though that you are going to wait it out…I do think it would be fun. All of your fans will be literally glued to Texas North that first week in March 🙂

  • Nancy

    Brave for you not finding out the flavor of the baby… I tried to explain to my niece (due in Jan) that it’s more fun to call family and say “It’s a GIRL/BOY” … tried to tell her that by the time the baby gets here everyone will know the sex/name and everything. Who cares the time and weight..

  • Nancy

    I meant BRAVOOOOOOOOO not brave….

  • missthya

    SWEET!!! I am SO IN! In on the sweatshirt. In on the playing cards. In on the watching old movies. Definitely in on the driving the tractor! Are you kidding me!? I would LOVE to drive the tractor! I’m coming to MI sometime in Oct.-Dec. when Trace is in town. I’ll be heading over there for some good sweet katiekate luvins’.

  • Rachel

    The logo is awesome and would love to come for a visit one of these days! I’m so glad your pregnancy is going well and pray that you will be able to enjoy every moment…

  • madjeepgirl

    OH holy alan goodness… it’s amazing. freaking amazing. and PERFECT. consider my order placed for something i can drape on my body. or something to affix to the bantam menace. i can just see curt on a tractor with his TN truckers cap on…. 😉 heheheh

  • Jim

    Way cool….glad all is well. The north country is missing you guys…..

  • heather

    ha, ha! thanks! you named a blog entry after me…aww! i totally admire those that can wait to find the sex out until birth. because in our crazy world of technology and information, it’s one of the last true great surprises left. And you know what…for our next baby I’m NOT going to find out the sex. oh, i hope i can keep that promise!

    2nd order of biz:

    if your readers mail you tees, can you put that freakin’ cool logo on them? because i would love to rock your farm logo down in in sunny south florida. you are going to have an empire! (and some cool hoodies to sport!!) really, i love the logo and YOUR style and your way of living. it’s my secret dream: to have a farm….shh. don’t tell my husband!

  • anna

    I want one (t-shirt, hoodie, whatever) when they’re available. Just name your price.

  • Bec

    I want a shirt – YES MA’AM.

    I would also like to know if one of the movies that we will watch will be Shag. Because you know, that would be THE MOST FUN.

    And I’ll make myself at home but I promise not to sit on the furniture. 🙂

  • elly

    get those cabins going… because my kiddos are getting big.. and pretty soon they will not think it’s cool to come out to the farm…

    BUT I WILL. i wanna come now. and play cards… or Cataan!!! xo

  • elly

    P.S. I had 4 c-sections… ain’t no thang…

  • annie

    this is an awesome logo, it’s prefect. i want one too!!!
    good for you for being patient and awaiting a big ol surprise, it seems like fun to wait i just wouldn’t ever have the patience. i’m so happy for you to be at 12 weeks, such a huge blessing.

  • Bev

    I WANT ONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    I love your logo!
    let me know when you are ordering!

talk to me

