Yep.

sombreroWe got our own special brand of crazy over here, People. Giddyup.  

First: Rylie came home from Sunday School with a project… a lesson on their theme for the month, “God makes things grow.”  Yes. Yes, He does.  The project was your usual lima bean in a wet paper towel and we were told to take it home and watch it grow. Extended metaphor.  Practical application.  I like.

Rylie ate the bean on the way home.  Can you fail Sunday School?  

Second: our poor little hens have had quite a spell of bad luck this Summer.  They met up with a family of raccoons this summer and lost 10 of their bunk-mates.  Such is the life of a free-range chicken.  We’ve halted egg deliveries for a while to let them re-coop (Ha!), and I bought them some new feathered-friends… but they’re sad.  I can tell. 

coop awningTo love on them a little, I have taken it upon myself to beautify their world.  A large outdoor pen is being added so I can occasionally keep them ‘in’ but still allow them to be outside.  This will break up the schedule a bit and perhaps the raccoons will move on to the neighbor’s birds.  The pen will also allow guests to come over with their chicken-eating dogs (*cough* JAMI).

And their coop… baby, lemme tell you!  I’m adding a picket fence and some signs and some wooden flowers.  Those girls are gonna be the talk of the town.  Here’s a teensy peek of the window awning (Thanks, Renae!).  More to come… you’re gonna be so proud of me. 

C: Bonnie, our prize longhorn, came home from her singles cruise UNPREGNANT, the prude.  She must have been a bit too busy socializing in the pasture, so back she goes.  We’ve weaned Scout, her gorgeous calf, to allow her to concentrate… but he is LOUD.  If you call here, or if you live within 30 miles, you can hear him yelling.  It’s embarrassing.  He’s a big baby.

  progress 003 progress 004

And, Z: I’s a-been sewing.  A pillow here, a Dorothy wedding garter there, a few pillow cases just for good luck. I shocked myself.  It’s like… it’s like… it’s like I CAN ACTUALLY DO THINGS when I try.

And now, I’m gonna go take a nap 🙂

progress 001 progress 005

Y’all have a fantastic weekend.  We love you here at TexasNorth! 

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

10 responses to “Yep.

  • stacey

    On a positive note at least the bean didn’t end up in her nose.

  • Susannah

    ha. loved the bean story. but you see, you’ve succeeded in your role as a mother in that rylie believes that beans are for eating, not experimenting…

    and that delightful awning! those plucky ladies are going to be happy little layers. our lives also got much easier after we added a pen; the tomatoes in my garden actually got a chance to ripen this summer. turns out that our ladies see a four foot fence as a challenge, not a hindrance.

  • sunday

    oh my this was all funny! i just know that chicken coop and fence is going to be awesome. I already have visions in my head on how cool it will be! Rylie ate the bean!!!!

  • Amy L

    I wish my kids would eat a bean or two…

    On a good note I’m working on finishing my next WIP – pillow for my sister and planning my shopping trip to IKEA on Saturday! Next item on my list to tackle – new sewing space!

  • Jtp

    1) have you thought about Rylie having a playhouse? it would be the coolest playhouse ev-er!!!! I’m jealous of your hen pen…I want to play in it 🙂 2) Maybe Rylie could use a blackbean instead of the lima bean…you know for extra credit, then she’ll “pass” sunday school 🙂 and 3) i LOVEEEEEEE the olivia pillow! like LOOOOVVVVVVEEEE it! you’re amazing!

  • Carley

    So cute! Love it all!
    Hope you’re feeling good! We don’t hear much about you and the baby!??!

  • becky swann

    I love that Rylie ate the bean. and then continued to laugh as the chicken’s re-cooped:) I love a play on words

  • wende

    Stacey is right. There are worse endings for that bean. 😀

  • annie

    sunday school is where it is safe to fail, right? isn’t supposed to be all about grace and forgiveness anyway? we always lose our sunday projects.
    i think your chickens have he best life of any chickens. they must be the talk of the town, chicken town? must have a lo of chickens over there.
    ok, i’m gonna order one of those pillowcases soon, that’s a great idea.er that way.

talk to me

