homemade chicken pot pies

potpie 001Oooooooooh, People.  It’s been awhile since we’ve had a recipe here, eh?  Let the wait be over!  I dub today Chicken Pot Pie Day!  Hurray for Fall!  We’re big fans of pot pies, but really… the store-bought are So. Bad. for you.  So much sodium.  So many unknown ingredients.  This recipe will give you a chance to be a bit more in control of your dinner.  There are always a million ways to cheat, which is nice.  I like options.  I’m an option kind of gal.

These can be made ahead of time and frozen.  Hello, blustery winter nights with a fire and movie.

Need:

  • 4 foil pie dishes, ramekins, oven-proof mugs -OR- 1 large pie plate
  • 2 chicken breastsIhatethatword, cooked and then shredded or cubed
  • 1 can of cream of chicken soup, undiluted -OR- make your own
  • 1 bunch of celery hearts (or frozen veggies)
  • 1 small bunch of carrots (or frozen veggies)
  • 1 onion
  • 2 medium potatoes (or frozen veggies)
  • 3 tablespoons of butter 
  • 1 premade pie crust -OR- 1 homemade pie crust -OR- 2 crusts, if you want it to be on the top and bottom of the pie
  • 1 egg, slightly beaten, to brush over the crusts
  • chicken broth, milk, or water to thin out mixture if you want
  • salt & pepper to taste

Make:

Ok.  With the ingredients above, I filled 2 (24oz.) ramekins and 2 (7oz.) ramekins.  Ramkekins are just those fancy little individula serving dishes.  So. Cute.  They were on sale at the store and I thought, “These are so fun.  I need them. Come home with me.”  You can also make one large pot pie… whatever floats your boat.  Sometimes, I need pretty things to motivate me.

Preheat your oven to 400°.  Get your pie crust(s) out of the freezer to thaw -OR- make your  own.  Note: you cannot thaw pie crusts in the microwave.  Trust me.

potpie 002Grab your potatoes, chop them up small, and throw them into a skillet with the butter.  While they start jammin’, chop up your onion (and throw it in the skillet), chop up your carrots (IN), chop up your celery (IN).  Everything should be in the skillet mingling.  Let everyone hang out until the onions are clear in color and the potatoes are getting soft.  Note: if you’re using a bag of frozen veggies, I’d do the skillet step with them as well.  Let them warm up in a little butter for a bit.  Butter never hurt anyone.

Turn your heat off on the skillet.  Add your can of cream of chicken soup as well as your cooked chicken.  Mix thoroughly.  Now decide it that’s what you want the insides of your pies to look like.  If it’s too thick, add a little bit of broth or milk to thin it out.  A little bit… like a splash.  You can always add more.

Now, taste it.  Add your salt and pepper to even things out.  Pepper makes this dish lovely, so don’t be afraid to be liberal. 

Alright, the insides are all set, so let’s just put it together.  If you want a crust on the bottom, lay that down first.  Add your insides, and then place a top on it.  Cut a couple slits in the top for ventilation and you are good to go!  If you’re using the individual sizes, you can skip the inside crust and just use a topper.  Note: I used a small cookie cutter as my vent.  It may have been on sale right next to the ramekins.  Crimp down the edges of your crust with a fork and then brush your crust with a little egg.  This will turn the crust a nice golden brown while cooking.

Cook for 45 minutes in your oven.  Individual pies can all be placed on a cookie sheet so they can go in and come out together.  If you’re freezing these for later, you do not have to cook them ahead of time.  Just wrap well, label, and stock.

BIG HIT in our house.  Yum.  Simple.  Cute.  Love it.

Curt says to me, “Mmmmm.  These are awesome.”

[pause]

“You know what would make these even better… like perfect?”

“Um, more perfect than the individual cafe servings and an ELEPHANT CUT OUT OF YOUR CRUST OH MY GOSH ARE YOU KIDDING ME?”

“Well, I just really like the crust… so maybe one on top AND bottom for me.  That’s all.  But, it’s really awesome.”

Noted.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

6 responses to “homemade chicken pot pies

  • Jtp

    ohhhhh I have soooo been wanting chicken pot pie. Costco’s “homemade” fresh not frozen one isn’t half bad, but I want to make my own- I will this weekend and post a cute pic Monday- YUM!!!! thanks!

  • wende

    Fabulous!! I love your elephant cut-out too! Sooo cute. 😀

  • Becky

    Ok can you come cook this for me tonight:)

  • Margie

    This is great. I love pot pie but have not been pleased with the recipes I’ve found. HOWEVER, I’ve noted they all add thyme. I find that curious. Love the animal cutouts and am inspired to try something cute. My pies all look mangled before they even hit the oven. I need to try harder.

  • annie

    sounds delicious, i will have to try it, nice winter meal. i made a chicken sun dried tom. pie last week and wish i had more recipes like that, pie is such a great medium.
    it’s also beautiful. thanks for the recipe.

  • Lisa

    I thought I left a comment on this, but it appears I did not. I must have simply lapsed in to a drooling coma upon reading and never quite snapped out of it.

    I am sooooo making this. When it gets cold. If it ever gets cold. Please God, let it get cold…if only for the opportunity to make Katie’s Chicken Pot Pie!!

    Amen

talk to me

