Thanksgiving

We’re in Texas!  For months now, we’ve been planning a surprise road trip to Texas for Thanksgiving.  Dad knew, but mom didn’t.  We were extremely successful.  I believe there was an accident at 2pm on I-35, and that was due to my mother screaming when we walked in the door.  Curt will return this weekend, but Ry and I will stay until December 11th or so and ride back up to Michigan with Dad. 

While we are happy to be ‘home,’ it was not a brilliant plan.  In fact, let me give you some pointers in case you ever decide to do the same:

• Please be 6 months pregnant and in need of a restroom every 15 minutes. I can give you a list of all the nice(r) restrooms along the way from Gary to Memphis to Little Rock to Arkadelphia to Dallas to Belton.

• Please bring along a three year-old who is not even still when she sleeps.  

• Please be frugal and drive.  Obviously.  20 hours in a car is MUCH more exciting than airport security and fold-down trays.

• Please have your husband herniate 2 discs the day before leaving and enter experimental therapy at the doctor’s office to survive the trip. To make it really awesome, he should be unable to sit for more than 30 minutes at a time.

• Please, at mile 1000 of 1260, exchange your child for an alien that screams for solid ground and freedom. 

Our trip was extremely uneventful, thankfully.  We had no traffic, no cops, no mishaps… nothing until the Hillsboro construction that’s been in-progress since I was in high school.  It will make you want to pluck out your eyelashes one by one and turn around and head for home even though you’re only 1 hour from your destination.  But, we made it.  And, we are thankful.

We are thankful for this holiday and an excuse to be together before our little family expands.  We are thankful for cousins coming in town to share the table with us and for friends to visit and play with us.  We are thankful for safety and vacation and childhood beds.  We are, simply, thankful.

Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours…

Y’all be safe.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

8 responses to “Thanksgiving

  • Margie

    What IS with the Hillsboro construction? It’s been there at least as long as 1989, the year I graduated from A&M.

    Glad you made it. How FUN for your mom! I know you’re glad to be off the road, too. Near clean, accessible bathrooms. P-O-T-T-Y: How pregnant moms spell R-E-L-I-E-F.

  • Sunday Grant Photography

    oh my goodness you are a much braver person than I am. A 4 hour drive is plenty for me with BellaRose. And Curt having 2 herniated disc!!! As you know Worth just went through that and I a not sure how Curt did that drive. At least you are home now. I am thankful for you!

  • Laura

    Surprises are fun, and all the more effective over such a distance…my aunt and uncle would drive up from Indianapolis on Christmas Day every now and then and surprise us. Great fun. Have a great time, Girlies (and Curties).

  • Mandi

    Sounds like it was a fun trip. 🙂 Glad you made it safely. Your sweatshirt is in the mail.

  • stephanie

    i’m SO glad your mom was so surprised. what an unforgettable moment for her, and you. you know what to do now…get thee to Sonic my friend and consume a chocolate shake!!! or two.

  • jim

    Glad you all made it safe, so sorry for Curt’s back. I can not see how he made it that long with a bad back. He must leap tall building in a single bound or some such thing.

    Enjoy your folks, I know how your mom and dad feel.

  • madjeepgirl

    happy thanksgiving mulders!!! you’re the best and you make me laugh. whether’s it’s “that’s where the magic happens” or pizza and a confused vomiting child i am super happy to know you. also, my TNL&C hoodie is keeping me very warm and matches my cute owl hat famously. my sister wants to know if she can get it in pink 😉 hehehhehehe love you!

talk to me

