oh baby baby

Today, I am 33. I have finished 33 years on this Earth.

That’s right… I was due on Christmas but came a little late.  My brother was also due on Christmas but came a little early.  Dad’s birthday is in January and 90% of the extended family is in December.  As a child, I assumed everyone’s birthday was between Thanksgiving and Valentine’s Day.  Well, Mom’s is in September, but she’s a teacher and this made complete sense to me.  I finally met someone in elementary school who was born in April.  She brought cupcakes to school.  There was no snow.  It was all very confusing.

I was born on a Tuesday in Temple, Texas at Scott & White Hospital. I now have friends who are employed by Scott & White.  Gerald Ford was President.  My father was 4 years into a 20-year military career.  Gas cost $.60 a gallon and bread was $.30 a loaf.  Three’s Company began its dominion and Rocky won Best Picture of the Year. The divorce rate was 4.8%.

Barak Obama is president today.  I now live where Gerald Ford once called home.  Gas is $2.45 a gallon and a loaf of bread is about the same, depending on how many grains you want in your crust.  The national divorce rate of people over 15 (what?) is 10.7%.  LOST and So You Think You Can Dance are my favorite shows and I think Precious will win Best Picture.

I’m 29 weeks pregnant and 40 pounds overweight at the moment.  I have a 3 year-old daughter, 40 chickens, 8 longhorn cattle, 1 big dog, 3 barn cats, a seriously handsome husband, and a wood stove.  I’m blessed to be a stay-at-home mom / farm maiden.  I happily sew, cook, and rock a cordless drill.

I’m healthy despite an un-treated addiction to Coca Cola and pizza. I have incredible friends and solid extended family. I sing when no one is listening and I write to clear my brain.  I’m more primitive than country, and red is my favorite color.

I am blessed beyond measure.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

19 responses to “oh baby baby

talk to me

