recovery

Thank you, friends, for laughing me through my tragedy of a birthday.  It was a perfect storm of bad luck.  There were some pockets of sunshine, though:

The track suit will be FANTASTIC… particularly post-SuperKid when the bottoms *ahem* fit.  Be sure to comment on my sportiness when you visit me in the hospital.

I received a coveted leather belt with a non-outrageous buckle that brings me one step closer to Maria Bello’s wardrobe in Flicka

I also received this ah-mazing Texas flag from The Boy.  It hangs above my yellow dresser and I salute it every time I walk into my bedroom.

I went out to dinner with Jami and Jeff and Curt for New Year’s Eve.  No children.  Sushi, steak, hibachi.  It was the best NYE I’ve had in a looong time.

I received TWO pair of hand-me-over Danskos from a fellow mom who had outgrown them thanks to the weirdness that is pregnancy.  I wear them every day.  I love them.

I accepted, on SuperKid’s behalf, a surprise gift of 2 up-cycled bibs and burp cloths hidden amongst the Christmas Card mail.  I was shocked and thrilled and just simply thankful.  So sweet.  Really.  Thank you.

• • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • •

There is truly nothing I can say today in the wake of the Haitian nightmare playing itself out below our borders.  The Western Hemisphere’s poorest nation was hit by a 7.0 earthquake on Tuesday… something even a strong, organized, calm city would struggle to survive. 

I consider this blog a community, and so I shall take my liberty here in urging you to give.  It is our privilege and our duty to help those less fortunate.  Give $10.  Give blood.  Give clothing.  Give food. Educate yourself and your children.  Pray.  Many of you have organizations you know and trust, and I am happy to add them to the list below.

• donate to Doctors Without Borders

• text “HAITI” to “90999” to donate $10 to the Red Cross (secured by the US State Department)

• donate to Compassion International’s Haiti disaster relief.

• donate to Hope for the Hungry, our personal choice.  This is a local ministry from my hometown.  Dan Kirkley, the president, is a family friend and performed our wedding ceremony, so I personally love this mission’s heart.  Here’s a link to their facebook page, where you can give online for Haiti.  Donations are administration free- 100% goes to Haiti.

• donate to charity : water through Partners in Health

• donate to God’s Littlest Angels, another charity with very close local ties.

Get your neighborhood, your carpool, your bowling league to go in together and make a donation. 

Sometimes, a little incentive helps push us towards making a small move.  I get that.  I’m happy to help in that area. If you donate, let me know (in the comments or covertly at katiemulder AT gmail DOT com). I’ll send you a little something as a thank you.  

Peace.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

14 responses to “recovery

  • Jim

    I so enjoy opening my work PC and seeing your update. Always so….

    Haiti…even having been in the SF quake I still can’t begin to understand how this must effect the kids.
    So yes we will send something (crazy week must end first), probably to Compassion. But don’t send anything this way for us, sent good thoughts south instead they need them and just visit us on the lake after I retire this summer.

    Thoughs and prayers going south…

  • jtp

    what a coooool TX flag 🙂

  • Sunday Grant Photography

    aw man i never commented on the last post, but goodness I felt for you! I always have such high expectations on my birthday. I completely blame it on my mom too who made such a big deal about birthdays! Of course I am setting BellaRose up for the same disappointment later in life. I love the belt, I actually just gave a belt just like that to charity. I wish I had sent it to you. Love the flag too, I know that makes you happy!

  • Colene

    I donated via text to the Red Cross. The wonders of modern technology!

  • Amy

    this Haiti stuff is really really really bothering me. Part of me wants to (unrealistically) go there and help. This tragedy just compounds their already horrid set of problems ….its heartwrenching.
    My thoughts are with them constantly…..

    on a happier note, glad your b’day turned out alright!

    • texasnorth

      I hear you. I feel ridiculous walking through the groceery store choosing between Doritos and Cheetos while a mess is sorting itself out down there… but truly. We would only be in the way. Send what you can to people who are organzied and have roots there… it’s the best help we can offer.

  • Miss Laura

    I donated to Samaritan’s Purse after the Tsunami and have been very impressed with the newsletters and mailings I’ve been receiving ever since. I assume they are providing some sort of relief to Haiti as well…haven’t had a chance yet to look at their website, but here it is – http://www.samaritanspurse.org. The organization is run by Franklin Graham, son of Billy Graham, which I like.

    Love that Tejas flag. Wish I’d seen that a week ago before I razzed Curt so much about the tracksuit…

  • annie

    glad you had a good birthday considering.
    I’m sure you’ll look cute with the jumpsuit, tight is always better for a jumpsuit anyway.
    the belt is cool, that flag is way cool, so creative.
    katie, i love hearing your perspective on things, when i sit here crippled by hearing how many deaths occurred because of the earthquake, i forget that every little bit counts and prayer reaches far beyond that. thank you for reminding me that i’m not helpless over here.
    the texting donation is awesome.

  • Margie

    Great, super great. Thanks for the links. We’ll be donating.

    LOVE the flag. It’s awwwwwwwsome.

  • M.C.

    I find it ironic about the Danskos, as the “weirdness of pregnancy” has caused me to outgrow just 1 shoe of my black pair! What do I do? I’m just devastated. I guess I’ll just have to make someone’s day by giving them away.
    Praying for Haiti and giving through Unicef at school…

  • Becky

    MC- if you are looking for someone’s day to make I am your girl!!!

    now that that amount of greed is out of the way,

    Thank you thank you for doing your part for the people of Haiti it is so sad what is going on down there! Every time I have seen a text here to donate on the tv I have. I just think that if there is some child down there searching for their mother…oh I can’t even say anymore!
    All the money is God’s anyways who are we to stand in his way!

  • Julie

    I read this the other day but didn’t get a chance to comment cause I got caught up in looking at the clothes that chick wore in the Flicka movie. I think I should see the movie now considering how cute she dresses. Love that belt!

  • Cortney

    Matt and I donated to the Red Cross as well, and we’re hopefully headed to Medic tomorrow to give blood as well! 🙂

talk to me

