wonder of wonders, miracles of miracles

Hey!  No heel surgery for Gus!  Yesterday, shockingly, he flexed over 15° for the doctor and she was pleased.  The tension-release surgery has been indefinitely postponed!  Clap for joy!  He’s now sporting his LAST CAST, which will stay on until May 19.  Then, that comes off and he gets his special shoes… and can wear socks again.  Word.  However y’all pray, keep doin’ it because it’s workin’, People. 

Thank you for the help on the jeans Monday.  I will now put Gideon in them without shame.  My fashion radar isn’t what it used to be, proven by the new regularity with which I go to the grocery store without having brushed my hair.  I thought I should check with y’all, just to be sure.

There’s no shortage of candid-ness around here lately (ever?).  Obviously. The child has discovered her nose, and she cannot be stopped. [Please ignore my hair, forehead, and the awkward angle of the photograph.  Wow.]

 Curt dresses the kiddos most weekends… this weekend was all about stripes.  I really never know what’s going to walk into the living room.  But, he dresses them and then takes Rylie Girl outside to work and play and all that jazz.  It’s a good deal for me, and I do pass out fashion demerits (for reasons mentioned above).  I told Ry to go potty for me before they went outside.  As I turbo-cleaned the kitchen for those 30 seconds, I was serenaded by a 3 year-old playing her harmonica while she, uh, went.  Whatever gets you through.  

This was us Sunday… Gus’ screaming has quelled a bit and we are enjoying regular moments of contentment in-between bouts of evening distress.  Again, Curt dressed Rylie.  You can’t tell, but she has a zip-up hoodie underneath the TexasNorth hoodie… along with too-short navy sweat pants.  He’s all about layering. [I would apologize for my hair, but I’ve already done that in this post. My expression, however, is completely Classic Kate.] 

COMPLETELY RANDOM POST.  My brain is all a-flutter right now.  I hope the good news and rare glimpse of me satisfies for today and gets you through the weekend.  We’re off on an impromptu family trip… so expect even funnier photos soon 🙂 I hope none of us ends up in jail.

 

 

 

 

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

10 responses to “wonder of wonders, miracles of miracles

  • Amy B.

    I love it that now that I’m in the same time zone as you (and the fact that the sun is starting to show itself before 6 here on the east coast), I am always undoubtedly the first to read your post. In fact, I’m so early I sometimes have to wait for you!

    Great news all around. Good luck with the family trip.

    Amy

  • Jim

    Looking good you guys. So glad Gus is flexing his muscles. The 19th is and will be a great day, I have a history with it.

  • Heather

    You crack me up and can always make me smile! Thanks. So glad that Gus is doing so well. We will keep up the prayers.

  • Miss Laura

    Saying some prayers for a safe and scream-free trip. If there’s a stewardess involved, don’t be afraid to ask her for one of those little bottles of Jack Daniels.

  • Mandi

    You make me laugh, Friend! I love your random post, your sweet kids, your good news and you! Hope you have a wonderful trip this weekend. I look forward to hearing all about it in your Monday post.

  • Aunt Ron

    my gosh is she getting so big, a little lady.. xoxo

  • Sunday Grant Photography

    That is such wonderful news about that sweet Gus! I hope everything continues to go better then expected! I am also glad that the screaming is subsiding. That makes for much happier parents! I think that Worth and Curt must call each other and discuss what to dress their girls in, they have the same taste shall we say!

  • Margie

    Does the nose ever get forgotten? Just got a video today of a finger up the nose. And she knew she was being filmed! Goodness gracious.

    Great news about the no surgery and socks. Awesome. And your hair looks great. No jokin’.

  • beckyswann

    Even in your randomness, you still make entertaining posts! GREAT news about little Gus! sooooooo awesome. And I like your hair!

  • esteph

    i’ve missed your face. 🙂 ole for Gideon! what a fighter. keith dresses Isaac most mornings. need i say more?

talk to me

